Report Review
Report Reason:
12 Reviews


josh1002
josh1002 rated it
Sevens
May 7, 2016
Status: --
Honestly a 4.5 (Rounded up to 5 cuz "mr. lyle~)

This is more a response of Lebrew's review though.

First off:
>I get it, the main character is supposed to be an anti-hero
What? Lyle is so far removed from the trope of being "anti-hero", I don't even know where to start with that. Hell, in the very beginning, we see Lyle cry his eyes out after his family disowns him and kicks him out of the house.

> If the author had just toned it down a slight bit
Toned down... more>> what!? In chapter 10, it's the first time Lyle and his party encounter monsters for crying out loud and he uses only 1 skill. He killed most of them but not all. I REALLY don't get what you're complaining about, and quite frankly all the things you've listed are just buzz words.

Real review though:
Lyle's people skill is shit. I'll say it plain as day. He's not a coward or anything, but in the 15 years of his life, the last 5 of those was spent into basically being hated by his whole house and even his parents. So from that angle, its understandable that Lyle's ability to communicate to other is understandable.

Also, the phenomenon "mr. lyle" balances this out. Where Lyle is afraid addressing the elephant in the room, "mr. lyle" doesn't care and does it with a huge smile on his face. It's actually a good character device as it balances out his character. As the story goes along, Lyle's character also begins to change and goes closer to "mr. lyle", though still with restraints.

Most of the other characters are also given a lot of air time, making the pace feel a bit slow. However, the character interactions should keep you well entertained as they are often quite funny. <<less
94 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
josh1002
Yato what are you doing here!?

Are you going to be a god of Calamity again!?!

---

... more>> The story is set up as a typical "Transported to another world" story with a twist. The MC starts of as a god!

Keika being a "failed" God in the modern world is no idiot so you won't see any "dense" with him or being a complete nincompoop!

However, as of Ch. 5, there might not be any intercourse with the MC and the heroines of the story as Virgin Females give him a + boost in stats, but who knows? Maybe he'll start having so many follower it won't matter and start making little demigod babies everywhere. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
josh1002
josh1002 rated it
Transcending the Nine Heavens
September 11, 2016
Status: c20
If you squint, and skip PARAGRAPHS of useless text describing Heaven's gigantic posterior and Earth's shaggy testicles in miNUTE detail, you might see the story.

It has the problems of most Xianxia. Keeps info dumping where there shouldn't be one and repeating something endlessly until you want to puke blood.

Premise still seems interesting so I'm still willing to soldier on. However, I still pray to the translation gods that someone out there translate the story to make it more "western" friendly but still keep its original eastern vibe.

... more>> ---

Update
As of 20 I'm dropping this. If you haven't, I suggest you reread what little you've read and see the glaring mistakes there is. It was starting to look up but then quickly came crashing down again.

Writing style just keeps getting worse. Info dumps keep popping out. The flow is not smooth. A "quick" action scene takes PARAGRAPHS and you'll feel too much time has passed from the "quick" action. Not to mention the endless repetition to "bloat" each chapter needlessly. Right there should tell you the author doesn't have an actual clue as to how to write a good, interesting, and lengthy novel.

Then the characters. Ugh.
Yes, the villains are as stupid and arrogant like all other Xianxia. Then let's get to the MCs master. At first, he tells MC not to harbor such intent to kill, but then allows another of his discipline to scheme to KILL the MC and put blame on the MC's friend. Such a blatant double standard just brought my reading to a complete halt.

After that, I'm looking at all the characters the author has written and I can safely say they're all terribly written. I'm willing to bet money the love interest of the MC will also come out to be terribly written and that's the main reason why I decided give this a try.

This just reads like some self inset story written like some fanfic!

F**k, I've read BETTER fanfiction than this!

Certainly not the worst I've read, but I'm most likely not touching the authors other works. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
josh1002
If you're focusing on the "Other Worldly Agent/Assassin" part for the MC, I suggest you stop reading.

The MC WAS one, but left that behind and became a teacher for YOUNGER Agents/Assassins.

So while you'll see the MC knows about the ways of the underworld and black market, don't expect him to make use of it all the time as he being reincarnated wants to do things righteously.

... more>> Characters:
The MC is great. 10/10 benevolent with tons of experience whether be it cooking, fighting, martial arts, etc.

The main selling point though, is that he is willing to teach others be OP so long as they are people of good character. This is what the story is all about. The MC touching people's hearts and have some of them follow him as his disciples and will go about on a journey.

The other characters are pretty great too and is given quite a lot of growth while they're with the MC. You'll soon find yourself endeared to their devotion of wanting to be better than who they are.

Plot:
Not much at the moment. Currently, it's all more about the disciples growth, so no demon invasions or world ending catastrophe yet.

Art:
20/10 artist. The art style really great for the characters.

Should I expect lolis?
Nope. Sirius is a boob man. That is to say, a man after my own heart. A man I can really get behind. He's not a pervert, but knows when to appreciate such divine beauty.

Final score = 4.4
I gave it a 5 because some people write unjust reviews, crying out that Sirius isn't being "active" enough when:

Spoiler

He's been shown to kill anyone that recklessly tries to target him. If they try to hurt his disciples, God have mercy on their soul for their is nothing but death for them.

[collapse]

I will keep hammering this point. Sirius is not actively wanting to out attention on him as it could be dangerous. He's OP, but he can't fight an army and he has people he cares about and wouldn't put them in danger. He's quite satisfied being at the back and letting his disciples gain recognition. He'll gain recognition behind close doors with influential people, but don't expect everyone in the street to be praising his name and worshipping him. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
josh1002
josh1002 rated it
Akuyaku Reijo Ni Koi Wo Shite
July 4, 2017
Status: --
God, this thing is just so damn great.

If you're looking for a LN that shamelessly trying to promote Japanese cuisine by making people addicted to it, you might as well stop now because this LN isn't taking itself as some sloppy Copy+Paste joke like all the other LNs(sans Amber Sword, and My death flag)

I'll begin with what people keep misunderstanding the most; The Characters.

Now, the MC is named Ryou/Rion/Flay. The reason for why he has three names is because of previous incarnation and the body he now inhabits which belongs... more>> to Flay.

However, due to Ryou's personality, he has accepted his death and does not wish to push his body's original persona out, tries to coax him to take control.

Flay appreciates this and comes to rely on Ryou as Ryou seems much more knowledgeable (being from another world.)

However, the situation in which the both of them are thrusted is quite complicated for Flay, resulting in both personalities not really wanting to assume direct control of the body.

Thus, Rion is born, making the body solely his while still having fragments of both Ryou and Flay's personality.

However, the situation he finds himself in is still quite difficult. Resulting in him being "broken" in some way, believing himself merely as a "tool" for the betterment of his masters' life style.

Now I don't mean he's a push over or whatever. He genuinely tries to make the lives of his masters' easier, because... Well... They're the only ones that don't look down on his "condition".

So, some people would describe Rion as dense. In fact, one of the characters even describe him as so, but this is understandable, considering his personality and, seeing as the main love interest is one of his masters', makes him believe he's not worthy of her. Heck, she's destined to marry the crown prince, making her future prospect be the Queen of a country. That's a serious step-by-step to marrying some bloke that came from the slums, is dichromatic, and has a serious case of multiple personality disorder.

So Rion, being ever loyal, will do anything, and I mean anything, for his masters'. Even contemplating on assassinating the storys' protagonist.

Next up, is Ariel! The Main love interest and seriously the best female character I've seen by far!

Now Ariel is destined to be the main villanesse. Heck, when she was first introduced, you could easily picture her to be some spoiled brat that only gets her way.

However, with the MC being her valet, her personality changes for the better.

While she's still quite willful, wanting to get her way, her way isn't wrong.

She prides herself in being a noble. Not that she believes herself to be "better" than commoners. Simply that she should BE Noble and honourable, as thats the situation she was born and she'd gladly take up the responsibility. Even so much as giving up her love(Rion) so that she could be a good fiance to the Crown Prince. Luckily, this plot doesn't go too far, and she's thoroughly enamoured by Rion now, she'd openly defy the prince if he ever so much as disrespects Rion.

Then there's the plot! Holy shit, this thing HAS NO BRAKES!

Each damn chapter has some progress going on. And the author just keeps dropping plot bombs casually before explaining it and it just makes you want to read more! God the writing is insane! It's just a shame it's so short! <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
josh1002
josh1002 rated it
Tales of Demons and Gods
September 7, 2016
Status: --
Terrific start.

But then it all kept going downhill once he got to the "City Lord's" mansion.

It's just... All the characters start turning into cookie cutter people EXCEPT for one girl. I forgot her name, but she fell in love with the MC pretty early on, and was willing to sacrifice a shit load of things and even turn her back on her family for the MC, but the MC is being retarded and kept pinning for the "main" girl that saved his life in his past life, but she's such... more>> a fucking terrible character that I can't see WHY you would choose her.

Oh life debt? The other girl saved the MC's life too at some point and he STILL pinning for the main girl. Fuck that. No, fuck you MC. I don't care if it's a harem. It tooj too LONG for you to even recognize the other girl.

Yes, my main complaint is the romance.

The great thing about this in the beginning was he was making his friends strong too.

But then the author completely chucked that out of the story and then just focused on making the MC op again and it just turns into endless MC dick wanking for his power level.

What I thought would be all about saving the city for the sake of noble things like love and friendship just turns into lust for "main" girl, endless power, and revenge against the guy that killed him in the first place.

Nah man, forget my friends and people who actually care about me! I just want to fuck girl Numéro Uno and beat the crap out of everyone else! <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
josh1002
Muu. I want to make a review but not on the story itself.

Story is fine. It's funny like most "turned into villainess" WNs.

My only complaint is the translator. Well, the update rate is pretty abysmalbut IRL circumstances can't be helped.

... more>> My problem is the word choices and sentence structure. Often times, the translator is using words like: hereto, hayseed, fracas.

These words are pretty archaic, and you'd see them in ye-olde-english. Normally, they'd be fine on their own, but some sentence structure makes the words itself hard to decipher.

Add on that this could proceed for paragraphs that parts of the story fly over my head.

Add to that, that most WN/LN translators don't ever bother to try and write who ever said which sentence. You know what I'm talking about right? Conversation that go like this:

“W-well, you see, the cafeteria! The cafeteria is still open, so I thought rather than buying a drink it’d better to have a tea after your conversation end!”

“………….It’s simply unbelievable, but I’ll buy your lie.”

“I’ve prepared Black Tea and cakes. After all, today is a celebration!”

“Celebration? If you’re referring to Patrick and Alicia’s engagement isn’t it too soon?”

See? If there were like 3 people in that conversation, you wouldn't know who was speaking what.

I'm not sure if the TL is literally translating archaic words, or if she is just being creative in her writing, which is if the case, she should just go all the way in writing Western Literature, saying who said what.

HOWEVER The TL isn't all that unreadable. You probably just need to reread a few paragraphs of the story to make heads or tails of things, especially to deep conversation you'll sometimes find in this story.

I'm still going to read the story, but this is all just my minor pet peeve about reading this story. I by no means wish to discourage the TL. Just that they go about it differently. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
josh1002
josh1002 rated it
Evil God
July 21, 2017
Status: c90
Honestly, it's a 3. I gave it a 5 because I felt some of the reviews were unjust. Like in chapter 3, he apparently forgot he has a trauma on women, making him speak gibberish and his combat abilities fall to nill.

People do hate an MC without a back bone, but I decided to give this guy a chance and read on. And I'm glad I did.

MC isn't a Pansy. He has traumatic experience with women in his past life and that's the gimmick of the whole story.

Is he dense?... more>> Well, yes. But he has had sex with one of the minor characters.

Is he impotent? No, he just has no sexual desire. Of course, it's already been set up that if he falls in love, he can probably get urges.

Is he doing echi, perverted things to the hero party on purpose? No. Most of them are just by accident like always. Heck, you could count the
Spoiler
[collapse]
chapters with those scenes on one hand.

This story has a plot and its comedically moving towards it.

Translation is a bit iffy. Like something a word is missing or has been replaced by something that doesn't fit it at all, but it's still readable.

Overall, the story is okay. Certainly not 5, but not a 1 which half the people rate. It's entertaining and a good read to pass the time. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
josh1002
josh1002 rated it
Dragoon
July 14, 2017
Status: c107
Honestly, for the first 100 chapters, I'd rate this as a 4.5/5. Heck, you could easily persuade me to give it a 5/5.

Our MC is designated as the "villain" noble meant to be used as a stepping stone, quite typical to every other reincarnation novel. However, when Rudel first saw a dragoon knight in the air above his mansion, he starts improving himself. And so, with him trying to change his role from a "villain" to a "dragoon", the World/Fate/Script will do EVERYTHING to try and stop him from going... more>> off tangent and back to his original role.

This results in Rudel being shunned and ridiculed by a lot of people at the beginning. However, as he overcomes challenges and shows his earnest desire to become a "dragoon", everyone around him and the World/Fate/Script slowly begins to change and accept him.

But why am I giving it a 3/5 instead of 4 and up?

It's to do with the later chapters.

As the School Arc ends, Rudel stays as much the same.

Meaning, he's still overly obsessed with his "dragoon" status that he still hasn't shown character growth in any other area.

This is actually a problem with the author. His other work, "Sevens", also showed this problem. This leads to the author having to use the same joke of Rudel being dense to human relationships over, and over, and over, AND OVER, again.  Although, I would admit that Dragoon came out before Sevens was written. Still, it doesn't excuse the poor writing.

Right now, this is a WN and I'm hoping to God above that the author actually tries to make his character experience some growth if he ever decides to write an LN.

Now, with the romance... It's VERY low key. I mean, there is an obvious love interest, but don't expect a lot of chapters dedicated to Best Girl. Heck other girls around Rudel are given more screen time and character growth than Best Girl. It's actually quite depressing as I truly like Izumi as a character and want to see more of her. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
josh1002
josh1002 rated it
Shinwa Densetsu no Eiyuu no Isekaitan
July 22, 2017
Status: c19
It takes 14 chapters before the MC actually starts killing anything.

That's not the biggest problem though.

The story feels disjointed. Or perhaps the transition of events just really freakin suck that makes the story confusing.

... more>> The story is trying to focus on far too many POVs from far too early in the story. You're not really grounded with the MC yet, before you're then take to Mar's POV, and then Sir Dios, and briefly this Elf priestess that apparently knows him when he came before as the hero.

Alsi, there's this "Mystery" to the story. It has to do with the MC MAYBE has a split personality? It's not clear. So, again, it feels really disjointed and is just quite a bit frustrating to read. It's just really annoying as you don't really know how things got where, and in what direction things would go in the future.

Also, ATM, the MC is just going with the flow and that's a terrible protagonist for a "former hero".

I'll soldier on, but so far I'm not enjoying it.

-Edit-

-MC doesn't even know what a goblin is.

Yeah.... Nah. Dropped.

The MC has this "Emotionless" mode when going slaughtering.

This might sound bad ass, but actually reading him swinging his arm like as if it was just everyday normal swinging didn't make the slaughter or the curb stomping all that appealing.

The transition and flow of the story is already horrendous and I just can't stomach any more of it. Bleh. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
josh1002
josh1002
Ze Tian Ji
July 15, 2017
Status: c1
Anyone who said the MC is indifferent is a moron and doesn't know what he's talking about.

The MC is on a plot-related count down due to his sickness. Because of that, he doesn't want to spend his enery in getting angry and would rather get shit done, like continue reading more books and finding a cure for his illness. HOWEVER, this doesn't mean he doesn't get angry. In fact, because he got ticked off at the very beginning is why we have a convoluted plot in the first place.

The MC... more>> also believes himself to be "in the right", which he actually is. Because of that, he often times ignores people's warnings or threats. Simply because if he bowed to their will, he feels it wouldn't be "fair". Also, since he thinks he's already gonna die by 20, bowing down to others when you're in the right sounds pretty retarded.

Now when people are saying the plot is SLOW, they are not joking. Currently, I'm on like 50 something chapter where shit is going to go down, dragging in the royalty and ambassadors into the whole mess. I started skimming because I wanted to find out what happened and what MC is going to do, and holy shit, it took 20+ chapters for that.

If you want an action-packed, moderately paced romance, I don't recommend this. I think the novel itself is great, but the slow pace is an aquired taste. However, the novel does paint a better, clearer, and more complete picture of the scene and cast, very much atypical to most XiaXiang novel which is just a "who has the bigger dick" contest like TDG or ATG or whatever CAN crap that's popular nowadays. (Seriously, who LIKES reading cultivation training!? I'm never gonna use that and it sure as HELL isn't entertaining to read.) <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
josh1002
Update:
Finished V2 and raised the score to 3.5 rounded up to 4

MC grows half a pair, but is still mostly dicking around. However, things are starting to play in the background which should force his hand soon. Hopefully, the story and plot becomes more interesting and raise this LN to an actual 4 than a 3.5

Still, the first volume is slow world building and MC is quite a sissy.

... more>> He gets slightly better with V2 so hopefully by V3 he looks like the hardcore badass on the cover.

P.S.
Angela best girl!

=========

Just finished volume 1. As of now, it's so-so. I'm being harsh, but the story is carried only by the MC. Nothing else in the story makes it a "must read" as you'll read everything else in anoyher LN.

People are praising it for the MC because he does "reasonable things".

However, the MC, at times, lacks spine. Like he got a surprise quest from God, that would award him Skill Points if he healed people with all his strength? You know what he did? He pressed "NO", declining the quest and then proceeded to heal everyone he could anyway!

Anyway, perhaps later on the MC will grow some balls and actually want to go out hunting bigger monsters. He did help kill a dragon but that was because it was a surprise and he was more if tagalong. After killing the dragon, he resolved not to go on such dangerous quest.

It's reasonable, however, he got invited by a veteran party that has killed multiple dragons already and he just said no.

Fine, don't go look for danger, but at the very least don't do retarded shit like refusing skill points for something you're going to do anyway.

As of yet, I haven't seen character growth so that's also a negative since the MCs character is critical to the story.

As it is, I'm FORCING myself to go and read the next chapter but in all honesty, I'd drop this in favor of other LNs with better MCs. But hey! At least this is better than XiangXia MCs screaming uncle and fighting who has the bigger dick, so it's got that going for it, which is nice. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report