Report Review
28 Reviews


18Yuki
18Yuki rated it
Rebirth of a Supermodel
January 24, 2018
Status: Completed
Definitely one of the best novels I’ve read!! Comparable to Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil but the MC isn’t as omnipotent. Everything is realistically structured, taking account the main idea, plot and growth overall!

... more>>
Spoiler

First, the MC. On the runway, in front of the camera for a photo shoot, he is The King, yes the caps are necessarily. In his field even the ML could only be an equal. This is one of the best parts about this novel, you don’t have an ML that completely overshadowed the MC. But, what is best about the MC is that he’s realistic and down-to-Earth, he is peerless as a model but get him to act? He sucked, where most actors have 5 NGs at most in one movie, he can get 20 NG in one scene. He can’t cook well, even tomato fried is hard for him, he recipe he posted for his fans on it was extremely detailed and the results weren’t that good. He even said it was difficult. His handwriting is bad too, his talents lie in modeling, he has a high EQ but he doesn’t have many talents. But he grows, he doesn’t stay a bad actor, he slowly improves so that while he will never be a good actor, he can, at least, act at a decent level enough for blockbuster films and such. His writing doesn’t improve though, and he relies on the ML fo home cooked food... Anyway, he is the type of MC who could stand on his own two feet just with his own talents and capabilities, the ML just sped it along and gave him a goal.

Now, the ML. First impressions are the typical cold, domineering and black bellied ML but he is more an artiste and craftsmen then a cold-hearted CEO. He has major sway over the industry, which is common, but he doesn’t interfere with the MC’s work. He supports him, doing things like buying a 1000 copies of magazines the MC featured on, and gives him little pushes, like making sure the company allocates suitable resource to him. He doesn’t open any back doors for the MC, anything the MC does, every cover shoot and movie, is of the MC’s own merit. The most he does in interfering with the MC’s work is helping him deal with people who aim to ruin his reputation, but in the entire series that only adds up to a handful of people. He isn’t overly vicious, true he ruins heir careers but generally what he does is legal and not particularly violent, in other words no torture or murder. There is a reason for why, which I won’t spoil, and it’s not cliche. Initially, the ML viewed the MC as his muse, his source of inspiration as a designer, and endeavoured to make the MC his personal model or “muse”, eventually their feelings grew and the naturally came together. He tends to eat vinegar though, and that translates to cooking foods with a lot of vinegar for the MC to let him know it. Although it’s not one sided, the MC gets jealous too lol.

The MC and ML don’t dance around their feelings and misunderstandings between them are minor and few in between, not really noticeable. They have a mutual understanding and trust between them, especially once they entered their relationship, and there aren’t any characters trying to get between them because they were in love with the ML or even the MC. Usually they are jealous of one or the other but never being in love with the person, which is logical if you think about the author’s interpretation of the fashion industry. Their relationship progression is steady and you don’t have to wait 200 chapters to see them get together, I think they’re already together by half way?

I should mention though there are characters who exemplify racism, but in the novel things such as gender equality and anti-racism is promoted and tranvestites, homosexuality and such is widely accepted with only a small minority of discriminative individuals in the population of the novel. One of the top female supermodels, I believe, was actually a former top male supermodel and gay marriage was legalise in most countries in the novel and Huaxia not before the MC and ML married. In addition the MC has worn dresses in official fashion shows, as well as a skirt that was designed by the ML and a wedding dress in one of the ML’s fashion shows, he’s also been photographed with long hair and mistaken as a girl several times.

Smut scenes aren’t prominent and initially not graphic, maybe R-15 mid way? Either way they’re easy to ignore if you don’t like that kind of thing, [

Plot development is realistic yet conforms to the MC’s abilities, also the end isn’t rushed, the MC will steadily make his way up from 3rd rate model to 2nd to 1st to a Supermodel to the top 50, 20, 5, etc... The end is very satisfying and the journey is just as incredible.

[collapse]

5/5, maybe even more since I read the MTL version. <<less
54 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
18Yuki
18Yuki rated it
Blood-Sucking Empress
June 12, 2018
Status: Completed
I found the summary slightly misleading. The setting of this world is highly matriachal, primarily as females are generally physically stronger than the males, and despite what the summary implies, not all of the MLs are OP martial arts experts and none are stronger then the MC. I feel like I should also warn that this story does have elements and cases of incest and MPreg so be warned!

... more>>
Spoiler

Only 3 of the men could be counted as strong, one is the head of the shadow guards of the MC who later became Ying consort (Shadow Consort), another is a snow fox demon who became Xue consort (Snow Consort) and the last which I can't quite remember the title was already part of the MC's harem before she transversed to this world to completed her soul.

In total, iirc, there are about 8 men who make up the MC's harem, or who the MC's declared is hers, at the end. In addition to the ones above there is also the MC's Empress, the Enchanting Consort who was imprisoned at the start (possibly, MC more or less forgave him towards the end but she hadn't been either intimate or aloof with him), a quiet consort who the MC likes to hear playing the Guqin, a foreign country's prince who was sent as spy to poison the MC but instead fell in love with her enough to abandon his country and again the last one is ambiguous since the MC's feelings for him isn't quite clear... the MC's 'father'. (So yes, a little bit of incest but only to the extent of kissing. The MC has the strongest feelings about him, in my opinion, then the other males but its hard to tell sometimes if they are paternal or something more. In most cases it can be interpreted either way but in some it is distinctly the latter. The only reason he isn't really part of the MC's harem is because he rejected her which made her keep him at a distance. Likewise, his feelings for her is conflicting. He seeks her affection but he himself doesn't quite know if it's because she's his daughter or if it's something else.)

I should also add that this story is technically MPreg, I'm not sure how but it's the males who get pregnant and give birth.

Hmm~

I have to say though the character development of this story, in particular the MC is 5/5. The MC grows from a merciless zombie to a slowly adjusting 'human'. She gains more of what you could classify as humanity over time and with her budding affection and relationship with her consorts. In particular, she went from someone who wanted to kill the Enchanting Consort's and her own child to someone who doted on children, on top of that she went from someone who only thought of humans and her men as food to someone who cares about their well being and mentality, for example when she asked the shadow guard if he was upset at the fact she can never be his alone and has other men, at the end it was even mentioned that she had begun training the men so that they can cultivate as well and possibly ascend to the heavenly realm with her.

Oh and something I thought was interesting was, iirc, before she lost half her soul she actually planned to ascend to heaven and become an imperial consort (probably to the Heavenly Emperor).

Each of the MC's men are too adorable for words.... they each have their own characters and are unique in their own ways. Not all of them are heaven-defying beauties and that's another part of the story I adore, but the MC, while at the end her emotions had yet to reach love for any of them, treats them equally and affectionately. There isn't much harem drama, occassionally one of them might get envious at certain affectionate gestures the MC bestows but in general all the men get along very well. The only drama worth mentioning is Xue Consort's and the little ex-prince's struggles to get the MC to accept them as her real consorts and not treat them as a child (the snow fox is 300 years old and the prince is 16-18? But the MC treats them as children, lol.) It is a bit unrealistic to see how well the men get a long but perhaps its because they know the MC has yet to understand or develop true 'love' or that they view her more as a god to worship and be unable/unworthy/it's impossible for them to bear all her love and affection? Something like that, but they all do truly love the MC and I don't think it'll be long before she returns the sentiment.

[collapse]
<<less
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
18Yuki
18Yuki rated it
Superstar Aspirations
January 27, 2018
Status: Completed
This is the second Mo Chen Huan novel I've read, the first being 'Rebirth of A Supermodel' and both completely exceeded my expectations!!! Comparing the two novels, Superstar Aspirations shares the theme of transmigration but the characters are distinct as is the how the story is developed.

... more>>
Spoiler

The MC of SA has a wider range of skills from acting to singing and cooking but the realistic level of skill the MC shows is characteristic of Mo Huan Chen. MC of SA is an actor worthy of being the best, his singing is considered to be on a professional level but not godly since his voice isn't special it was just that he'd been professionally trained and as such knows all the tricks and techniques, he can cook but it was at a homemade level and not that of a professional chef. (Personally he reminds me of Cha Tae Hyun, a Korean actor who is also part of the main cast in a Korean variety show, 1Night 2Days, both are acclaimed actors, both have released hit songs and it might just be me but their personalities are pretty similar? CTH is married with 3 kids though.)

The ML of SA is simply put, adorable. He too has a secondary account that he uses to support the MC like the ML of RS but it serves another purpose of being something akin to the ML's alter ego. The ML may seem cool and distant at the start but his secondary account shows what he really thinks, he fangirls the MC a lot, lol, and learns new terms from the wise netizens. It gets funnier when the MC starts to connect the dots between the second account and the ML. The ML of SA is less blackbellied but just as domineering, he isn't as ruthless to the people who offend the MC, most of the time he gets his agent to dig up and reveal the offender's black history, but he isn't really kind either. RS and SA's MLs play similar yet different roles, both act as supporters, guardians and partners, but RS's ML also acted as a rival where as AS's ML is more of a companion.

There isn't a lot of face slapping, unless you count the occasional anti-fans online there were less then a handful of rivals and canon fodders that were quickly shut down, the main focus of this story is the MC's movies and other accomplishments as well as his relationship with the ML. It's all pretty slow paced, in total it's placed in a time frame of about 4-6 years since the MC's debut at age 18 and spans for nearly 180 chapters including extras. The MC's popularity is measured by the number of his fans compared to the ML and the number of awards, whereas RS uses the Supermodel rankings to determine the rate of the MC's progress. The romance starts early for the ML's side but doesn't bloom until about halfway.

I have to mention that the movies and dramas are amazing. The description, on paper, are very interesting to the point I wished they were real! Especially the crime drama the MC started in, definitely would watch!! Kind of reminded me of the Chinese drama 'Love Me If You Dare' but with a twist.

[collapse]

Highly recommended and if you like it I suggest reading RS too! The author is amazingggg, I can't wait for more of their work to be translated! 5/5! <<less
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
18Yuki
18Yuki rated it
Quick Transmigration System: Male God, Come Here
August 23, 2018
Status: c947
This is probably one of the best transmigration novels I've read, but please prepare your tissues because...

... more>>
Spoiler

Every story arc until the latest one, and probably not for another couple of arcs, ends in a tragedy where the MC dies and leaves a heartbroken ML. The most heart aching parts, in my opinion, is the ML POV of after the MC's death in each world.

[collapse]

But! It's not all doom and gloom.

Spoiler

The relationship between the MC and ML can be very sweet during the arcs and leading to her death in each arc, although once the MC wakes up she is back to her goal-orientated self (she is indifferent to her experiences in the world's because the system shields her from the feelings but not the memories, so her focus is still on her goals) in the latest arcs her relationship with the ML in real life is finally beginning to slowly developing into a sincere relationship. Not quite in full bloom yet, as it's only after the previous arc did she feel anything towards the ML and it's not to a romantic level, but it's not far off.

Also, the System is so funny. To prevent Ye Yu Xuan (ML) from revealing the fact that he is her target in every mission (he knows this because he dreams of her adventure in the mission worlds), the system makes it so that every time he tells her his dreams the system makes her think he was telling her about a really, really weird dream, not at all close to what he is actually telling her. I think one of them involved a chicken? Something like that.

[collapse]

Currently there is 15 arcs and 900+ chapters. I won't list them all out, but the arcs include:

Spoiler

Modern day, Ancient time, fantasy world (mermaids), ghosts, cultivation, zombie apocalypse and show-business. They are are all written with a unique plot so you won't get bored or think that it's too cliche.

[collapse]

It's been a while since I first read this story and it was MTL-ed, so I'm very glad someone picked it up! <<less
20 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
18Yuki
18Yuki rated it
The People Who’re Supposed To Kill Me Fell For Me Instead
January 22, 2018
Status: Completed
If you love, or even like, Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil, then you will similarly love or like this story. It’s a lot fluffier!!!! If you’re a cat lover then this is definitely for you and if you adored the QWFD arc where ZYS was a supermodel then I repeat, you will love this story.

... more>>
Spoiler

Arcs: Futuristic Space setting, Cultivation World Master/Disciple, Game, Modern Supernatural (Ghost, Exorcist)

[collapse]

So. Much. Fluff!!!!

Meng all the way~
Spoiler

Although the first arc ended sadly it’s not unfulfilling, just wait for it...

[collapse]

There are some R-18 scenes but you can easily skip them without effecting the story. What I like best about this story is that it doesn’t drag out, each arc is properly fleshed out and it doesn’t go on and on forever. Plus, its not repetitive so while you will overload of fluff you won’t of boredom.

10/10! Recommended!! <<less
20 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
18Yuki
18Yuki rated it
18 Kin Otome Gēmu de, Teisō o Mamorinukimasu!
October 23, 2017
Status: c35
3/5 simply because...

... more>>
Spoiler

Please note I read via google translate.

Where I'm up to, the MC suddenly ends up getting married, via sex, to the teacher after kicking the asses of a group of boys (suspected to be sent by the heroine) who tried to r*pe her. At the end of chapter 35 the dark Yandere side of the teacher appears and she's handcuffed to his room, the raw novel hasn't updated since 16/07/2016 but I'm not sure if it's discontinued, on hiatus or finished (although I hope not because then the ending was just... not.)

The first part of the novel is fluffy, not to say it was devoid of R-18 smuttiness, but 37 chapters (35 normal + 2 sides) just wasn't enough~~~ The Chairman only appeared the one time in the first few chapters, the main capture target's presence is kinda weak but I'm dying for a side story with his POV, the 'heroine'... is a masochist and I half do and don't want to see her get foiled more by the MC, do because she's the classic 'I'm-the-heroine' character and don't shes a masochist. (A world of Male Yanderes and she wants a reverse harem which could potentially kill her or worse. =_=)

The MC is cute but what's disappointing is her 'forever-single' stance went *poof!* within 35/37 chapters. I wanted to see her fend off the capture targets some more before that happens~ It's currently undetermined whether or not the MC will have a reverse harem, the plot certainly points that way but she supposedly wants to avoid that route and potentially killing herself via jealous & possesive husbands.... sigh, so many questions and no answers...

[collapse]
<<less
20 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
18Yuki
18Yuki rated it
Mr. President, Unbridled Love
December 11, 2017
Status: c552
4.5/5

Ah... much like Hidden Marriage, my thoughts on this story is rather conflicting. On one hand, the majority of the interactions between the Main Couple is sweet, the plot and story events don’t get dragged out too much and is entertaining but on the other hand the various twist and turns and the characters themselves make me want to tear my hair out.

... more>>
Spoiler

When you start out the novel you expect the typical storyline of a domineering ML who needs an heir and the lucky-yet-unlucky MC who will be endlessly doted on. I won’t say it isn’t about that, but as the plot deepens you find out what the ML was looking for was a surrogate mother to a child for a sick woman with a heart condition who saved him when the hey were younger and he had promised to marry. You find out that he didn’t tell the MC this, or even the fact he married her for a child she will not be able to raise, and let their feelings deepen while still promising the other woman he will marry her. You will find out he reproposed to the MC, told her he loved her, and even got her pregnant, only to still conceal the fact about the other woman and his promise to marry her. The other woman, as expected, is not as innocent as she looks and even plots to kill the MC, who finds out and then plans to divorce him through the all-time romance cliche... losing her memory. Except she is faking it. This arc was actually pretty sweet, you get the heartbroken ML and MC, the angst and sweetness, but the reason why the arc had to happen at all annoys the hell out of me. Oh, and if I’m TL-ing this right then the 550 ish chapters I skimmed through covers only the first 3-6 months of their year-long marriage, you’re in for a long ride. This story has a HE but much like HM, you’re in for a lot of twists and turns.

The characters. You can probably tell I’m not happy with the ML, but while he can get a bit aggressive on some parts, and exempting his decision to not tell the MC the real reason why he married her (on that note, I’m not happy with the MC either. It’s understandable that she was desperate and at the end of her rope but a little suspicion, common sense and wariness wouldve been nice) he isn’t the worst ML. He respects the MC and while I sometimes think there’s a hole in his head somewhere— but then again, there usually is one in every ML —that’s what sets him apart. From start to finish he carried a strong respect for her, a part of his mind might view her only as a surrogate mother (for example at the start when he found out she had bad eyesight while he was comforting her and was rethinking his decision to marry her based on if that was genetic, and hence will be passed on to his child.) he had planned to make the the most respected Mrs Lu, he planned to make sure no one slighted, bullied or look down on her and not just because of him, but because of herself. That’s honestly what made me give this novel 4.5/5. The MC isn’t like the MC of HM, she isn’t a [email protected], or all-round capable, or a Mary Sue, she was weak at the start but with the ML’s support she slowly became stronger. The MC didn’t have some grand plan of revenge, she wanted it, but at the same time she was weak, penniless, and helpless at the start, she was desperate and lost until the ML let her become stronger and stand on her own ground. Her scheme to divorce him for one, was is a clear sign of character growth since at the start the best she could come up with was to try and convince the Lu matriarch (ML’s grandmother) who liked her to support her in divorcing her ex-husband.

Some characters, you will absolutely hate, but that just shows how good the author is. But don’t worry, as always, they will get their dues.

[collapse]

Comparing to HM, I prefer LTX (HM’s ML) over the ML of this story. But, with the MCs, while I like HM’s capable MC, I prefer the realistic, and relatable MC of this novel. Comparing the storyline, I like this one over HM but HM frustrates me a lot less. This story is a lot more dramatic then HM, at least that’s what I think, but I prefer the calm, natural tone of HM. This story is realistic, but some parts hurt my head. Regardless, it is well-written and easy to read via MTL, if you like Hidden Marriage (HM) then you are likely to like this story too. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
18Yuki
18Yuki
Cat K
March 13, 2018
Status: c15.2
Simply put, you will either love, love, loveeee the MC... or want to whack him over the head. Seaveral times. (Warning: Such action may, and in fact almost certainly, induce the... ire (to put it lightly) of the ML) As a cat his haughty, own-the-place and bow-before-me attitude is meng, adorable, kawaii. But then you think about how that’s how he also was as a human... ummmm... he would’ve been the canonfodder/prodigal second generation son if he didn’t get turned into a cat. His family spoils him, a lot.

... more>>
Spoiler

One thing he likes to say is, “Because I’m precious”. The tone is dead serious, at least that’s how I felt it was.

[collapse]

And the ML predictably bows to his every whim. Granted he is a cat and being a pet owner I know that feeling. The ML’s intentions aren’t entirely pure though and he isn’t oblivious to the MC’s temperament and actions rather, he doesn’t care.

Spoiler

The ML has never been able to touch a wild animal before the MC, a golden retriever (?) puppy he hugged as a child struggled so much in his arms it snapped its own neck and every other animal, baby and small children were extremely frightened of him. So, the ML’s heart was warmed by the MC and his spoiling became a means to tame the MC and make him never want to leave the ML. When the MC scratched the ML hard enough to draw blood, the ML didn’t snap his neck like he would instinctively do, when the ML saw the MC getting violent instead of thinking to kill the MC like he normally would’ve done he thought of either leasing or caging him to his side or letting him go. But since the MC apologised and acknowledge his wrong, as much as a cat can, and knowing that if he forcefully bound the MC to his side the MC will never be as affectionate as before, the ML chose to spoil him to he point of giving an Imperial heirloom gemstone just for his collar.

[collapse]

What makes me adore the MC, despite his flaws, was that while he was narcisstic, he had a soft side when it came to the ML and he isn’t completely unreasonable.

Spoiler

At one point while he was acting spoilt around the ML he was thinking to the ML to come with him back to South Korea once his curse is lifted and he can go home. He even promised to give him his favourite Cartier watch and the new sports car his grandfather promised to give him as a present for getting into college. It might seem superficial but the tone was sincere and completely and utterly adorable. The MC is vain and narcisstic but he isn’t superficial, he does value the things he like sincerely and treats his family members well. He isn’t shallow, he’s rather considerate at times and his actions are usually quite sincere and honest. He returns the kindness of the ML and doesn’t take advantage of him, it has a give and take vibe, a mutual relationship between them unlike in some novels where the ML is always giving and chasing after the MC.

[collapse]

Still pretty early into the novel right now but I will update again once I got further into it. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
18Yuki
18Yuki rated it
Cannon Fodder Counterattack System
October 25, 2017
Status: c65
Review as of Chapter 65 (Arc 6) : Similar to Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil but less is said about the actual system, it focuses more on the romance although each world's events feel shorter despite taking about 15 chapter for each arc. The world's aren't as creative either, usually either modern or ancient setting but it has more interactions with the characters the QWFD as the MC usually has a form of family.

... more>>
Spoiler

Worlds: Modern (apocalypse), Modern, Ancient (3rd gender; Ger (male who can bear children)), Modern (school life), Ancient (cultivation, martial arts), Modern (different planet, Entertainment/Film/Movie), Beast (can change from human to beast form), Ancient (Imperial family conspiracies), Modern (paranormal, ghosts), Modern (dystopian? I read somewhere it's described as Hunger Games/Btoom style, explains system more and ML's identity)

MC & ML's roles (MC's role & ML's) : Son of man protag seduces & General, Adopted Foster Son of ML & Company CEO, beautiful Ger & disfigured War Hero, Abused-son-turned-Underworld-boss & hired-spy/teacher-turned-lover, Master & Disciple, Movie Production company President and Actor, Protag's cute little brother (liger with wings) & Mermaid, brother of a white lotus & Emperor's brother disguised as a priest, college student who can see ghost & ghost general, ???? (Don't know about the last chapter)

[collapse]

Personally, I prefer Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil more, but this story has more interactions and cooperations between the MC and ML. Some arcs are more interesting, others are a bit dry. I enjoyed the 1st, 3rd & 4th arcs the most because of the interactions between the MC and ML and the events in it but a lot of the details is lost in the MTL version. The one thing that vexes me is that the MC is supposed to be the King of Silver Screen yet his talent in acting is rarely mentioned, sure he has to adjust to his new roles and identities but so did Zhou Yunsheng who is a hacker, comparing the two novels QWFD's MC (Zhou Yunsheng) utilises his talent most and best. In the end the title is unimportant to the story, only perhaps a potential ineferable reason for the MC's adaptability.

Admittedly they are 2 novels with similar premise but different focuses, but if you liked Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil, or BL/Yaoi/Danmei novels with capable protagonists, then you will enjoy this novel. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
18Yuki
18Yuki rated it
Mochiron, Isharyōseikyū Itashimasu!
October 24, 2017
Status: c35
A Villainous noble girl story with a twist that ends up so hilariously adorable!

... more>>
Spoiler

Its not a reincarnation, transmigration or transmigration, rather its centered on the Book of Prophecy (a romance novel), a cute high-spec Prince who is too adorable in the face of the MC, her brother and the 'heroine', and a domineering MC with an eye on profit and is a slight tsundere.

The MC and Prince are the main pairing but there'll be countless hurdles in their way from the MC only wanting to make money and hence thinks being Queen is non-profitable, to well... actually that's the biggie so far. BUT another Prince character is introduced in the second part, the question is rival or friend? Regardless within the first or second chapters she'd gotten him to sign a trade contract for some stone fufufufu... Yulias is definitely true to her character.

The engagement with the loser fiancé being broken ends in the 'heroine' (who was actually trying to make the Book come true) collapsing after dumping the loser fiancé and being dumped by the Prince, the MC's brother and the Book's author's M son, the MC being propositioned by the King to be the Prince's wife and the MC declaring being Queen is an obstacle to making money, LOL.

[collapse]
<<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
18Yuki
18Yuki rated it
Chongfei Manual
June 30, 2017
Status: Completed
Status: Chapter 106

One of the few Chinese novels you can read through google translate and understand the story. You won't miss any major details. The story isn't as dramatic as Reborth of the Malicious Empress but while it has a few darker undertones at the beginning the story gradually becomes lighter and focuses on Wei Luo's relationship with Zhao Jie (Jing Wang). It's a well paced romance ... more>>
Spoiler

You can easily see the gradual development of Wei Luo and Zhao Jie's romance, as of chapter 105 they've just gotten engaged since Wei Luo is now at the 'marriageable age' of 14 and Zhao Jie is 23 and Wei Luo and Song Hui's engagement has been broken off about 10-20 chapters before, to be married in a year

[collapse]
and their interactions are just too adorable for words! Although it should be noted that they have a 9-year age gap which might turn some people off but it is in fact very normal especially in historical novels. If you like To be a Virtuous Wife, Rebirth of the Malicious Empress of Military Lineage and Eight Treasure Trosseau then I highly recommend this. It's the type of light novel you can read per and over and over again and not get bored even if you know what will happen.

Update:

Spoiler

Towards the end the story becomes quite slow, since Zhang Jie's pursuit of Wei Luo is the main highlight of the novel but it is still too adorable for words. They got married around chapter 124 and Wei Luo got pregnant at around chapter 150-160, but the best part has to be how the characters stay true to themselves. There isn't as much drama as there could be about Wei Luo and Wei Changhong's mother, Jiang Miaolan, and I could say that is a minor loose end to the story but what I loved most is that Wei Luo and Changhong didn't suddenly cave in when she appeared, married to another man and certainly alive. Jiang Miaolan is pitiable in some ways but in the end she left her children alone, with a step mother that would loathe them, and came back to the city expecting them not to be there. (Ok, that might sound a bit harsh than it is, the last part anyway, but read and you will see.) My only disappointment is that Wei Lou's interactions with Wei Kun (her father) was pretty much nonexistent after her childhood phase, which while reasonable is still kind of unsatisyfing since her close relationship with him was nice family fluffy. Oh, and Changhong didn't appear much either... The most satisfying thing though is how each villain gets there due (although try not to hate on Li Song too much, Wei Luo gives back a 100 for every 1 and honestly I like him more then Song Hui his character has more dimension and there are 2 extra chapters at the end which just make you sympathise more with him), Wei Luo doesn't pull any punches and Zhao Jie is there for her every step of the way.

Lastly, if you're wondering if Wei Luo ever tells Zhao Jie she pretty much traveled back in time, (look away now if you don't want to be spoiled on this) she does in the 3rd and last extra chapter. In the first two extras Li Song is the one who travels back in time to when Li Xiang was 14 (I think) but.... it was in Wei Lou's original world. Guess what happens? (I won't spoil that) but to not kiss and tell, Zhang Jie had a dream of that world with Li Song's world/time traveling and told Wei Luo who told him her's.

[collapse]
<<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
18Yuki
18Yuki rated it
The Royal Fiancé -White Prince-
June 19, 2018
Status: epilogue
...I don't know how others would read it, or if it's just because it's late at night when I was reading it, but to me the story is a tragedy from start to finish. There are so many misunderstandings and conflicting views that are, bluntly put, clumsily if not horribly "solved".

The MC's emotions stood out the strongest for me, his inner conflicts, his pain, his misunderstanding, but the ML and every other character around the MC knocked out the stars along with the badly written 'resolution' to the conflicts.... more>>

Spoiler

My first critique, is the sheer amount of emotional manipulation surrounding the MC. His relationship with the ML? Easily classifies as Stockholm syndrome. The MC was misunderstood, and misunderstood, or that was what I got out of it. He was isolated since he was a child and misunderstood for competing with his brother over the throne, he'd had not source of warmth as a child and even grown up he was viewed as an untouchable beauty to be admired but not touched (or so it is explained) which further extended his isolation and deprivation of human contact, with him thinking everyone saw him as arrogant, ambitious, challenging his brother for the throne. Then comes in the ML who forced him, repeatedly, without a semblance of the 'love' he later claimed to hold for the MC, complete with a sob story and love-at-first-sight-because-you-were-'different' story, successfully making the MC overlook the majority of their 'relationship' which envolves mind-breaking, force, enslavement etc, and falling in love with him.

Next is his brother, who forced him to get 'married' in order to catch a criminal, leading to should-be traumatising if not for the plot armour situation, has not shown a shred of brotherly affection or even fondness for the MC and who the MC thinks hates him, and then somehow the MC forgets about everything with a simple "he's important to me". At the end, it can be seen that apparently the brother cares for the MC, but to me it just screams more manipulation and superficiality. I really want to know what's in the brother's head, the extra should have covered his pov.

I don't know what else to say.

Even the epilogues seem like a tragedy despite nothing bad really happening, maybe like a happy ever after euphemisms everything bad that happened in a fairytale to make it suitable for children. The MC's naively is supposed to be a good element of his character but it makes the story even more tragic, at least to me. His emotions and overall character earns 1 star, translation gains the other star.

[collapse]

I can't say I like it, but give it a go and see what you think. This is just my opinion and it may change, doubtful but still a possibility, if you don't think too hard about it it might be a good read.

oh and I also just read the manga, it makes the MC's brother seem nicer but doesn't change my opinion of him in this story. The brother's husband is in a far better situation then the MC, actually has familial love and so isn't as desperate and vulnerable. The MC doesn't show up and is never even mentioned iirc in the manga so still no insight to how their relationship really is. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
18Yuki
18Yuki rated it
Professional Accomplishment Of A White Lotus
November 19, 2019
Status: Completed
QAQ.

Ending spoilers:

... more>>
Spoiler

Its a BE romance wise, as in she didnt end up with anyone and the expected ML (Her system, in MTL his name is Seventh child) is kinda a scum, but a pretty general one for the MC. Honestly QTS: Male God Come Here is happier then this (after the first 1800 chapters anyway). The MC goes through so much... ofc villains get their dues and MCs life goes on relatively peacefully, so its not a terrible ending for her.

[collapse]

MC & ML Identities:

Spoiler

from what I can understand the MC and ML (the system) are the first beings of the universe with hin as "Good" and she as "Evil" but then they split into 2 sides, she by herself and he with heaven and earth backing him (tiandao) and MC suffers bc of him. Wont go into detail but thats the jist

[collapse]

Good:

Its well written, but the author is an S. Most of the endings are tear jerkers, so if your looking for a good cry, here you go.

MCs character is very well built and overall the story flows smoothly.

There are plenty of sweet momments (if you ignore the whole fact that those momments r based on the MCs white lotus-ing).

Side characters and villains are not 1-dimensional.

The Bad:

MLs, especially in the first world, is kinda meh. They don't really have the expected strong or developed character compared to the MC
Spoiler

the real ML, the system, is somehow more developed even though you barely see them but I guess that makes sense in a way cus they are the real ML but..

Anyway, I don't like the ML, he cares for the MC but at the same time dislikes her for what she "is"

[collapse]
and their actions are whats expected of novel MLs, with a little bit more logic at times.

The arc stories and the actions of both MC and ML don't really make sense at times, it doesnt really bother me too much but I know 1 world which will really bother some people
Spoiler

secretary world

[collapse]
.

General Notes:

The MCs personal ability is strong, but she isnt the independent type, like the title says she's a white lotus so her biggest backer or cheat is the ML of each world. Shes dependent on then because they are the keys of her task, if you don't like that or are looking for a badass MC able to do whatever she wants, this is not the novel for you!!!!

The MC does not have it easy. Some of her pain is self-directed to complete the mission, but the real ones really made me want to cry. She isn't a mary su and everything doesn't always go her way.

Btw I wrote this review late at night after I finisbed the novel so apologies if I dont make sense at times. 😅 <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
18Yuki
18Yuki rated it
The Captivating Crown Prince
December 12, 2017
Status: c61
4.5/5 but closer to 5/5 so...4.8/5

I love the MC. She reminds me of the MC from Genius Doctor: Black Belly Miss, they have similar personalities, calm, aloof, calculating, but what differs between them is their ambitions.... and their perspective to fluffy animals.

... more>>
Spoiler

GDBBM’s MC has a huge weakness for fluffy animals, CCP’s MC is indifferent if not dislike.

[collapse]

The MLs are quite cute with their interactions with the MC, there is the usual gender delema since the MC is posing as a male but each one has a different character. They all are, admittedly, powerful/influential/black-bellied but each has a feel of their own story. It’s hard to explain but I guess it’s somehing like they each have the potential to be a protagonist in their own stories?

The plot’s development is gradual, not too slow or fast, and the ‘calm before the storm’ tone of the story is carried throughout the plot, slowly building until the storm arrives. Not the best analogy but, well...I have no other.

My only complaint is...

Spoiler

that the MC’s romance halo is too strong. If the MC of this story had been another person, like if there was the current MC and another heroine or hero, then the current MC (Shang Wu Xin) would probably be a villain or cannon fodder with some sort of treasure meant to attract guys (which is actually a plot from another novel I read... it’s a BL/Danmei /Yaoi one which I love because the uke MC is actually strong... ahem. Anyway.) . Each ML were drawn to the MC at first meeting, there is quite a big leap in their feelings after every time they interacted. This is another point which highlights the difference between this novel and GDBBM, the former is clearly a reverse harem story, the later a single ML story. It’s not necessarily bad, just unoriginal. It gave a reason for the ML and MC to interact but not the most original reason.

[collapse]
<<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
18Yuki
I'm very conflicted right now... whether it's because of the MTL-version or the story itself is debatable.

... more>>
Spoiler

Where I'm up to, the MC is on a date and promised to be engaged to a non-capture target knight but... well, even if it's already known (to the King, the knight and her family) that her soul is older, she was 25 when she died, her physical body is still only 3 and a half years old in this chapter. Even if she uses an illusion to appear around the knight's age.

Ummm... very conflicted on how to feel.

[collapse]

Personally, I like Avoid the Death Route better but these two stories are ve~ry similar. Maybe it will change once the plot progresses more in ADR (since the plot development is slower in ADR then this novel) or once I've read more of this novel but I'm just going to wait for the translator-samas. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
18Yuki
18Yuki rated it
The Heartbeat at the Tip of the Tongue
December 17, 2017
Status: Completed
10/10 my favourite modern romance novel.

The MC is sweet, loyal and imperfect, the ML is dedicated, caring and the guiding hand of the MC. The two together is simply... meant to be. At first I sympathised with the 2nd ML, his relationship with the MC is so innocent and had it been any other situation then the two would’ve gotten together in time. They were set to be a classic childhood friend turned lovers story. But with the ML it became something more. The two MLs love the MC in... more>> different ways, their relationships are very different and it makes things all the more sweeter. Both MLs are black bellied in their own ways but they aren’t perfect and if there was one thing in common between them, it was that the MC was both their weakness and their strength.

The cooking aspect of the story is very much important but what sets this apart from other cooking novels is that it’s realistic. Each description is so vivid yet not overdone, each criticism, each compliment, is all with reason and backed up strongly with logic. I don’t know much about cooking but I can imagine each step, taste each flavour... it’s made me hungry more then once. It’s highly realistic, so if you’re expecting something like Shokugeki no Soma, it’s not going to reach your expectation but it is still mouth watering.

As other reviewers have said, the MC is not an airhead, a Mary Sue, or anything like that. She isn’t stupid, to put it simply. She can be a bit naive, a bit dense and a bit innocent but she can stand on her own two feet, think for herself and most importantly, she grows with each chapter. She isn’t entirely reliant on the MLs, she is the ML’s partner in all definitions. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
18Yuki
18Yuki rated it
Wangye’s Maid is the Sect Leader
November 29, 2017
Status: c16
Originally, I wasn’t so keen on reading this novel after the first few chapters, but the story does get better. We have an adorable MC, black bellied ML and their mischievous yet adorable son. It’s a light read, so don’t expect a super serious MC, she’s capable (she is the Sect Master after all) and not entirely dense or airheaded, it’s more like her temper sometimes makes her more childish especially because her and her son share a personality, like mother like son. Personally she reminds me of a more... more>> fiery version of the MC from Kusuriya no Hitorigoto, ironically the ML of this novel is like a slightly colder version of the ML from Kusuriya no Hitorigoto. It’s still early but I can say it’s worth giving this novel a shot past the first few chapters, so far it hasn’t been overly or stupidly comedic and the MC isn’t really an airhead like in some novels. The interactions between the MC, ML and their son alone makes the novel worth trying. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
18Yuki
18Yuki rated it
Reborn Only to Love You Again
October 24, 2017
Status: c10
Translator, a millions thank you’s for translating this fic!! The interaction between the MC and ML are ADORABLE and the MC is a black belly even as a kid, lol. I love how he maximises the info he has. At this point the story context is slightly heavy but the interactions between the MC and ML make it irresistibly fluffy.

... more>>
Spoiler

The ML’s mother ran away, his father was taken away to a mental hospital to be healed for his disorder which causes him to act extremely violent when triggered, this is a real condition but unfortunately I don’t recall the name of right now. However, the MC is there for the ML and took advantage of his mother being pregnant with his sister to stay with his grandparents and take care of the ML. Another thing for BL lovers is his Uncle and Uncle’s boyfriend, just in these 10 chapters you can tell you’re in for a cute ride with these two’s interactions which doesn’t seem like it’ll lose out to the MC and ML.

[collapse]
<<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
18Yuki
18Yuki rated it
One Child Two Treasures: The Billionaire Chief’s Good Wife
January 18, 2018
Status: c245 part1
I was tempted to give 2 stars but on the account of the little buns and the fact that the ML changes overtime... 3-3.5 stars. This story is similar to Hidden Marriage and it is in fact a good read, but I'm not that masochistic...

There are a lot of times when you would feel like beating up the villains, the MC or the ML, pretty much the only ones safe are the little buns...

The MC is actually pretty average, she's a typical FL whose cheat is the ML but the... more>> twist is...

Spoiler

Her son/s are both cheats too.

[collapse]

She has the typical FL halo which lets her survive each and every time but she never really learns from it, it can be annoying and to me, at the least, it is.

The ML started off as a cold-hearted [email protected] (#*@* but his redeeming point is that he eventually warms up to the MC and almost immediately to his sons. Unfortunately...

Spoiler

He reminds me of Nangong Liuyun from Demonic King Chases His Wife, appears to spoil and care for the MC, but it's usually selective and there's very little trust, if any between them. It's extremely slow in that aspect. In some ways it's realistic, just that the circumstances call for either unrealistic or at least above average. It gets frustrating at times.

[collapse]

The little buns are perfect. Yep. Best part of the story!!!

Overall...

Spoiler

The first thing that came up in my mind after a while is, if the MC was just the original Female Lead in a story where another person transmigrated into this novel or like the system type novels where a person transmigrated as a cannon fodder or second lead, then it's very likely she'd be forgotten or turns into canon fodder. She's not useless, and she's mentally strong willed, just that her cheats are too reliant on the ML and her overall presence in the story is weak, she's overshadowed by the ML and little buns to the point where it seems anyone could take her role. What makes her the MC is her FL halo. This is just my opinion but I'd prefer Hidden Marriage's slightly OP but individualistic MC then her. Where she less loyal and didn't have YouYou she strongly resembles Lin QianZi from Doomed to Be Cannon Fodder where she was the original Female Lead in which a person transmigrated into cannon fodder and became the MC.

[collapse]
<<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
18Yuki
18Yuki rated it
Eight Treasures Trousseau
November 28, 2017
Status: Completed
Beautifully written. Much like Yue Xia Die Ying’s other work, To Be a Virtuous Wife, it follows the story of how a woman who transmigrated into the body of another and lived her life in the Ancient Chinese world. Transmigration plays a role, but it is much more subtle then that of other novels, it shows in the MC’s mentality more so then her actions.

Unlike To Be a Virtuous Wife (TVW), the plots and schemes, the underlying plots and steps taken, is more obvious in comparison, not to say it... more>> is predictable but more so that it is unveiled in more detail, hinted with more foreshadowing then TVW where much of what happens underneath the surface is inferred but never directly shown or hinted at or revealed long after.

The MC is, ironically, more active the TVW’s Qu Qing Ju, she’s more involved in the plots and her relationship with the ML, Yan Jin Qiu, contrasts that of Qu Qing Ju and He Heng. They have a level of communication, of open secrets and plots and understanding, which is different from QQJ and HH, not in a good or bad way but while similar, it is interesting to see the differences between the two couples. The Hua Xi Wan is much more relaxed, it’s easy to liken her to a lazy feline but never doubt that she has the claws and teeth that came with being a predator rather then prey. In comparison Qu Qing Ju is more mature, jaded, yet when she moves she is lively and majestic, if I were to liken her to an animal then perhaps a lioness or a nightingale?

If I were to have one complaint, it’d be the abrupt ending, Eight Treasure Trosseau’s ending is satisfying, but not as satisfying as TVW. (I don’t want to spoil it so that’s all I will say but if you are after a spoiler...

Spoiler

Predictably, Hua Xi Wan and Yan Jin Qiu ascend the throne to become Empress and Emperor respectively, much like Qu Qing Ju and He Heng. In TVW that’s far from the end, we got to read how their relationship grows further. We got to see Qu Qing Ju get pregnant and give birth to Tun Tun and later meet her other children. We got to watch as they overcame more plots and schemes, as they overcame the challenges that came with the being the Imperial Couple. In Eight Treasure Trosseau, Hua Xi Wan and Yan Jin Qiu ascending the throne marked the end. Not to say Yue Xia Die Ying didn’t tie up all the loose ends but it was too succinct, the crowning and life after was concluded in the last 2-3 chapters and while sweet, much less satisfying. Basically they were crowned and most of their life after was summarised by a few paragraphs at fhe end which tells their story from the modern point of view (like in a history book) although one part that amused me was when they (modern people of the novel) wondered if Yan Jin Qiu had transmigrated from their time... to put it simply, he’d done what most transmigrated in other novels (usually Japanese world building ones) do.

[collapse]

Overall, I highly, highly, highly recommend this novel. Good for a light read, good for a not-so-light one, and if you are ever confused or if you ever feel like you’re missing something while reading it, I suggest reading the comments below each chapter written by other readers. I got a lot of insight into the story, to see the full effect, read through the novel once without reading the comments and then read it again while reading the comments. It’s unbelievable, and amazing, how much you can miss that others haven’t. (I recommend doing that for To Be a Virtuous Wife too) (^ω^) <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report