Report Review
10 Reviews


1MPR0V3
1MPR0V3 rated it
Evolution Theory of the Hunter
July 31, 2016
Status: v1c14
Good idea but no substance and ultimately badly written. Everything revolves around the MC. MC is pretty boring and single dimensional, the usual rpg gimmick of cheating skill appears, we all know where it goes from here. Supporting cast and villains are cardboard cutouts with no depth. Not to mention that apparently pretty much all hunters (people over lvl0) are evil xianxia young master cliche protagonists.

Gonna give this one a miss
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1MPR0V3
1MPR0V3 rated it
Chaotic Sword God
June 21, 2016
Status: c377
I remember enjoying this when I started it... then as others have said the story got repetitive, plotholes and inconsistencies appeared and any enjoyment I got from the story plummeted. I decided not to continue reading it quite a few times but kept coming back because despite everything I enjoyed the world building and the cultivation method. Also the translation itself was quick to update and of good quality... though every time I came back it wasn't long before either the repetitiveness or contradictory MC sent me packing again.

The final... more>> nail in the coffin for me was
Spoiler

the MC has his cultivation destroyed and becomes a mage

[collapse]

It just blew my mind how ridiculous it was. So that's it for me and honestly I would advise any new readers to stay away. Its just a disappointment. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1MPR0V3
1MPR0V3 rated it
Emperor’s Domination
December 29, 2016
Status: c218
To begin with I enjoyed this novel, the premise was interesting, the characterization of side characters made them actual people and it was something somewhat different from the usual xianxia. Unfortunately as is the way with too many stories within this genre it fell apart as the story progressed.

It suffers from many of the common cliches in this genre such as repetitive story plots, word filler, cardboard cut-out/idiotic villains (whose name changes but the person itself is basically the same), other cultivators constantly sneering at the MC and... more>> saying he is a fool despite him having done the impossible multiple times, a sort of harem thing going on, once again repetition... and the worst is the mc's arrogance, don't get me wrong I enjoyed it at first however it went from the MC refusing to be bullied or trash talked and answering force used against him unjustly with overwhelming force to trash talking everyone else he meets, no respect no acknowledgement. Most of the fights he gets into are from him being a d*ck with cardboard cut-out villains responding accordingly.

Once more I find myself disappointed with a translation. It's the gems like ISSTH that makes it all worth it. Emperors domination however is another in a long list of disappointments. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1MPR0V3
1MPR0V3 rated it
The Legend of the Dragon King
October 9, 2016
Status: c77
To begin with I wasn't too sure about this as it seemed far too similar to DD1 (he has blue-silver grass and becomes a blacksmith) however as the story progresses you'll see that things are actually very different. It's been 20000 years (I think) since DD1 and spirit beasts are in limited supply and a substitute for soul rings has been found which also introduces a different power mechanic 'spiritual power'. Furthermore the continent has become more advanced with soul items wide spread (ie. Soul lamp, soul camera, soul train,... more>> soul car, etc.) basically electrical appliances in different form. What this opens the way for however is mechas, often referred to as super soldiers for the confederation. We haven't actually seen any as of yet however they have been mentioned quite a bit and I look forward to their introduction. Very much in the early stages and my rating is still subject to change. However the author hasn't let me down yet and I'm excited to see how this one continues.

Give it a try, I'm sure you'll enjoy it. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1MPR0V3
1MPR0V3 rated it
God and Devil World
December 4, 2015
Status: --
Starts off very well and in fact the RPG aspect of it stays pretty good throughout. But... I'm on chapter 87 and it's taken ridiculously long to get through the last 10-20 chapters mostly due to morals. You would think in a world were strength isn't determined by gender but by what level you have acquired, women would therefore have a greater chance for equality... not so here. Women very quickly become cattle, useful for *** and labor but not much else. The MC rapidly turns into a **** on... more>> many issues not just this and it seems to be headed towards a power trip trope.

Sadly what was a very promising story has deteriorated into a cringe worthy unrealistic harem/power trip deranged schoolboy fantasy. Not my cup of tea. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1MPR0V3
1MPR0V3 rated it
Legend of the Cultivation God
August 30, 2016
Status: c154
Just caught up, only took a couple days I enjoyed it so much.
As others have said it is slow especially in comparison to most other xianxia, there were a few occasions where I got pretty frustrated and I don't like to think how annoyed I would of been if the translation was only at that point.

However the slow pace has a very good reason, this story is a lot more in depth than most TL's. It doesn't just jump from major plot device to major plot device. Each story... more>> arch is thoroughly explored with heavy emphasis on characterization, be it MC character progression (ie a little young and naive to begin with but getting progressively more mature in line with his experiences), interpersonal relations or a more in depth view of the side characters. It's something I've been looking for for a very long time in xianxia, something I actually didn't expect to find. So yes, the pacing of the story can be pretty slow especially at the beginning but it's a very interesting, engrossing story that I find myself thoroughly enjoying.

Looking forward to more chapters. Thanks very much for the translation :D <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1MPR0V3
1MPR0V3 rated it
Library of Heaven’s Path
May 23, 2018
Status: c36
Absolutely terrible. Don't get me wrong there are some novel ideas here. Particularly the MC being a teacher.

But the world building is terrible, the author adds random things to the novel to give him an excuse for more face slapping despite the fact that it either renders previous plot points pointless or contradicts them entirely.

And whats with the main plot? How is a 19 year old at peak stage 3 seen as trash? Yeah he might not be a great teacher but the new students are at stage 1 and... more>> they seem to be like 16.... and how did he become a teacher at that age anyway???

There's a lot of stupid already in this novel and the mc's cheat is boring.

Not a fan at all. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1MPR0V3
1MPR0V3 rated it
A Record of a Mortal’s Journey to Immortality
May 6, 2018
Status: c562
So... I loved this novel to begin with, it was slow paced but seemed to be of higher quality than a lot of the other stories out there.

However as the chapters progress things start to get a little stale. The cultivation side of things is still very interesting as of ch562 however there is a lack of positive consistent character interaction, most of the time our MC is on his own and is very anti-social. This is the case in a lot of these types of novels and so maybe... more>> I should have expected it. However the cultivation storyline to date had impressed me so much, I guess I expected other aspects of the novel to be better.

This lack of emotional investment makes my rating sit at 3.5. I'll give it 4 stars for now, we'll see if this drops or rises as the novel progresses. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1MPR0V3
1MPR0V3 rated it
Gate of Revelation
May 8, 2017
Status: c334
Great read, thoroughly enjoyable.

I will admit, I tried to read this a few times before and didn't get beyond the 10th chapter before stopping. It just bored me to be honest.

But given the reviews and the fact that I have found the beginning of a lot of pretty good translated novels to be sub-par I kept giving it another go.

... more>> And I am very glad I did after 30-40 chapters I was hooked. I binge read it in 3 days and can't wait for more releases.

If you enjoy rpg elements and stories like Arena, Terror infinity, etc you will really enjoy this. The plot contains those rpg type elements yet is also unique. There is a pretty good over-arching plot that provides plenty of mystery and suspense aside from the almost episodic instances (will understand when you read :D). And what makes it of better quality than a lot of the translated novels is the good characterization; not just of the MC but also the supporting cast.

A great read and one I definitely recommend. Enjoy :D <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1MPR0V3
1MPR0V3 rated it
Tales of Demons and Gods
July 24, 2016
Status: c374
Would like to give it four stars as it has kept me very entertained and there is plenty that is unique/new to this novel that makes it more interesting than many of the other generic xianxia you find but unfortunately the author is very inconsistent. He seems to forget a lot of things that has happened or just disregards them. After around 200 chapters the story becomes almost unrecognizable, the world building up to date is thrown out the window. Its like the author got bored of the story and... more>> decided to try another idea while keeping the same characters and so contrived a way to tack it on. However despite it reading almost like a different story its still fun to read and once again has some unique aspects to keep you entertained. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report