Report Review
Report Reason:
13 Reviews


marchex
marchex rated it
Tales of the Reincarnated Lord
September 21, 2016
Status: --
The fact that the mc is older at the age of 24, gave this novel the maturity other novels of the same ilk, lack. The tales are entertaining and different. This is highly recommended, I can't wait to read more.
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
marchex
marchex rated it
Emperor’s Domination
September 8, 2016
Status: --
If you're tired of mc's addicted to pills and cultivating in caves for years to get stronger and takes a hundred chapters before kicking ass. Then this story is for you. Due to the mc being millions of years old. When he regained his original body, he knew all the tricks to be op and kill his enemies. No boring monologue before the action starts. This is not a deep novel, but you can just relax and enjoy it for what it is. The arrogance of the mc is... more>> a big part of his charm. The translation is very good too. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
marchex
marchex rated it
Seoul Station’s Necromancer
August 30, 2016
Status: c17
Good start. I like the mc's personality. Seems well suited to his ability as a necromancer. Not a psycho who likes to kill but uses the right amount of intimidation to get what he wants. So far all he'd killed are Player Killers themselves.

He has a family, a mother and a sister. They are important to him. And doesn't forget them.
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
marchex
marchex rated it
Post-’80s Cultivation Journal
September 21, 2016
Status: c4
I really like the previous novel by the author My Daoist Life. This one seems to be just as good. Reading about the rural life in China in the 80s and adding martial arts cultivation is a bit surreal but it just works. It has the feel of magic realism that I usually only find in western novels or Japanese novels like Demon Child by Fuyumi Ono.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
marchex
marchex rated it
Heavenly Jewel Change
November 9, 2016
Status: v14c116 part1
This was a very good read, very different from loner mc who cultivate in silence and drinks pill in order to get stronger. This guy has some good to great EQ. Making him have great relationship with other people and make the harem seem believable. Although, the harem is the only major complaint I have as I'm not a fan of girls leaving him just because new girls need their time to shine.

What makes this novel quite good is the battle scenes. The author knows how to write fight... more>> scenes, not just the flashy super powered, light shows that most xianxia author does. There is motion, action, tactics, thinking, weight, that the author does so well.
The power progression too is not boring.

I wish the translation can be faster tho, as it's really a very enjoyable read. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
marchex
marchex rated it
History’s Number 1 Founder
September 15, 2016
Status: c101
The early chapters took a bit of time to get used to. They were still entertaining but the fact that the author is using characters, setting and plot from other xianxia novel was jarring. Thankfully, there are little variations. This could be classified as a multiple xianxia crossover novel, but is very well written and has its own charm.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
marchex
marchex rated it
Shrouding the Heavens
August 29, 2016
Status: --
I really like this mc's personality. No nonsense and very decisive decision making capability. When he wants his enemy dead, then that person is dead immediately. The way the author writes the action is immensely satisfying. This really is a gem.

Important: Don't bother reading the earliest translation, they are unreadable and gives disservice to this great novel. Instead, read the excellent translation from faktranslation.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
marchex
marchex rated it
Ascendance of a Bookworm
September 23, 2016
Status: c29
As a bookworm myself I can see myself on the mc. And it's not a pleasant thing to see. The selfishness, the disregard for everything just to read your books... She's not a nice person. But in this story we get to see her grow up. As she interacts with people in order to fulfill her wish. She becomes someone the people around her admires. She even accidentally inspires loyalty. This story gets better and better. I hope to read more.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
marchex
marchex rated it
Spirit Vessel
September 8, 2016
Status: --
The girls bullying the mc is off putting to say the least. But I like how the focused of this story is not in cultivating for months, even years inside a cave, popping pills. Instead we have an mc who gets himself in situations that makes the story entertaining and fun to read. The translation is very good too and makes it easy to read.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
marchex
marchex rated it
Legend of the Cultivation God
August 26, 2016
Status: c154
I like how this is being written in no hurry. It's developing the world and people around the mc organically. Some reviewers are right that this seems to be written like a western novel. I'm happy to read this, it's quite refreshing . I haven't read much but it's showing signs of brilliance.

Update: I was not disappointed.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
marchex
marchex rated it
Realms In The Firmament
September 12, 2016
Status: c145
Just the right mix of comedy, action, drama and politicking. Never a boring moment. The translation is fantastic, a pleasure to read.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
marchex
marchex rated it
Dominion’s End
September 15, 2016
Status: v2c4
This is a decent apocalyptic story. I like the mc. I like how he thinks. One thing that pissed me ofc was at first his older brother was portrayed to be a clever guy, but the decision he made in the last chapter was so stupid. That decision could cause them all to die. As a guy with a job he had, he should have made a better decision.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
marchex
marchex rated it
In Different World with Naruto System
September 14, 2016
Status: --
It's akin to the numerous gaming fic that are popular nowadays. A guy is transported in a xianxia world wherein he possessed the naruto gaming system. He needs points to acquire skills. The first chapter was rough, snd the constant "I, your father..." quips were a tad annoying. Nevertheless, it was enjoyable reading about the mc using the various op skills in Naruto in this kind of xianxia setting. The fights are enjoyable. This is not a deep reading, but a fun romp if your a fan of both.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report