Report Review
23 Reviews


1life4death
1life4death rated it
The Monk That Wanted To Renounce Asceticism
October 10, 2018
Status: c24
First off I want to say, don't get turn around by the amount of red you see for the novel.

The novel itself, is very entertaining. The plot is interesting and honestly, it hook me as soon as I start reading. This is just base on my own preference, but I don't see many Chinese novels with this type of vibe or slice of life mood. The closest thing that I can really compare this novel to is I'm Really a Superstar, which is quite refreshing. It gives me the same... more>> vibe as that novel does. But instead of stardom and trying to be a celebrity, it focus on Buddhism.

I would mention though, that this novel may not be for everyone. Due to how new it is, we don't know how its going to develop so it may rub people the wrong way later on. Primarily with how they plan to take the religious aspect of this novel. And even then, some might find it boring or other reasons. But overall, I do recommend you trying it and see how you feel about it. With how current the novel is, if you don't enjoy it... can very easily drop it without much commitment. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1life4death
1life4death rated it
Rebirth of the Thief Who Roamed The World
September 4, 2016
Status: --
***Update***:
Been a few months now, and the novel has a decent amount of chapters. So this is a more in depth overall opinion on this novel. It is still a good read and something that I come back to but at the same time, compare to others, I don't keep track of it as much anymore. My reasoning falls along the same line as most of the other low rating reviews, so I won't say much into it but if you want a general idea just look at Potatos... more>> review because his reason for why the novel kill it for him is basically the same for me. Especially the lack of interest in the real world outside of the game, even though it seem to play a major role in the novel especially at the beginning (was hoping to see more side stories into it).

Spoiler

***Old Review***:
found this today and by the time I was done, I caught up to the latest chapter. Think TDG meets VRMMO then thats basically what this novel is. Still have some work to be done when it comes to the author's idea of VRMMO immersion and the often cliches but overall still worth a read

[collapse]
<<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1life4death
1life4death rated it
Ryusousha ha Shizukani Kurashitai
April 26, 2020
Status: c55
The novel is ok but it's not great either. The time skipping isn't that bad, it was only a bit crazy at the first few chapters to lay some groundwork for the MC's backstory. The actual story starts around chapter 3 part 1. And I do say is interesting.. especially the shadow/underworld stuff..
As already mentioned the chapters are broken into parts.. which I didn't really like but can live with.

My main issue comes from the MC. I understand why he doesn't want to be a dragon master and was... more>> force to be one. But he could at least try to know some stuff about them or learn something that can benefit his shadow life. Or even do it to maintain his cover a bit because he mentions multiple times how he didn't want to "stand-out"... like hello? trying to not follow the normal too much is standing out, he even got a few warnings about it... honestly, it just seems like it was given to MC because it would be cool plot armor.. but doesn't really do much if the MC is like idgaf

I find it more irritating really and somewhat ruined the novel because of that lack of motivation.. at least make him somewhat interested in a few things about it. To the MC, its basically a job he is doing just so he can say he has a job.. and just like in real life.. people in that kind of job hate it. Just kills the mood.. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1life4death
1life4death rated it
Library of Heaven’s Path
February 21, 2018
Status: --
Three words: Repetitive face slapping

That's the best way to described this novel. The only difference from this novel compare to other xuanhuan novels is that the MC is a teacher and it follows his path to greatness as the best teacher. Everything else is very repetitive, cliche and typical as any other novel of this genre. Honestly, if it wasn't because of this one aspect I would probably drop this novel by now. But as someone else mention in the comments, this is like the junk food equivalent of novels.... more>> You don't like it but theirs something about it that makes you keep coming back. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1life4death
1life4death rated it
True Martial World
January 20, 2017
Status: c615
This is a fine example of all good things come to end. The novel was amazing at the start. It kept me coming back for more and waiting for the next chapter to be release. But as the story progress everything just slowly went down hill. I tried my best to push through even got to the arc where MC and main girl acknowledge each other but then splits up. After that the flare this novel had just die.

The lack of interaction between the couple even though its suppose to... more>> be "romance" was just painful and I mean even far less than Stellar Transformation, which spam over a majority of the arcs and passage through 2 realms before the two leads even came close to each other. That still had way more interaction and development with the leads than the MC and main girl in this novel.

Along with the repetitive cliche plot and slow development, I have no further interest in this novel. Others might find it appealing but the spark that drawn me in to it just die. I won't be harsh though and give it a 3/5 because I did enjoy it when I first got into it, maybe might binge read this once its complete but until then will leave it as it is. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1life4death
This novel isn't everyone's cup of tea but for those of you who enjoy a bit of realism, and a slow-pacing story that builds up with character growth overtime, this is right up your alley. This is about as close as you can get for a detail telling of an isekai story. The chapters themselves feels like someone's journal entry.

Now I'm not saying the novel go full-on, in-depth realism down to the last detail.. But at the very least you get a very good grasp, and sense of what it... more>> is like to be an isekai adventurer living in a fantasy world.

The novel does a good job of portraying the MC's story, love life and how he came from being a nobody, noob adventurer to being a well-known top tier. As the MC isn't strong right from the start. He had to train his way up and came close to dying/receiving major injuries a few times.

I highly recommend this for anyone who wants a different spin on the isekai genre. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1life4death
1life4death rated it
Archfiend
April 7, 2018
Status: c100
Spoiler

3/5... It's not a bad novel but I wouldn't really considered this 5 star either. The story and concept isn't too bad, but the info dump is just a bit much. Yeah you can pass it off as world building but it gets to a point where it feels like you're reading an encyclopedia. Also there's a lot of plot holes as far as the character building goes. They go into a lot of details on random info about the world but not much into the MC's background. Like his fighting techniques, we'll call it the Solution series, never explain the differences in the tiers or why is it a thing in the first place. Also how do they get recruited into being a cultivator, or cultivation school to be exact after their experiences with that world... or why the MC is as OP as he is because even before he got his cliche "plot armor" boost he was strong to begin with, the only justification so far is that he's motivated by revenge. Even some of the side characters have no background into them. So yeah, a lot of world building not much character building

[collapse]

**UPDATE** So I've been reading this on and off for these past few months now, primarily due to WW as a editor's choice. My points from my previous review still stand.. after 100 chapters you would at least have some knowledge of the MC's background or decent character but nope.. and the side characters are just the same.. extremely one-dimensional. No substance to really keep you reading. I give this a 2/5. You can check the spoiler tag for my original review.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1life4death
1life4death rated it
A Will Eternal
March 13, 2018
Status: --
You know that one friend who does and/or drag you into really s*upid/embarrassing situation that makes you go "WTF.... why!? just why!?" but at the end of the day it becomes one of the best memory you and your friends ever had. Yeah this novel is the equivalent of that for xianxia genres. The MC in this novel is cunning and shameless..10 times more then Meng Hao from ISSTH but that's what makes him interesting and likable. Along with the personality of side characters and their interactions, it makes for... more>> a great story and enjoyable read. Initially, I was hesitant about reading this one, but when I did..I was not expecting it to be this much fun. Give it a try, might be the same for you as well <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1life4death
1life4death rated it
Death March kara Hajimaru Isekai Kyusoukyoku (WN)
January 18, 2017
Status: --
This novel will either be a hit or miss with a lot of people and I mean A LOT OF PEOPLE. There is an extreme emphasis on "slice of life" here as this novel is basically the daily life of an overpowered MC touring a fantasy world. So if you are looking for something relaxing and just overall good time then this novel is it. There are fights between gods, demon lords, and heroes as you would expect from an action adventure fantasy but with a very lay back vibe... more>> to it. Even the MC himself considered the hero aspect as a side job. The plot line is very straight forward (plot line: touring a fantasy world) and anything more in depth is hidden with foreshadowing and clues that eventually builds up to it because the main focus of the novel is the light and fluffy mood and will continue to be so.

I do highly recommend anyone to read the other reviews including the negative reviews to get a feel for the novel because I don't want to be bias as their reasoning are understandable. Do remember though, as I mention before there is an extreme emphasis on "slice of life" so please keep that in mind when considering this novel. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1life4death
1life4death rated it
The Card Apprentice
September 21, 2018
Status: c78
This novel is in a very weird place for me. The concept and story of this novel is very interesting and not like any other novel I read before. But at the same time it gets very confusing and hard to follow the more you read. I'm not sure whether this is due to the quality of translation for this novel or the actual plot line but it just seems like its all over the place and very difficult to keep track of.

I still plan to read this because I... more>> really do hope it gets better but if it doesn't I plan to just wait and binge read it after its finish or just drop it. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1life4death
1life4death rated it
The Novel’s Extra
September 16, 2018
Status: c82
It's a good read and very interesting novel but it does has its flaws. Such as using his perception as an excuse...a lot. Or his relationship with one of the female leads. Yes, I get that it builds depth for the characters but some of the situations can be avoided if he chose better options, personally he's practically a tsundere towards this particular female lead.

Even though he keeps mentioning he just want to be a side character or background character at the beginning so the main storyline of the novel... more>> can progress. His actions seems to be the exact opposite of what his original plan was. Because he took over the hero role as he carries the "original" heroes through all the major events. Due to this his OP skills are shown off even though he seems to not be aware of it himself. I'm not saying these things are bad because it does make for an interesting plot but I would think he will be more aware and level headed when it comes to the fact that his action has consequences being one of the creators of the novel he's stuck in. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1life4death
1life4death rated it
Release that Witch
February 21, 2018
Status: c716
This is one of my most favorite and one of the best novel I read so far. The characters are amazing and likable, story is great, the world is interesting and rich with lore, even the whole modern technology in a fantasy-western medieval world is entertaining.

I have to give my props to the author, you can clearly tell he/she spent their time researching western medieval genres, because I have to say I often forget that this is a chinese novel. Would highly, highly recommend this to anyone who enjoy a... more>> good fantasy novel. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1life4death
1life4death rated it
A Monster Who Levels Up
February 8, 2018
Status: c44
Don't know why but just boring for me. The cliche of him just so happen to help out a possible harem candidate and the fact the he becomes OP at everything he does is just mehh. I guess what really kill it for me is the switch between his human form and monster form. Its just annoying to follow the story back and forth for some reason, personally. Initially I came here because I thought this was a story about an MC living as a monster and building up a... more>> story like that with his interaction with the world and what not, but guess not. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1life4death
It's not a bad novel... but like many other reviews and complaint, you would think the author know better. That someone who lived a full life and gets reincarnated would do some research or at least learn the common sense in this new era he is living in. Instead you get an OP character who think what he does in his past life is normal while everyone else is like "WTF!?!.. but doesn't try to explain to him how the way he do things is way out of the ball... more>> park like in magi grandson. Like seriously, they even mention its not like he took over the body but his old memories merge with the new one so its like an awakening but he acts like nothing's change in how many years it has been or has pass before he got reincarnated. Also he goes around throwing his OP skills like there's no consequence... even Death March isn't this s*upid and its like the king of easy-going, OP over 9000 tier right of the start MC, just my opinion on this.

Sorry for rant, this kind of s*upid thing just irks the sh*t out of me, which is why personally I won't be reading this. However, as far as review goes it's still a good read and Sousetsuka does a decide job of translating, as some are into this kind of genre. For everyone else just take any reasoning.. matter of fact take your brain out for a walk then read this because it will annoyed you when you try to put common sense into this novel. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1life4death
this tag => *slice of life* pretty much said it all about this novel. Don't expect some deep plot, hero vs. Demon king, or "I'm gonna rule the world" background from this novel. This is just about a guy who's trying to achieve his dream of being the best pastry chef in a fantasy like world. If I were to compare this to anything else I would say it gives me the same vibe as Death Marching to the Parallel World Rhapsody, just much less of the hero plot line... more>> and more of the lay back touring/food making chapters from death march. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1life4death
1life4death rated it
Legend
April 3, 2018
Status: --
2.5/5.. started out fine, it wasn't the best but it wasn't bad either. However, as it progress... don't know if its the rate that this novel is release or just the way the story is handle but once you hit the arc where the general chick, potential love interest, is introduced and MC was enlisted as an escort. The story became very dull and boring very fast. Seems almost drag out to be honest. Like the author had an idea but didn't know which path it was going to go... more>> so decided to fill it with filler substance. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1life4death
The story is nice. Very easy going, looking forward to reading more. I would recommend this to people who enjoy slice of life, medieval, fantasy type novels. *VERY IMPORTANT* Pacing is slow *VERY IMPORTANT*. This is just my opinion so you don't have to take it to heart, but if you're going to critic this novel do it base on anything other than the pacing. There's even a warning in the title and description of how slow the pacing is so don't be complaining about it if its the only... more>> thing that makes the novel not enjoying because you been told multiple times. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1life4death
1life4death rated it
Transcending the Nine Heavens
January 20, 2017
Status: --
A really good novel. Like other similar novels of the same genre there will be the cliche's but it makes up for it in the comedy, action and overall good entertaining story that comes along with it. The main character is very interesting with his knowledge and actions. Not to mention side characters that are entertaining and actually have decent development for once and not just disappear as the novel progress. If that doesn't make you at least interest in this novel then the bond of brotherhood that is showcase... more>> in this novel will as its one of the main selling point of this novel. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1life4death
1life4death rated it
Genjitsushugi Yuusha no Oukoku Saikenki
January 18, 2017
Status: --
This novel I considered to be my ideal kingdom building novel as it is interesting and enjoyable.. A smart and likable MC who's not OP in the sense of skills and combat but knowledge and wisdom. Including decent side characters and a flowing story as well. Do keep in mind though, the development of both the characters and story, as in the fantasy world within the novel, is still in progress so don't have high expectation yet. Though this is bias review, I do recommend this to anyone who enjoy... more>> king building/management type novel or just looking for something new to read. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1life4death
1life4death rated it
Raising a Fox Spirit in My Home
April 28, 2020
Status: c63
The novel isn't bad but I quickly lost interest. It's funny and all but there's a lot of cliche of like arrogant dickheads, a lot of brawls over brain scenario, and the typical tsundere female harems who eventually falls for him because of his "manliness" improving through cultivation.

I guess this was more so on me, as I was expecting the MC to be a bit smarter and learn about the cultivation world from his fox spirit waifu as he tries to hide/adapt it to everyday life but was disappointed.

Still a... more>> decent read for those who enjoy the more mindless and troupe xianxia and wuxia novels. This is right up that alley, the only difference is it takes place in a modern setting. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report