Report Review
32 Reviews


08phamann
08phamann rated it
Lost You Forever
January 20, 2018
Status: c50
This novel is a b*tch. You have been warned. At first, it lures you in with sweet candy, promising cute and sweet and happy. And then from then on proceeds to continuously and calmly stab you in the heart with a candy cane. Playing with your emotions as easily as a butcher cutting meat: with precision and no emotion. Like a little kid playing with his new yoyo. He just doesn't know when to stop. That b*stard.

My thoughts about the shipping and the ending:

... more>>
Spoiler

I knew a lot of people shipped the Xiao Yao with Xiang Liu, but he wasn't for me. XL was too mean to XY. He didn't appreciate her. Didn't treat her well. I liked Jing the best, and I thought that he was the best suited for her. And till the very end I still think that this is the case. In those circumstances, in that time, he was the best choice for Xiao Yao. However, this does not lessen my heartbreak for XL. To be honest, for most of the novel, I still clung to Jing as my favourite ML. There was one time when he had thoroughly disappointing me (when he fell for someone's scheme and got his evil fiance pregnant), however, it was proven that he stayed true to XY and didn't actually betray her. BUT towards the end of the novel is where I really noticed XL's love and devotion. His love is the type that does not act for the sake of recieving anything in return. In fact, he goes through extra lengths to ensure that XY and other people don't realise that he did anything. He did not do it for the recognition. He simply did it because he loves her and wants her to live, and live happily at that. The epilogue gutted me. The MC and ML got their HE, but I was not happy. XL was selfless in his actions towards XY, however, he chose to remain true to his promise and fight with the rebel army to the very end, despite the hopelessness of the situation. If he had given that up, I believe he would have been able to be with XY. But he couldn't. But that didn't mean that he didn't love and help XY. There was one line that really killed me in the epilogue. When they first met, XY said that she didn't know how to protect herself, didn't have anyone to depend on, and didn't have anywhere to go. And XL thinks to himself:

After several decades of archery, you have the ability to protect yourself; in a desperate situation you no longer need to use your body to shield the person you want to protect. An adoring lover, you already have a person to depend on, you no longer need to be by yourself. The sky and ocean are so large, you have a place to stay and will no longer be chased by people with no place to stay.

Xiao Yao, from today on, I can no longer protect you. You have to take care of yourself well, I wish you an eternity of peace and happiness!

And the killer is that, ultimately, he made all these things possible for her. He personally taught her archery to protect herself, even if he disguised his motives to her. He saved Jing by sending out mer-people to look and rescue him from certain death. He is the reason XY and Jing can reunite to love happily ever after. He have XY his blood so she feels as comfortable in the ocean as she does on land, opening up a world of opportunities for her. He did all this, and it kills me inside that he didn't get his happily ever after. Someone in the comments on Sushengbar said that this really spoiled her worldview, because the belief is that if there are soulmates, then the two will naturally find each other and be together. However, this novel did not do that. When Jing (fake) died, I thought to myself, I will be satisfied if the ending of this novel was similar to the ending of Hamlet: wherein everyone of importance dies. And after real ending, I think I still would have preferred everyone to die, because the character who never made his feelings known, but acted his love out in secret, died, while everyone else still is alive. And that just hurts because he deserved such a better ending. I wasn't a fan of XL in the beginning. To harsh and bullies XY like she's a servant. However, by the time the novel ended, I really wish he was the one she choose to give her heart to. But it could never be. And now I'm depressed.

[collapse]
<<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
08phamann
08phamann rated it
Light Beyond (LN)
August 3, 2017
Status: v3c1
Honestly, until halfway through volume 2, I found the MC to be so naive, annoying, and stupid. Is she a good person? Undoubtedly. But does that make for an enjoyable read? Absolutely not. The MC has been reincarnated into the body of a saint, who form the looks of it was a very horrible person. What annoys me is her soft personality i.e. Stuttering every time she starts a sentence, repeatedly saying sorry to everyone, and asking permission for everything.... more>>
Spoiler

There is this one incident that really had me bashing my head against the wall. So the previous owner of the body was horrible, as stated before. Throwing people in jail and having them tortured for very petty reasons. But the new MC has taken it onto herself to rectify this and make it better, which I admit is a very admirable attitude. HOWEVER, what I do not agree with is her helping them personally. Mainly because the cause of their suffering and torment (aka her) appearing before them will not only freak the f*ck out of them, it will might even tempt them to take revenge. But NO, she, in her stupid stubbornness, decides that she must help them. And when someone tries to kill her (she had his wife killed because he annoyed her), she stubbornly refuses to have him executed even though it would set a dangerous precedent and put her in more danger, and her naive reason is that "there is a life st stake." !?!?!?!?!? Her naive and stupidly simple optimistic outlook is displayed in her thought that "she needed to get him to be positive somehow." Really? REALLY!? YOU KILL HIS WIFE AND YOU EXPECT HIM TO BE HAPPY DANDY ONCE HE IS RELEASED FROM JAIL!? WHAT KIND OF WEIRD MUSHROOM JUICE HAVE YOU BEEN DRINKING?!?!

[collapse]
<<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
08phamann
08phamann rated it
Doomed to be Cannon Fodder
February 6, 2018
Status: c74
Was ok at first, but as the plot progressed I never felt anything for the characters besides mild annoyance. The MC always acts scared and frightened around the ML because she's afraid of her original fate, but that's only because her original was scheming and selfish? So why does she assume the same thing will happen to her? Also, some logic in the novel doesn't make sense, but the characters insist on the logic to make the plot progress or to explain things that never really name sense in the... more>> first place. For example, the mother in law got her sons 4 concubines, and places the MC, who is the best looking out of all of them, in the furthest and most remote courtyard so the ML will share his "favour" with the other concubines first and isn't so enamored when he finally reaches the MC. Ok, I'll accept that, but then when the ML favours her and only her, the mother in law has nothing to say about it because MC is a nice girl. Um, ok. And then the issue of the heroine running away/possibly eloping from the marriage and having her reputation ruined. The ML brings her back and wants to break off the marriage (so does the mother in law), but they reason to themselves that they can't because if they do the heroine's reputation will be ruined and no one else will marry her.... whut? You don't owe the heroine anything... if she ran away form marriage and was consorting with who knows when she was out and about, then her reputation is already ruined and is diffident reason to break off the marriage. But no, the ML can't break off the marriage yet. And then wait and waits until the very last minute to reveal that the heroine is pregnant and that he's not marrying her. Could have saved the MC much heartbreak as she watched her man about to marry another woman if the ML just resolved it earlier...

Also, the ML never misses an opportunity to remind us how scheming/stupid/disloyal/weak women are, and conversely sets a very stupid and unrealistic standard for men. Some examples:

<i>'Long Heng had not once considered that loyalty might be a trait found in women' </i>

Thank you Long Heng. I never considered that either. I though all women were back stabbers and green tea bitches. I think he forgets that his mother is also a woman.

<i>'She was obviously small and weak, but she still knew the value of keeping her word. She wasn’t a man, so why did she have to do something like this?'</i>

So it seems that if you're not a man, your words mean nothing....

I had to drop this novel. I really wanted to smack the ML in the face. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
08phamann
Beginning was ok, but then I just became really disappointing in the novel. MC was supposed to be smart, but how come what he does makes no sense?? ML remains your typical short tempered violent ice cube emperor type. I didn't like the relationship dynamic between them. ML had too much power, and for most of the novel the MC is always scared he will inadvertently offend the emperor and lose his little life... which is a legit concern. How can you have a trusting fulfilling relationship when one person... more>> has all the power, including the power to take your life on whim. It just really felt like an abusive relationship dynamic, where the MC always has to be careful of what he says and does in case the ML get's angry. That's not the type of relationship I want to read about.
Spoiler

Also, the MC wanting to disperse the harem at the end, while is sounds cute, it's just not that realistic. I know no one's here for the realism, but come on. The laws of the novel universe still have to be taken into account. If the emperor is smart (and we're made to believe that the ML is basically omniscient), why did he disperse the harem just because the MC wanted him for himself?

[collapse]
. Plus at the end I got really annoyed with the MC (I was always kind of low key annoyed with the ML because he's such an ice block with no character besides being emotionally unpredictable and violent). MC just became a brat and it's hard to believe he was the same character from the beginning of the book. MC should have gotten together with Lan Wei tbh. They would have made a much better couple. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
08phamann
08phamann rated it
LITTLE GOBLIN: Master, Don’t Come Here!
March 7, 2018
Status: c64
Your typical fast transmigration system novel, expect for some reason the way that this novel is written makes me unable to connect with the characters. I have no feelings towards them. And this makes me no want to read anymore.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
08phamann
08phamann rated it
Into the World of Medicine
February 23, 2017
Status: c13
Not many chapter so far, however the novel does update quite regularly so I'm not fussed. From what I've read so far, this looks like another typical transmigration story however I would but it on the high end of the transmigration genre spectrum as the pacing is steady and the side characters don't seem that stupid (... yet. First family confrontation coming up so we'll see how shameless and annoying her family can be). I'm just hoping that we get some good villains and side characters with some brain since... more>> it's kind of boring if the only characters who have any level of intelligence and common sense are the MC and people on her side. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
08phamann
08phamann rated it
Falling Dreams of Fang Hua
January 13, 2017
Status: c65
I really liked the first half of this novel, however the second half where she has amnesia really confused and frustrated me because I had no idea what was happening or going on. I felt like I had amnesia...
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
08phamann
08phamann rated it
The Second Coming of Gluttony
February 10, 2019
Status: c57
The tutorial part was the best part. Once he entered "paradise" (why they would call it that, and why anyone would want to go there, is beyond me), my level of interested decreased exponentially. And his cheat of "regaining his memories" wasn't actually that helpful. He does change some things in the beginning but it soon becomes irrelevant.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
08phamann
08phamann rated it
Dare ga Otome Geemu Dato Itta!
January 9, 2018
Status: c12 part1
Weird, and confusing. ... more>>
Spoiler

Chap 1 part 2, as I began reading I thought there might have been an error and I was sent to another novel since it started with a random person having s*x. But I kept reading and it turns out it was part of the novel, which still doesn't make any sense to me. No plot, no character development, characters very one dimensional. For some reason, the MC annoyed me. He was too polite with everyone. All the time. Also, I'm not sure if his weird mana-extraction technique should be publicised since there seems to be that awkward side effect of making the person orgasm as the mana is being extracted... Neither the MC nor his servants (who volunteered as guinea pigs) seem to think that orgasming in front of their master is weird either.

[collapse]
<<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
08phamann
08phamann rated it
Stolen Love
February 9, 2017
Status: c10
This novel is promising so far. The MC, Li Xin, seems cool and collected and not one to make rash and stupid moves. I really like her indifference to most situations that don't involve delicious food. Still waiting for the male lead to appear. There have been several guys introduced so far, however I don't believe that they are a good match for her, mainly because they're not awesome enough. I do believe that the male lead is the leader of the Qi Clan, which is a big crime syndicate.... more>> Can't wait till he makes an appearance, so I'm really hoping that the novel gets more updates. It's on hiatus at the moment as the translator is also translating The Princess Wei Yang. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
08phamann
08phamann rated it
True and False Young Master
January 6, 2019
Status: c10
This one is much worse than the prequel- Dark Empress. The ML in this novel.... well, the only thing good about him is that he is rich, handsome, and knows martial arts. And he would be my dream guy, except that he was of showing affection is to rape his step sister, imprison her, intimidate her, make her scared for her life, and control everything about her. Why the MC fell for this guy.... I don't know. But come on. Consent is important. Like, sometimes the MC is all like... more>> all coy and stuff, 'oh noes don't touch me but actually really touch meeee, ' and she give implicit consent before they do the pa pa pa, and I totally accept that. I don't need them to sign a contract on consent before they do it. I just want both of them to be willing participants, that's all. Except in this case, I can really feel how one person is really, well, not that into it. And I can understand to. How wants their step brother to come to their room every night and torture them with their kinky BDSM sh*t. And this fart head ML wonders why the MC trys to escape?? And after reuniting after a year, the fist thing he does it go into her room to forcefully rape her. Nice move you d*ck. I just don't understand how the MC love for this guy? But besides her lapse of judgement with choosing a significant other, I think she's a pretty ok person. Pretty weak though. Not my type of MC. ML is a douche. Alt ending: MC realises that she has been raped, becomes stronger, opens up like, a business and becomes super rich. People realise that ML is a rapist douche and then they castrate him so he can no longer torment any women, then tied up like a dumpling and thrown into the river. The end. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
08phamann
08phamann rated it
Rebirth of the Thief Who Roamed The World
April 19, 2019
Status: c576
Things I liked:

    • Brotherhood and stuff
    • Guild building, making allies and expanding territory (kingdom building)
    • MC is an ok guy. Not annoying.
Things I didn't like:

    • the "romance" (if you can call it romance...)
    • No seriously, the romance is a bit vomit inducing. Also,
      Spoiler

      MC likes girl in real life, she knows he likes her. She knows who he is in the game, he does not know who she is in the game. She, being
      a typical stupid shallow character with no character traits except being beautiful and rich, has a great idea. To not tell him who she is in the game. And then she has the audacity to get upset when MC implicitly rejects her in the game?? Dose she have a cheese for a brain? The fact that her character has no character, is not offensive to me, but the fact that she can just be this level of petty and stupid but still so self entitled makes me kind of want to die. Also, not sure why MC is so attracted to her. Besides her face and money. Otherwise, she's pretty useless.

      [collapse]
    • The "s*xy scenes" (pls be prepared for vomit inducing lines)
    • Spoiler

      "She looked incredibly tender and beautiful. A pair of fair tapered peaks dropped down, trembling lightly."

      [collapse]
    • Spoiler

      Xie Yao wasn't wearing anything! Naked!

      [collapse]
    • Spoiler

      Her perfect body radiated a fair glow without the slightest blemish. A lascivious fragrance proliferated the air.

      [collapse]
    • Spoiler

      "Xie Yao wore a white dress, a simple yet elegant colour which complimented her perfectly. She was brimming with the charm of a young married woman. At this moment, she had truly blossomed into a woman."

      [collapse]
Things that don't make sense:

    • MC just going head to head with literally everyone he doesn't like, even when they are literally more powerful that in him every aspect.
    • MC being so fcking lucky
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
08phamann
08phamann rated it
The Two-Faced Venerate Emperor
January 4, 2018
Status: c225
MC is cute, but an idiot. But at least she isn't your typical transmigrated genius/doctor/assassin/super OP whatever, so that's a plus. Chapters are short, however, I feel like the plot drags on and nothing substantial really happens. Also, no chemistry between MC and ML so far. Typical scheming white lotus and jerk face ex-fiance (or at least, he was supposed to be her fiance anyway). The doubling of transmigration and reincarnation might have been a bad idea, seeing as the 'reincarnated' girl is literally called 'reincarnated girl, ' and she... more>> is kind of an emotional idiot and doesn't really provide any help with her knowledge of the future or anything. Basically she's annoying and useless. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
08phamann
08phamann rated it
Grabbing Your Hand, Dragging you Away
December 21, 2017
Status: css2 part2
The MC's characterisation was a breath of fresh air, simply because she simply wasn't your typical MC whose goal, after being transmigrated, is to become strong and get revenge or dominate the world or whatever reason. Neither was she your typical goody goody who, despite being a "badass, " help people just because it's right. The MC's apathy was what made her cool. Her go-with-the-flow attitude (simply because she never gave a crap what happened) got her into very interesting situations.

I can't say I like all the guy's who kept... more>> kept
Spoiler

kidnapping her and kissing her without her permission. Seriously why do they think the only way they can "have her" is to kidnap her?? They have to be some sort of delusional to think that she's suddendly forget her kidnapping and begin to return their feelings. Dream on buddy. Each of them do have their pros and cons, and I like how fleshed out their characterisation was. They were driven by their own motives and desires and it was nice that each of them had their own backstory. Meng Ying Lu's backstory was especially sad since his family were whole and loving of each other. I would say that if each of them were in separate novels they would have definitely been very well liked. However, they had the unfortunate luck to be in the same novel as the very super black belly ML, who is very possessive of his little cousin

[collapse]
. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
08phamann
Beginning was awesome. I loved Gu Yan's strength and her capability, especially when she was showing the Su soldiers who was boss. The investigation stuff was boring and towards the end it was super boring. I personally though Gu Yan would have been better off with Ao Tian, but sadly no.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
08phamann
08phamann rated it
Jiang Hu’s Road is Curved
February 22, 2017
Status: special 3
A sweet story about growing up and finding yourself. In the beginning, the MC was no obnoxious and narcissistic that I was very tempted to drop this novel, but I'm now thankful that I persevered. The only complain I have is that I wasn't sure who the ML was and thus did know know who to ship her with. I was so indecisive and it wasn't until well past half way into the story that I knew for certain who the ML was (I mean, what if I shipped the... more>> wrong guy and my ship sank? : (I don't want that...). I would have preferred a longer epilogue and a more concrete ending, but overall I enjoyed this novel very much. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
08phamann
08phamann rated it
Demon Wang’s Golden Favorite Fei
February 10, 2017
Status: c84
I like the fact that this transmigration novel begins 5 years after the MC wakes up in her new body. During these 5 years, she's established a name for herself, powered up and learned to defend for herself. This was refreshing instead of always starting as 'trash' and being ridiculed 24/7. I'm not too sure how I feel about the male lead, as he is supposedly smart and devious but in front of her he's just a love struck fool. I have yet to see him being cruel and whatnot... more>> so I'm a little dissapointed.

Update:

I've finished this novel so I feel like I can safely say that this was a very disappointing and torturous read, and downgrade it to a 1 star rating. The beginning was good. MC was still badass and used her abilities (although why she would come back and pretend to be a waste and be married off to a complete stranger when she already had the power to be independent, idk). But when she got together with the ML, it's like the combined power of their sappy and vomit inducing lovey dovey interactions made them into incompetent losers. This loser-ification only got worse and worse, until they had their first baby. It was then that they really upped their game and basically became nothing like their former selves, finally becoming useless and boring. Their baby got kidnapped twice (could have been more, as I was skimming the later chapters). And they weren't even expert kidnappers or good villains or anything. The 'bad' guys were even more incompetent, but still always managed to kidnap the baby. Ok, but I expect more from our genius poisons/doctor/businesswoman MC and her 'war god' ML. And I just want to do a shout out to all the crazy and stupid bad guys in the novel (aka, basically everyone who isn't on the MC and ML side). The level of stupidity and displayed by the villains has really opened my eyes. So many of them are crazy, and try to kill the MC/ML, but then become confused and angry when they're about to die and the MC/ML don't help them. Are your brains full of poop?? You were literally fighting to the death and expect them to show mercy when you are annoying and stupid AF?? This novel has extremely crazy stupid characters, in high quantity, and with little quality. Skip this novel. I feel like I have a good tolerance to stupidity in novels, but even I was constantly asking myself, how many more chapters till this is finished? <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
08phamann
08phamann rated it
Three Marriages
December 24, 2016
Status: c10
Ju Mu Er is an awesome and capable heroine, and I like Long Er although I'm still waiting for him to redeem himself. His bullying of the MC doesn't really sit well with me, especially since she's blind. Awesome novel but I'm sad because of the infrequent updates.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
08phamann
08phamann
Emperor of Solo Play
May 6, 2019
Status: Completed
Ending was rushed af. Main ending battle glossed over in 2 sentences and a rushed explanation that the game was ending because the main scenario quests had all been cleared. Which is ridiculous considering the time and effort and money some people have invested into the game, and that it had only been running for like 2 years? Lame. MC was annoying. Always screaming about how he had no money and how the game was unfair and why couldn't he have gotten this item or whatever. And apparenltly the human... more>> body can survive of just coffee and glucose as the main meal 100% of the time. I'm surprised he hasn't been hospitalised for hyperglycaemia or organ failure. MC acts like everyone had offended him and it's him against the world but it gets old pretty fast and he just looks like a douche. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
08phamann
08phamann
The Legendary Moonlight Sculptor
April 21, 2019
Status: v4c5
I tried reading this novel after I read Rebirth of the Thief who Roamed the World, because it was said to be the best gaming novel, so I got really excited, even when the blurb says MC is sculptor. I was like, pff sculptors can be cool? Give it a try.

Regrets were had.

What I was expecting:

  • Money making
  • Bromance/some sort of emotional development/ any sort of feelings
  • Kingdom building (he get's the inheritance of some legendary king?? So he needs to use that to dominate the land, ofc)
  • Face slapping
  • Fighting
  • Explosions
I got none of... more>> that. Instead, I got:

  • Lame money making (selling tiny figurines?? If there is market for that I will eat a shoe). Also, he's playing the game to make money, but it never really says that the conversion rate of game money to irl money is, and how much is he making my doing all these odd jobs? Why not just get a real regular full time job instead if making money is your end goal?
  • No feelings. MC trusts no one and likes no one and is interested in no one. Boring af. I NEED SOME FEELS. Plus, everyone sounds so polite. How can people have hot blooded and tear inducing emotions when everyone is so polite??
  • No kingdom building. Granted, I didn't get that far. Only 4 volumnes. But MC was leanring how to pretend to be a horse/goblin/rabbit/deer, just for the sake of making better sculptures, which is ok if he didn't take it too far and ate grass and said that running on 4 legs was better than running on 2 legs. The only people who can say that, are 4 legged animals. Of which, MC is not.
  • No face slapping. MC brushes off insults, which is ok, but he's not awesome enough for me to be like, just you wait and see you newbs MC is gonna kick your asses. MC is not cool enough for that.
  • Boring fights. It's all very polite. Mainly MC just grinding levels, shouting out the names of his moves and hoping not to die. Boring. Eww.
  • No explosions. A distinct lack of explosions. 0/10. Very disappointed.
<<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report