Report Review
Report Reason:
14 Reviews


novelbrah
novelbrah rated it
World Defying Dan God
September 13, 2016
Status: --
Very badly written. Author is targeting 10 year old kids I think. Dialogue is extremely childish and redundant. Half the chapter is author regurgitating useless information and re-explaining things that he already explained last chapter. This continues every chapter.

For example... I'll write something myself that copies the author's style:

["I will win this fight!"

Chen Xiang declared he would win the fight. Everybody understood his words. Why else would he declare such a thing if he had not recently surpassed the 9th realm. If this was before when he was at... more>> the 8th realm, he would never have done this. But now that he is in the 9th, he dares to do so.]

Ok, it sounds a little similar to that. Now multiply that by 10000. Every damn chapter.

I just skip 75% of each chapter and move on. Everything else is just typical rubbish and completely useless. Only read if you're bored. And by bored, I mean stuck in a deserted island with your phone and only this novel downloaded bored. <<less
41 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novelbrah
novelbrah rated it
Soaring the Heavens
January 1, 2017
Status: --
If you like Er Gen's stories, then this is a must read!! All the bad ratings are from the previously translated version that was not good.

What a great surprise! Was not expecting such an interesting story and fleshed out characters. Nothing less expected from Qidian (publisher).

First thing I do before deciding whether to read a novel or not, is check for publisher. Qidian is always my preferred one. They have the most quality novels out of all publishers that I've seen from personal experience. Then I check the... more>> group translating as this is always important. Lastly I might check the author and read the description.

On to the novel! I love adventure and this novel delivers. Most of the novels on this site are MMORPG/RPG leveling self fulfillment stories disguised as cultivation novels - not much plot, no character development or real writing. I won't reveal anything, but the MC is dropped into an adventure right from chapter 1 and has a goal in mind for his siblings. Cultivation at this point isn't even mentioned except in passing which I love as it keeps everything mysterious. Why would you reveal everything in the first chapter? Basic storytelling guys. Hell, even the random outlaw he meets has more development than some main characters from other novels.

In all, the author is really good, the translator is incredible, and the story is well thought out. I'd give it a 4 or 4.5 if I could but to offset the really horrible 1 star ratings, I will give it a 5. I seem to be doing this a lot as ratings on NU are really messed up. <<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novelbrah
novelbrah rated it
The Trembling World
October 27, 2016
Status: c131
What is up with all the bad reviews? Do yourself a favor and KEEP READING. Don't listen to these idealistic reviews.

Definitely deserves a lot better!! People are forgetting that MC has been a recluse without arms/legs for 1 YEAR and been living alone as a social outcast in a mansion up in the middle of nowhere. He has forgotten how to communicate with people.

When you read that, you understand WHY he's such an asshole. Would you even want to live without arms and legs if it happened to you?... more>> You can attribute his bad manners to that. Not everyone has to fit your fake utopia personality, where you save every single person without caring about your life. THIS IS REALITY. Most of the readers would watch from afar if zombies started killing their friends. Let's be serious here.

Yea he is an asshole at certain parts but I stuck with the novel and it's good especially if you like the Zombie genre. He gets better at least, and the story goes on.

I gave it a 5 to offset the horrible, unwarranted 1 stars. I seem to do that a lot on this site. I mean, when you have trash novels with 4-5 stars and The Trembling World is a 3.4?! Please... <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novelbrah
novelbrah rated it
Seoul Station’s Necromancer
October 7, 2016
Status: c35
Actually interesting. People shouldn't take everything so seriously though. There's a lot of Korean humor in here but one reviewer actually took it personally that MC forced his way into some kid's home.

If you have read Korean novels/comics and watched shows/movies then you'll understand what I mean.

Besides that, it's nothing ORIGINAL but what is anymore? Still manages to keep you entertained and that is the sole purpose of these novels, no?

PS It's not Shakespeare but I prefer this better anyway
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novelbrah
novelbrah rated it
A Will Eternal
July 21, 2016
Status: --
Incredible. I caught up to the translated chapters and the novel really starts taking off once he accepts his first real mission. That's all I will reveal, but the beginning really builds up the characters so stick with it! The first few chapters start out weak, and I was a bit disappointed, but eventually it all works out very well.

This isn't a novel where every character is 100% fleshed out and the story makes perfect sense, but in terms of Xianxia/Wuxia/Light Novels? It is the best I've seen when it... more>> comes to world building and character development. Maybe I'm just a frog in the well, but so far, Er Gen has shown himself to be at the pinnacle. No other author even comes close!

Only negative is having to wait for new releases after reading up to a huge climax.

I must add that Er Gen knows how to make escapes/pursuits interesting. I've never been on the edge of my seat reading any type of online novel like this. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novelbrah
novelbrah rated it
Dragon-Marked War God
August 17, 2016
Status: c205
Hmm, it only gets worse?

I don't know what the reviews saying it only gets better are talking about. There is no story here and all characters are 1-dimensional.

It's just a powerup story. I'd say Martial God Asura is a better novel than this.

... more>> If you're bored, then definitely read it. I skimmed most chapters. You can skip a lot of descriptions since they're repeated every single chapter. Dialogue is always the same.

The only things that change in this webnovel are the villains and territories. Oh and cultivation levels. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novelbrah
novelbrah rated it
A Record of a Mortal’s Journey to Immortality
July 14, 2016
Status: c149
WOW

Most of the people complaining about the story being slow probably don't read actual literature. This isn't some Martial God Asura clone or whatever... There's an actual story and it has no senseless fighting. I'm more interested about what the MC will do than seeing ridiculous fights with comments from onlookers.

Someone said that if you like I Shall Seal The Heavens, then you'll like this one, and I completely agree. Although, I do like A Record's plot a lot more than ISSTH's.

If you're the kind that likes fast... more>> paced action that repeats itself, then this isn't for you. If you read fantasy books with actual plots, you might enjoy this one. Clearly it isn't a work of art, but compared to the rest of the novels here? I think it's top of the line.

EDIT*********** 3.5/5 NOW

WTF happened? After the first arc, it feels like the author got lazy. I need to wait a bit more to truly make a final decision. Hope it picks up soon. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novelbrah
novelbrah rated it
Warlock of the Magus World
September 19, 2016
Status: --
I find it funny that people are giving bad reviews to this novel when dumb, childish novels get inherently better ratings. I also find it funny that people try to use "reason" and "science" to review this novel, but don't do the same for other wuxia/xianxia? Hypocritical.

Ignore them. If you are a fan of dark, gritty stories, then I'd give this a try. It's well translated and one of the only novels I actually like reading in its entirety. Most other novels I find myself skimping chapters because of... more>> the boring/overused descriptions.

No it's not your typical teenage story about being bullied then becoming a genius through a fortuitous chance while everyone showers you with compliments and enemies come out of nowhere just because...

Reasons you might avoid this novel: low attention span, low maturity level, don't read fantasy novels.

If you possess none of those, then give it a try.

UPDATE:

Translations were a lot better in the beginning and so was the writing. Things fall off after a hundred chapters or so. Pity. All that logic the author tried to use and build up in the beginning and he ends up ignoring it after.

4/5 but still interesting to read <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novelbrah
novelbrah rated it
Martial Peak
September 24, 2016
Status: --
For some reason, I have a soft spot for this novel. One of the first dozen or so novels I started reading over a year ago. I enjoyed the MC and his struggle for survival and then the imminent rise in strength. Again, nothing extremely new and exciting, but the author somehow manages to make it interesting. Give it a try, and drop it if you don't like it. Simple! There are a LOT worse novels out there.

Personally, I like the journey not the destination.

Unfortunately, even after a... more>> year, the translators are up to chapter 121 which is a damn shame. One of the reasons this novel isn't popular. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novelbrah
novelbrah rated it
King of Myriad Domain
September 10, 2016
Status: c95
I'm not far into the novel, and I will update the review later on as I read more, but so far it's actually quite captivating.

I have to first give major props to the translators and editors because they have done an incredible job. Really done well!

As far as the story goes, it doesn't focus on the MC as of yet, but I love it like this. It slowly builds up some surrounding characters and the story. I realize that the majority of people reading these online novels are... more>> young, impatient and want instant gratification hence the bad reviews, but if you enjoy character building, you will like this. It slowly builds up.

I hate cardboard characters, so I like the approach so far. Will update later.

Also, the one thing that most authors of these online novels fail to create (besides fleshed out characters/villains), is world building. It's still early, but I hope it works out in that regard as well.

UPDATED REVIEW

The biggest problem with this novel is that the author repeats stuff so much. We know that authors get paid more the lengthier their chapters are, so this diminishes the quality. I have to skip a lot of regurgitated sentences. It's really such a shame because underneath the typical bloated Chinese novel, there's a really good story with decent characters and an interesting MC. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novelbrah
novelbrah rated it
Path to Heaven
August 6, 2016
Status: c77
Stick with it. The protagonist starts out fairly annoying but he becomes tolerable later on.

The fantasy/xianxia/rpg combo works very well here. Thoroughly enjoying it so far, and I suggest you stick with it till at least the 30s.

His stingyness is funny at times too.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novelbrah
novelbrah rated it
Masked Knight
March 20, 2017
Status: c26
Unwarranted hate. Don't understand all the low scores as it's not that bad. Maybe the novel is a 3.5 but that doesn't mean it's bad. I think the reason for this is the stable scene with Nicole (you will know when you read it). If you get past that it does get better but it's slow paced and there are only 26 chapters out right now.

Unfortunately I have to balance the score.

1 star = awful
2 stars = didn't like it
3 stars = ok
4 stars = good... more>> /> 5 stars = incredible

The main character does something an inexperienced teenager that doesn't talk to females would do (kind of). This just means that there can be lots of character development since he isn't that likeable in the beginning.

As for story, it reads like a young adult fantasy novel. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novelbrah
novelbrah rated it
The Lame Daoist Priest
March 10, 2017
Status: --
Another hidden gem! I am glad I found this novel but it isn't for everybody.

This novel is like a Chinese version of the Dresden Files if you've heard of that series before. Obviously the translator/editor aren't pros, but it's good enough and there's lots of entertainment.

There is cultivation but it's not the focus. This story focuses more on events and development.

Highly recommend reading up til chapter chapter 25 at least. Really good arc starts around there. You have nothing to lose.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
novelbrah
novelbrah rated it
Tales of the Reincarnated Lord
December 14, 2016
Status: c99
What a joy it has been reading this novel. I won't lie and tell you that the first 30 chapters are rough. Too much info dump, BUT, the story really shines after that. I knew from reading some reviews that I just needed to go through the initial grind to reach the sweet end, and they were right.

ALL the characters have life and personality. This is a masterpiece as far as web novels go. I am not surprised that it's published under Qidian as they have QUALITY novels.

... more>> I highly suggest reading this! Sooner or later, this novel will become really popular and I guarantee it. Right now it's kind of a hidden gem.

PS Being a noble back in the day brought a lot more advantages and privileges than just being rich... If you've read the first 30 chapters you'll understand why I say this. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report