Report Review
Report Reason:
16 Reviews


pandicorn
pandicorn rated it
Apocalypse Summoner
January 1, 2017
Status: c15
Tho I myself am very against writing reviews for novels that have very few chapters out. I am willing to discard that principle on certain circumstances. Apocalypse summoner is an example of that. It is a time travel post apocalypse novel which is mediocre at best. Typical tropes are being thrown in with average descriptions. Sexism is prominent in the first few chapters (not sure if it'll continue) and everybody besides the MC serves to accentuate the MC's glory vain filled escapade. There are haughty arrogant guys and entitled bitchy... more>> girls and etc. Overall, a typical chinese novel that you can find anywhere in this website.

People who enjoyed god and devil world would like it I think but it aint my cup of tea.

Edit : in response to clarky dee, I didn't rate it low becoz its not my cup of tea. I rated it low becoz of the string of reasons I gave. Sexism, haughty and untasteful side characters, mediocre descriptions. I do agree that 15 chapters isn't enuff but what I pointed out is not problems with plot. Its the author's style and mentality. How he shapes his characters and from my experience, if the first 5 chapters shows prominent sexism, I'd doubt it'll change in the near future.

<<less
24 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pandicorn
pandicorn rated it
Dungeon Hunter
October 10, 2016
Status: --
I was actually quite pissed when I read some of the reviews. Only reading up to 10-12 chapters and asking petty questions that would later be explained in the story is just arghhh. Its like 10-12 year olds just read the first sentence of a book and dropped it because they didn't like that the the second word was capitalized. Though not without faults, this novel shouldn't be tarnished by half assed reviews. If you like novels like reincarnator and such, you woild definitely enjoy this.

Pros
- Well... more>> excecuted
- MC has a clear goal, and strongly strives for that.
- Proper power progression
- a lil bit of politics (personal bias)
- Good antagonists

Cons
- 1D side characters (not as bad as mga but not that great either)
- There's a few more but I cant think of anything right now. Well update when I can

PS: translator did a great job at the novel :D <<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pandicorn
pandicorn rated it
Rebirth of the Thief Who Roamed The World
December 8, 2016
Status: c100
I don't really get the hate around here tho. Sure MC is lucky, Sure his love interest has as much personality as a toenail. Sure he pretty much gets almost everything that he wants and because of that I for one would rate the originality and plot 2/5 but story wise its quite fun. Story telling is a solid 4 I think. Decent descriptions and interactions that will keep you entertained throughout the read lest you be sherlock. What I like about mad snail is that his flow is good.... more>> The transition between minI arcs of what the MC needs to do is smooth and the minI arcs are interesting as well. Is he a cheat, of course he is. Just like any other xianxia or CN MC out there. If that's your reason to diss the novel than maybe you're in the wrong place.

<<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pandicorn
pandicorn rated it
Absolute Choice
December 18, 2016
Status: c92
Till ch. 62 review
... more>>
Spoiler

The comedy in this novel is gold. I personally like it. It's a mixture of bold shamelessness and life teaching lessons that will attract onion cutting ninjas.


Story:
The author seems to be guiding the story in a very cliched direction. There's mention of a 4th apocalypse and I imagine that the MC will be the saviour or somethin like tat. Besdies that the plot is mainly the MC completing funny choices at awkward times which ranges from confessing his love to asking for a guy's underwear. This author is golden imo. This story has a spot similar to issth in my heart. Why? Because the author incorporate life lessons in it. It feels genuine. The emotions are overspilling and the MC will bring you through one hell of a journey

Characters:
Now, this seems to be a main problem. Most people here stopped reading because the author used similar characters from animes and there was one part that even I got turned off by it but i'll assure you. That's only for the beginning chapters. No rip offs after chapter 62 and the story is really good for you to drop it for the minor difference in preference. Most characters have their own personality with their own backstory. And the best part of them all, they act like normal human beings. Overall, best characters i've seen in a while catering to the large spectrum of weird people as a whole.

[collapse]

Till ch. 92 review

Spoiler

This story is still golden. Ignore all those nay sayers that tells thou to drop this novel. A novel with the most substance you can f**king find on this site. It has everything. Shamelessness, humour, action, slight romance, bromance, darkness, gags. Anything you can imagine. Most of all, it has feelings. You can resonate with the MC. You know that he's weak. You see that he is trying so hard to improve. You'll get so immersed in his journey that you will root for him. Recent chapters got so many feels I'm taking baths with my tears.

[collapse]
CK is doing an amazing job pumping out chapters with exceptional quality. Overall, would strongly recommend people to read till chapter 12 and 68 before judging. That's when the comedy peaks and shows the style of the author. This story is a love it or hate it story. But regardless of what your opinion might be after reading it, this masterpiece should definitely be given a chance. I'll be constantly refreshing my reviews for this piece.

Review check:
Edited - 68 (31/12/16)
- 92 (9/1/17) <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pandicorn
pandicorn
The Stone of Days
June 13, 2017
Status: c10
Quite early but I really enjoyed the first 10 chaps. The MC is cheeky and so far all the side characters seem to have a personality. Not much is revealed yet of the plot or the world but the character interactions will keep you enetertained for now. Mom ftw... : D
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pandicorn
pandicorn rated it
Everyone Else is a Returnee
October 18, 2016
Status: c35
I honestly didn't enjoy it as much as I thought I would. The story though had a very interesting new concept wasn't given the proper balance between the direction the story wanted to go. It felt like the author just decided on what the MC would do that morning and fleshed it out in the story in the evening.

Pro's
- New concept

- I liked the author's reasoning for him to be OP but I thought the premise wasn't well used due to the simplistic power up system.

- A... more>> good translator

Con's
- Japanese MC, a bit of an airhead for me.

- No suspense factor, imo one of the main selling points of post-apocalyptic stories would be the mystery and suspense transitioning from a world of humanity to this savage environment accompanied by the mystery of what will happen next and finding out who screwed them up so bad. And though the story didn't follow that route, it didn't provide any sinkers and hooks to replace it.

- A bit of dessicated humor. The puns might be funnier in Korean but I didn't really get it. References feels forced as well.

All in all, it has that light hearted vrmmorpg novel feel actually. Its like somebody placed vrmmorpg, post apocalypse, Korean and Japanese MC's into a blender that that's what you get out of it. But overall, 4/5 would recommend to read because its not bad just not exceptional and its quite early on. I'll update the review once it reaches 100 <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pandicorn
pandicorn rated it
The First Hunter
February 7, 2017
Status: --
An above average post apocalypse story. The MC is a retired soldier drawn into a strange sudden apocalypse and thus starts killing monsters and recruiting people to form a clan of hunters. Characters are average and the story is relatively simple as of now. The MC is a highly functioning sociopath. Somebody not easily influenced by emotions yet not that heartless either. Overall, a good read. Try it out.

6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pandicorn
pandicorn rated it
King Shura
January 1, 2017
Status: c108
One of th emost under rated novels here. I'm gonna keep this short. There really is no novel that explains and uses formations like this. The character and premises are wonderful. The translator is awesome and I read ensj's review of it myself and I guess rn, there's very few KN being translated that's similar to this. Most of the KN we have here are post apocalypse. This is a breath of fresh air.

4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pandicorn
hakim.rz16
Terror Infinity
March 1, 2016
Status: --
Yall have to read this. I got "turned off" (lol) by this novel for quite some time bcoz I alredy read the uncomplete manga and tho yes you shld never judge the novel based on its adaptation. I did. So I got bored and decided to give this a try and oh my gawd ahsbeixjwhdidnwbduwn it was so good. I felt my brain orgasm from the story. Must read for everybody
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pandicorn
pandicorn rated it
Spirit Realm
November 5, 2016
Status: c95
Nope. I just can't. Gave it a try but it's just your typical xianxia. Usual tropes with mediocre excecution. Side characters though get more screen time, are still 1D. Apparently, almost everybody in the world likes to either praise or disdain the MC.
... more>>
Spoiler

what killed it for me was when they had the last fight with the soul devouring beast and the appariton came out of gao yu and everybody else started dissing the MC. Like wadafaq. You're potentially dying here and you still have the mentality to show disdain. If it was a one time thing, I could've let it go but its recurring soo yeah.

[collapse]

The cultivation is quite well off. Very clear and detailed inscription methods as well. All in all 3/5 (ignore the stars. I pressed wrongly, hehe) for a generic xianxia. If you can get by the forced parts then its readable I guess. Its good points just barely balances off its bad points providing the reader a paltry read suitable for those with nothing on thwir reading list.

<<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pandicorn
hakim.rz16 rated it
God and Devil World
July 21, 2016
Status: c200
People recommended this novel to me and I tried reading it I really did. But the sexism/bad humanity crap is just killing it. Very little foreshadowing. It's so forced I feel sorry for the characters. The girls are basically whores and so 1D. It started out decent but quickly deteriorated when they came to the villa house. Overall. Would not recommend this novel to anyone. If u want a post-apocalypse novel. Better off reading change:new world on RRL
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pandicorn
hakim.rz16 rated it
The King’s Avatar
July 30, 2016
Status: --
A really good VR novel. IMO, its even better than LMS. The MC is really calm and smart. He really resembles the old sages showing maturity. Whenever somebody challenges him. He reacts in the most optimal way. Characters have their own personality. Everybody can think and its not an MC living in a 1D world scene. Theres a bit of political interactions, love, underdogs rising and of course conning the hell out of people. All in all, the most satisfying read ive had in quite some time.

2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pandicorn
hakim.rz16
Coiling Dragon
April 12, 2016
Status: --
Most of the people here gave high reviews coz its their first novel. Lol. I guess bcoz of he-man n RWX. A lot of ppls first xianxia is CD n tho that's good. I personally thought that CD was a bit hyped. I mean IET's novel always have a certain quality they mantain (i. E world building, powerups, conflict). I liked how there's no offend a clan n destroy n rinse n repeat. U see a lot more going on. Wars. Well mainly wars. Overall. A good book to start... more>> your journey <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pandicorn
hakim.rz16
Imperial God Emperor
March 22, 2016
Status: --
I picked it up coz I had nothing to read and it was already 138 chapters in. The Xianxia meter is above 90000+ in this one. And though there’s some bad parts. The story improves overall in the later chapters. IMO, its a well done PMG. In pmg/mga, the MC kills people most of the times for no valid reason. However, Kudos to the author for making the villians (though still 1d) super bloody annoying to the point that you would want to strangle them yourself. And you get this... more>> satisfaction when MC actually kills them.

(Though he should really kill that crazy, bitchy childhood friend)

MC likes to bitchslap ppl. Thats quite refreshing and I like how the MC doesn't like to partake in conflicts.

Anyway, I was pleasantly suprised reading this. Aran did a lovely job translating and I would rate it 4/5 at ch. 138.

<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pandicorn
hakim.rz16
True Martial World
March 10, 2016
Status: --
Its really good. The plot follows the typical xianxia trope but its damn well done. Author is really good in building excitement in the chapters. Characters are well developed (not all antagonists are cruel evil villians.). MC is just loveable. Overall, its a really good read. One brick to rule them all
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
pandicorn
hakim.rz16
True Martial World
January 26, 2016
Status: --
I don’t normally post reviews but this was just too good. I’m addicted. It is slow paced but the author is very good in his world building. There’s no information dumps, and the characters are at least smarter than most xianxia/xuanhua characters. I rarely laugh when I read WN coz most of comedy is dry but this WN made me laugh my ass off. Especially at the later chapters. Its on par with CD, ISSH and all that. Definitely worth it.

I liked how zhou kuI was able to... more>> reconcile with yI yun. That at least shows that the characters can think abd dont just blindly follow the typical thug stereotype.

<<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report