Report Review
Report Reason:
16 Reviews


josh1002
josh1002 rated it
Sevens
May 7, 2016
Status: --
Honestly a 4. 5 (Rounded up to 5 cuz "mr. Lyle~)

This is more a response of Lebrew's review though.

First off:
>I get it, the main character is supposed to be an anti-hero
What? Lyle is so far removed from the trope of being "anti-hero", I don't even know where to start with that. Hell, in the very beginning, we see Lyle cry his eyes out after his family disowns him and kicks him out of the house.

> If the author had just toned it down a slight... more>> bit
Toned down what!? In chapter 10, it's the first time Lyle and his party encounter monsters for crying out loud and he uses only 1 skill. He killed most of them but not all. I REALLY don't get what you're complaining about, and quite frankly all the things you've listed are just buzz words.

Real review though:
Lyle's people skill is sh*t. I'll say it plain as day. He's not a coward or anything, but in the 15 years of his life, the last 5 of those was spent into basically being hated by his whole house and even his parents. So from that angle, its understandable that Lyle's ability to communicate to other is understandable.

Also, the phenomenon "mr. Lyle" balances this out. Where Lyle is afraid addressing the elephant in the room, "mr. Lyle" doesn't care and does it with a huge smile on his face. It's actually a good character device as it balances out his character. As the story goes along, Lyle's character also begins to change and goes closer to "mr. Lyle", though still with restraints.

Most of the other characters are also given a lot of air time, making the pace feel a bit slow. However, the character interactions should keep you well entertained as they are often quite funny.

<<less
94 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
josh1002
Yato what are you doing here!?

Are you going to be a god of Calamity again!?!

---

... more>> The story is set up as a typical "Transported to another world" story with a twist. The MC starts of as a god!

Keika being a "failed" God in the modern world is no idiot so you won't see any "dense" with him or being a complete nincompoop!

However, as of Ch. 5, there might not be any intercourse with the MC and the heroines of the story as Virgin Females give him a + boost in stats, but who knows? Maybe he'll start having so many follower it won't matter and start making little demigod babies everywhere.

<<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
josh1002
josh1002 rated it
Transcending the Nine Heavens
September 11, 2016
Status: c20
If you squint, and skip PARAGRAPHS of useless text describing Heaven's gigantic posterior and Earth's shaggy testicles in miNUTE detail, you might see the story.

It has the problems of most Xianxia. Keeps info dumping where there shouldn't be one and repeating something endlessly until you want to puke blood.

Premise still seems interesting so I'm still willing to soldier on. However, I still pray to the translation gods that someone out there translate the story to make it more "western" friendly but still keep its original eastern vibe.

---

Update
As of 20 I'm dropping this. If you haven't, I suggest you reread what little you've read and see the... more>> glaring mistakes there is. It was starting to look up but then quickly came crashing down again.

Writing style just keeps getting worse. Info dumps keep popping out. The flow is not smooth. A "quick" action scene takes PARAGRAPHS and you'll feel too much time has passed from the "quick" action. Not to mention the endless repetition to "bloat" each chapter needlessly. Right there should tell you the author doesn't have an actual clue as to how to write a good, interesting, and lengthy novel.

Then the characters. Ugh.
Yes, the villains are as stupid and arrogant like all other Xianxia. Then let's get to the MCs master. At first, he tells MC not to harbor such intent to kill, but then allows another of his discipline to scheme to KILL the MC and put blame on the MC's friend. Such a blatant double standard just brought my reading to a complete halt.

After that, I'm looking at all the characters the author has written and I can safely say they're all terribly written. I'm willing to bet money the love interest of the MC will also come out to be terribly written and that's the main reason why I decided give this a try.

This just reads like some self inset story written like some fanfic!

F**k, I've read BETTER fanfiction than this!

Certainly not the worst I've read, but I'm most likely not touching the authors other works.

<<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
josh1002
If you're focusing on the "Other Worldly Agent/Assassin" part for the MC, I suggest you stop reading.

The MC WAS one, but left that behind and became a teacher for YOUNGER Agents/Assassins.

So while you'll see the MC knows about the ways of the underworld and black market, don't expect him to make use of it all the time as he being reincarnated wants to do things righteously.

Characters:
The MC is great. 10/10 benevolent with tons of experience whether be it cooking, fighting, martial arts, etc.

The main selling... more>> point though, is that he is willing to teach others be OP so long as they are people of good character. This is what the story is all about. The MC touching people's hearts and have some of them follow him as his disciples and will go about on a journey.

The other characters are pretty great too and is given quite a lot of growth while they're with the MC. You'll soon find yourself endeared to their devotion of wanting to be better than who they are.

Plot:
Not much at the moment. Currently, it's all more about the disciples growth, so no demon invasions or world ending catastrophe yet.

Art:
20/10 artist. The art style really great for the characters.

Should I expect lolis?
Nope. Sirius is a boob man. That is to say, a man after my own heart. A man I can really get behind. He's not a pervert, but knows when to appreciate such divine beauty.

Final score = 4. 4
I gave it a 5 because some people write unjust reviews, crying out that Sirius isn't being "active" enough when:

Spoiler

He's been shown to kill anyone that recklessly tries to target him. If they try to hurt his disciples, God have mercy on their soul for their is nothing but death for them.

[collapse]

I will keep hammering this point. Sirius is not actively wanting to out attention on him as it could be dangerous. He's OP, but he can't fight an army and he has people he cares about and wouldn't put them in danger. He's quite satisfied being at the back and letting his disciples gain recognition. He'll gain recognition behind close doors with influential people, but don't expect everyone in the street to be praising his name and worshipping him.

<<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
josh1002
Ehhhh... Not really gonna rate it, cuz I dislike it's vibe but I'll leave a review nonetheless.

NOTE: If you're into religion, you'll probably not like this LN. This thing loves to bash on god's and religion while advocating science and human advancement. It's not simply about being unable to separate your beliefs from what you read. The author is just very obviously bashing on religion with the meme "religion hinders science and human advancement".

Now that I've put that out of the way...

The story itself isn't... more>> anything stellar and it's pretty fast pace.

I mean, the first girl BARELY gets introduced before we suddenly meet the next girl already! Heck, for that matter we just met the MC's parents before he leaves their village and we'll likely never see them again in the story. I mean, the Author didn't even bother giving them a name other than "mom and dad".

The fast pace, and very simple, typical, and unoriginal setting causes the world building to suffer as well.

I'm actually surprised RAWS are supposed to be 300+ since by chapter 20, the MC is fighting the fire god already.

Since MC is also a god, you can pretty much expect him to be a Gary Stue, even with human relationships apparently.

All in all, it's a very LIGHT novel. Like a Light, Light Novel! Recommend it for casual reading and if you're into religion bashing. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
josh1002
josh1002 rated it
Ze Tian Ji
July 15, 2017
Status: c273
Edit edit:

280 CHAPTERS! THAT'S WHEN MC (who is unconscious!) MEETS HIS FIANCE! HOLY sh*t YOU BETTER HAVE AN OVERABUNDANCE OF FLUFF FROM HERE ON OR THAT ROMANCE TAG IS USELESS!

Edit:

Style Score: -100/5

... more>>
Spoiler

The biggest and weakest point in this story is the writing flow is SHIIIIIITTTTT! Something that should take, at best, a few seconds takes CHAPTERS long. This is just the WORST way to create suspense and I f**king hate you if you write sh*t like that.

[collapse]

Story Score: 4/5

Spoiler

The story has some substance. It's unlike every other XianXia where the objective is something vague like "Get stronger". In ZTJ, the objective of the MC is the same. What makes it acceptable in this WN is that if the MC doesn't get stronger, he'll be killed by his illness. There's also various things happening in the background like the Sects are still moving against the Demon Race, and Black Robe nigger is planning assassinations and sh*t. MC is just the poor f**ker that's caught in the right place at the wrong time.

[collapse]

Character Score: 3/5

Spoiler

Luoluo is the best character, hands down. Too bad she's not the main waifu orz.

[collapse]

Read up to 273. The spoiler contains events and where looooooong battle arcs happen. The following Spoiler is an FYI, but more like a warning where the flow of the story is complete and utter sh*t because there's a sense of danger going on where the MC and co could die, but is taking like 50 chapters long.
Spoiler

MC starts being able to cultivate at 122.

At 144 is the first fight of MC.

Also, it's really not a harem so don't expect Best girl (Lou Lou) to be the waifu.

And if you're looking for Romance, LOL I'm at 175, and the MC hasn't even met his fiancé face-to-face yet, and it doesn't look like it will happen anytime soon.


At around 250 upwards is the "Garden of Zhou" arc, and holy sh*t, this is like the WORSE arc ever. 30 Chapters where the characters are d*cking around while theres a very prominent sense of danger to the MC. The flow is just ruined because the author insist on making it slow! This is worse than f**king Dragon Ball!

The Demon Race have set up a trap trying to kill and MC and his friends. While in an ambush, one of his friends betrays him and he has to use the Black Dragon to call for help. You know what the Black Dragon does?

She doesn't call for help.


And there was this fifth guy, that should be on the same side of MC. MC is surrounded.


He doesn't help either.


His fiancee is currently d*cking around some mountain path and is heading for a trap.


Yeah, she doesn't do the wise thing which is turn around but instead keeps walking right into the trap.


What's happening with the MC? He's drowning in a lake.

[collapse]

It's slow as shiiiiieeeet with a whole heck of filler. The author continually delays events, just like all other CN writers and I HATE them for having such a useless writing culture.

Short battles are honestly okay. The problem is, these battles tend to be a one-stomp-show which is showing the splendor of MC and Co. S' OPness.

Now the problem is the main battles. The big fights where the MC has to prove himself.

Words are incessantly rewritten and it's continually hammering the point that "Oh, it's impossible for the MC to win!" And then BAM MC f**king wins! People are shock! "How the hell did he win!? That was impossible! Isn't he only at Purification/Ethereal Opening/etc/etc/etc. "

The only really great thing about this are the characters. Unlike most CN where villains are idiotic, this one currently doesn't have that problem.

Well, background characters are utter d*ckheads, but side characters are okay.

MC's side kick are pretty great. MC himself isn't anyone stellar that would make me scream like a fangirl just from how cool he is, but he's an alright bloke.

----

Anyone who said the MC is indifferent is a moron and doesn't know what he's talking about.

The MC is on a plot-related count down due to his sickness. Because of that, he doesn't want to spend his enery in getting angry and would rather get sh*t done, like continue reading more books and finding a cure for his illness. HOWEVER, this doesn't mean he doesn't get angry. In fact, because he got ticked off at the very beginning is why we have a convoluted plot in the first place.

The MC also believes himself to be "in the right", which he actually is. Because of that, he often times ignores people's warnings or threats. Simply because if he bowed to their will, he feels it wouldn't be "fair". Also, since he thinks he's already gonna die by 20, bowing down to others when you're in the right sounds pretty retarded.

Now when people are saying the plot is SLOW, they are not joking. Currently, I'm on like 50 something chapter where sh*t is going to go down, dragging in the royalty and ambassadors into the whole mess. I started skimming because I wanted to find out what happened and what MC is going to do, and holy sh*t, it took 20+ chapters for that.

If you want an action-packed, moderately paced romance, I don't recommend this. I think the novel itself is great, but the slow pace is an aquired taste. However, the novel does paint a better, clearer, and more complete picture of the scene and cast, very much atypical to most XiaXiang novel which is just a "who has the bigger d*ck" contest like TDG or ATG or whatever CAN crap that's popular nowadays. (Seriously, who LIKES reading cultivation training!? I'm never gonna use that and it sure as HELL isn't entertaining to read.) <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
josh1002
josh1002 rated it
Dragoon
July 14, 2017
Status: c107
Honestly, for the first 100 chapters, I'd rate this as a 4. 5/5. Heck, you could easily persuade me to give it a 5/5.

Our MC is designated as the "villain" noble meant to be used as a stepping stone, quite typical to every other reincarnation novel. However, when Rudel first saw a dragoon knight in the air above his mansion, he starts improving himself. And so, with him trying to change his role from a "villain" to a "dragoon", the World/Fate/Script will do EVERYTHING to try and stop him... more>> from going off tangent and back to his original role.

This results in Rudel being shunned and ridiculed by a lot of people at the beginning. However, as he overcomes challenges and shows his earnest desire to become a "dragoon", everyone around him and the World/Fate/Script slowly begins to change and accept him.

But why am I giving it a 3/5 instead of 4 and up?

It's to do with the later chapters.

As the School Arc ends, Rudel stays as much the same.

Meaning, he's still overly obsessed with his "dragoon" status that he still hasn't shown character growth in any other area.

This is actually a problem with the author. His other work, "Sevens", also showed this problem. This leads to the author having to use the same joke of Rudel being dense to human relationships over, and over, and over, AND OVER, again. Although, I would admit that Dragoon came out before Sevens was written. Still, it doesn't excuse the poor writing.

Right now, this is a WN and I'm hoping to God above that the author actually tries to make his character experience some growth if he ever decides to write an LN.

Now, with the romance... It's VERY low key. I mean, there is an obvious love interest, but don't expect a lot of chapters dedicated to Best Girl. Heck other girls around Rudel are given more screen time and character growth than Best Girl. It's actually quite depressing as I truly like IzumI as a character and want to see more of her. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
josh1002
josh1002 rated it
Tales of Demons and Gods
September 7, 2016
Status: --
Terrific start.

But then it all kept going downhill once he got to the "City Lord's" mansion.

It's just... All the characters start turning into cookie cutter people EXCEPT for one girl. I forgot her name, but she fell in love with the MC pretty early on, and was willing to sacrifice a sh*t load of things and even turn her back on her family for the MC, but the MC is being retarded and kept pinning for the "main" girl that saved his life in his past life, but... more>> she's such a f**king terrible character that I can't see WHY you would choose her.

Oh life debt? The other girl saved the MC's life too at some point and he STILL pinning for the main girl. f**k that. No, f**k you MC. I don't care if it's a harem. It tooj too LONG for you to even recognize the other girl.

Yes, my main complaint is the romance.

The great thing about this in the beginning was he was making his friends strong too.

But then the author completely chucked that out of the story and then just focused on making the MC op again and it just turns into endless MC d*ck wanking for his power level.

What I thought would be all about saving the city for the sake of noble things like love and friendship just turns into lust for "main" girl, endless power, and revenge against the guy that killed him in the first place.

Nah man, forget my friends and people who actually care about me! I just want to f**k girl Numéro Uno and beat the crap out of everyone else! <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
josh1002
josh1002 rated it
Shinwa Densetsu no Eiyuu no Isekaitan
July 22, 2017
Status: c19
It takes 14 chapters before the MC actually starts killing anything.

That's not the biggest problem though.

The story feels disjointed. Or perhaps the transition of events just really freakin suck that makes the story confusing.

... more>> The story is trying to focus on far too many POVs from far too early in the story. You're not really grounded with the MC yet, before you're then take to Mar's POV, and then Sir Dios, and briefly this Elf priestess that apparently knows him when he came before as the hero.

Alsi, there's this "Mystery" to the story. It has to do with the MC MAYBE has a split personality? It's not clear. So, again, it feels really disjointed and is just quite a bit frustrating to read. It's just really annoying as you don't really know how things got where, and in what direction things would go in the future.

Also, ATM, the MC is just going with the flow and that's a terrible protagonist for a "former hero".

I'll soldier on, but so far I'm not enjoying it.

-Edit-

-MC doesn't even know what a goblin is.

Yeah... Nah. Dropped.

The MC has this "Emotionless" mode when going slaughtering.

This might sound bad ass, but actually reading him swinging his arm like as if it was just everyday normal swinging didn't make the slaughter or the curb stomping all that appealing.

The transition and flow of the story is already horrendous and I just can't stomach any more of it. Bleh. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
josh1002
Muu. I want to make a review but not on the story itself.

Story is fine. It's funny like most "turned into villainess" WNs.

My only complaint is the translator. Well, the update rate is pretty abysmal, but IRL circumstances can't be helped.

... more>> My problem is the word choices and sentence structure. Often times, the translator is using words like: hereto, hayseed, fracas.

These words are pretty archaic, and you'd see them in ye-olde-english. Normally, they'd be fine on their own, but some sentence structure makes the words itself hard to decipher.

Add on that this could proceed for paragraphs that parts of the story fly over my head.

Add to that, that most WN/LN translators don't ever bother to try and write who ever said which sentence. You know what I'm talking about right? Conversation that go like this:

“W-well, you see, the cafeteria! The cafeteria is still open, so I thought rather than buying a drink it’d better to have a tea after your conversation end!”

“......... It’s simply unbelievable, but I’ll buy your lie. ”

“I’ve prepared Black Tea and cakes. After all, today is a celebration!”

“Celebration? If you’re referring to Patrick and Alicia’s engagement isn’t it too soon?”

See? If there were like 3 people in that conversation, you wouldn't know who was speaking what.

I'm not sure if the TL is literally translating archaic words, or if she is just being creative in her writing, which is if the case, she should just go all the way in writing Western Literature, saying who said what.

HOWEVER The TL isn't all that unreadable. You probably just need to reread a few paragraphs of the story to make heads or tails of things, especially to deep conversation you'll sometimes find in this story.

I'm still going to read the story, but this is all just my minor pet peeve about reading this story. I by no means wish to discourage the TL. Just that they go about it differently. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
josh1002
josh1002 rated it
Akuyaku Reijo Ni Koi Wo Shite
July 4, 2017
Status: --
God, this thing is just so damn great.

If you're looking for a LN that shamelessly trying to promote Japanese cuisine by making people addicted to it, you might as well stop now because this LN isn't taking itself as some sloppy Copy+Paste joke like all the other LNs (sans Amber Sword, and My death flag)

I'll begin with what people keep misunderstanding the most; The Characters.

Now, the MC is named Ryou/Rion/Flay. The reason for why he has three names is because of previous incarnation and the body he... more>> now inhabits which belongs to Flay.

However, due to Ryou's personality, he has accepted his death and does not wish to push his body's original persona out, tries to coax him to take control.

Flay appreciates this and comes to rely on Ryou as Ryou seems much more knowledgeable (being from another world.)

However, the situation in which the both of them are thrusted is quite complicated for Flay, resulting in both personalities not really wanting to assume direct control of the body.

Thus, Rion is born, making the body solely his while still having fragments of both Ryou and Flay's personality.

However, the situation he finds himself in is still quite difficult. Resulting in him being "broken" in some way, believing himself merely as a "tool" for the betterment of his masters' life style.

Now I don't mean he's a push over or whatever. He genuinely tries to make the lives of his masters' easier, because... Well... They're the only ones that don't look down on his "condition".

So, some people would describe Rion as dense. In fact, one of the characters even describe him as so, but this is understandable, considering his personality and, seeing as the main love interest is one of his masters', makes him believe he's not worthy of her. Heck, she's destined to marry the crown prince, making her future prospect be the Queen of a country. That's a serious step-by-step to marrying some bloke that came from the slums, is dichromatic, and has a serious case of multiple personality disorder.

So Rion, being ever loyal, will do anything, and I mean anything, for his masters'. Even contemplating on assassinating the storys' protagonist.

Next up, is Ariel! The Main love interest and seriously the best female character I've seen by far!

Now Ariel is destined to be the main villanesse. Heck, when she was first introduced, you could easily picture her to be some spoiled brat that only gets her way.

However, with the MC being her valet, her personality changes for the better.

While she's still quite willful, wanting to get her way, her way isn't wrong.

She prides herself in being a noble. Not that she believes herself to be "better" than commoners. Simply that she should BE Noble and honourable, as thats the situation she was born and she'd gladly take up the responsibility. Even so much as giving up her love (Rion) so that she could be a good fiance to the Crown Prince. Luckily, this plot doesn't go too far, and she's thoroughly enamoured by Rion now, she'd openly defy the prince if he ever so much as disrespects Rion.

Then there's the plot! Holy sh*t, this thing HAS NO BRAKES!

Each damn chapter has some progress going on. And the author just keeps dropping plot bombs casually before explaining it and it just makes you want to read more! God the writing is insane! It's just a shame it's so short! <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
josh1002
josh1002 rated it
Evil God
July 21, 2017
Status: c90
Honestly, it's a 3. I gave it a 5 because I felt some of the reviews were unjust. Like in chapter 3, he apparently forgot he has a trauma on women, making him speak gibberish and his combat abilities fall to nill.

People do hate an MC without a back bone, but I decided to give this guy a chance and read on. And I'm glad I did.

MC isn't a Pansy. He has traumatic experience with women in his past life and that's the gimmick of the whole story.... more>>

Is he dense? Well, yes. But he has had s*x with one of the minor characters.

Is he impotent? No, he just has no s*xual desire. Of course, it's already been set up that if he falls in love, he can probably get urges.

Is he doing echi, perverted things to the hero party on purpose? No. Most of them are just by accident like always. Heck, you could count the
Spoiler
[collapse]
chapters with those scenes on one hand.

This story has a plot and its comedically moving towards it.

Translation is a bit iffy. Like something a word is missing or has been replaced by something that doesn't fit it at all, but it's still readable.

Overall, the story is okay. Certainly not 5, but not a 1 which half the people rate. It's entertaining and a good read to pass the time.

<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
josh1002
josh1002 rated it
Kenkyo, Kenjitsu o Motto ni Ikite Orimasu
August 16, 2017
Status: c152
Ugh. I hate it it when I've caught up, I get this huge sense of loss.

Anyway, the first thing you need to know about this story; the romance.

... more>>
Spoiler

It isn't there. I mean like 152 chapters, Our Girl, Reika hasn't as much as held someone's hand romantically. Oh there have been guys she was interested, but a few chapters later, they'll be unavailable. And she's on 2nd year of high school already, so the original plot of the game is already close to ending.

[collapse]

Story: 3. 8/5

Spoiler

I don't read Shoujo often. It's fine for craving fluffy scenes. However, Kenkyo Kenjitsu has this constant back and forth with certain plot devices. For example, Reika's weight. After every 10-20 chapters, you'll constantly get Reika worrying about her weight then exercising/dieting/fasting like mad to slim down. The author uses more than her weight. For example, her grades, the romance, etc.

I'm critiquing this as the actual Plot is tied to these events, sometimes nearly neutralizing my desire to read the next chapter.

[collapse]

Characters: 3. 7/5

Spoiler

Honestly, the characters are entertaining, but that's about it. Reika herself likes to wave at Flag Events as she purposely passes them by. Not that she doesn't do her own thing, but most of the time she waits until things get troublesome because Reila herself is a coward.

The other characters are a bunch of idiots too. The side characters believe Reika to be the perfect Oujo-sama so it's funny to compare their POV to Reika's. However, there aren't any "Reckless" characters which is a shame. By "Reckless" I mean a guy that would, on purpose, try to approach Reika to try and court her. Oh there were some guys early in the High school arc, but they were quickly forgotten which is again, a shame since I'd really like to see Reika's character in a relationship and for someone to know the REAL her.

Also, Reika is pretty talentless. This is VERY apparent in Highschool Arc and also starts showing in Middleschool Arc. Like, despite previously being a 20 year old woman before getting reincarnated, she struggles to get into top 30 in high school, while her younger cousin gets 20th without much effort.

[collapse]

Style: 4/5

Grammar and word structure has nothing wrong with it. There are some misspellings, but it's nothing too big.

World Building: Food/5

Spoiler

One of Reika's biggest worries is her weight. The author constantly includes food in the story but never describes it.

No, it's much worse.

Instead, the Translator inserts appetizing pictures in the story!

You might get hungry as you read this.

[collapse]

Over all: 4/5

It's a cute story. It doesn't take itself seriously and there's no real drama, so I don't look too hard into it's faults. There are one or two tear jerking moments, but other than that, not much is rememberable other than Reika herself as she's damn adorable-tier-would-cuddle-long-time.

If you want something cute, light, and maybe crack a smile every chapter or so, I recommend you give it a read.

If you're looking for something more serious that makes you cry or roar for the character, I recommend looking elsewhere... Is what I'd like to say, but I have no idea what the next 100 chapters could do to this story. If the mood takes a nosedive to "My heart is breaking" territory, I'll let you know. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
josh1002
josh1002
History’s Strongest Senior Brother
August 9, 2017
Status: c175
I like it, but it's nothing stellar.

All the typical trope and background character ass whooping you find in other CN novels you'll find here. World building is sh*te. Side characters are next to non existent other than Ah-Hu. Story has no clear and definite direction.

Yan Zhaoge is just an over all better MC than other XianXia novels. I like him so much that I WISH he was the MC for all other novels like Tales of Demons and Gods, and Against the Gods, Desolate Era, etc.

Also, as... more>> what other people have said, the story changes from being a parody to it's own unoriginal XianXia. You can enjoy the first hundred or so chapters quite well, and if you like Yan Zhaoge enough, you can stay for the ride.

<<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
josh1002
josh1002 rated it
Hataraku Maou-sama!
August 20, 2017
Status: v6
EDIT:

As of now, I'm at Chapter 6.

Translator/tion Critique/Complaints
... more>>
Spoiler

It is very, very apparent that the translation team needs a beta/editor. A lot of times I keep reading paragraphs with incorrect grammar, spelling, or down-right confusing the characters with another (I. E. Sentences like: "Suzuno said this to Suzuno. ")


It sometimes gets difficult to read, and I honestly could bring the score down because of this, however this would not reflect on the LN's over all story/writing style so I can't really bring it down.

[collapse]

Heroine Critiques/reviews
Spoiler

Emilia:
Emilia-a-sh*t!
She's a basic Tsun-tsun who, only at Volume 6, hasn't shown anything you could consider even remotely cute. You could defend her for being "broken" because she doesn't know what to do with Maou (since he's originally her enemy and target of vengeance), but this does not excuse her for being shown as a sh*t character with an emotional range of her flat chest. Basically, she's been shown as nothing but a complete bitch and is only mentioned off-screen to be "kind".

This is a terrible way to show off a main heroine, as we never see the "off screen her" where she interacts cutely like a normal girl and isn't always the pissed-off bitch that we always see.


Chiho:

Best girl by far. Has shown character growth from the very moment we see her and has gone out of shy shell, even as far as confessing her love to Maou. She's even willing to learn magic, not as a way to get stronger, but because she wants to lessen the burden she is as a "normal girl" to Maou and the others.

10/10.

Deserves to be the Demon Queen.

Would point my feet away from her direction from sleeping

Suzuno:

Actual girl I'm rooting for. Chiho is just best girl by what she's shown but, I'm hoping Suzuno somehow worms her way into being his mistress or something.


Why?

She's has gap-moe! That's why!
By default, she has a serious character, but when she gets flustered, she acts in a cute, girly way and doesn't react so violently as Emi. Sadly, she hasn't gotten much of a spotlight just yet. She'll get more probably around v9 so I'm making my way there.

[collapse]

Old:

Spoiler

Currently at Volume 2 chapter 3. It might seem a little early for a review, but I think my current critique would follow out throughout the story.


The author's writing style is bad when it comes to new characters. In the beginning, it isn't that noticable, but it becomes apparent as more and more characters are introduced. This is VERY apparent at the end of Volume 1 where the other members of the Hero's party arrive after the battle.


They were just suddenly there! I mean, there was like 2 or 3 paragraphs where these two guys are mentioned to be traveling to Earth, but on this particular scene, they didn't get an entrance. They were just suddenly there! There was no opening of an otherwordly gate or of them walking up to a battle-scarred street. They were just suddenly there and I'm like "who the f**k are you?! No wait, Mao. Don't just go with the flow! AGH You guys know each other but we're on different side of a war! Why are you acting so casual!"

This also happens on conversation topics and event scenes. They suddenly seem to change without any warning to the reader.


Granted, it's not unreadable, but it is this story's flaw! The story itself is interesting where you'll have to read in-between the lines to understand the characters completely. Definitely recommend it, but it's not a very light read. Prepare for some introspection.

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
josh1002
Update:
Finished V2 and raised the score to 3. 5 rounded up to 4

MC grows half a pair, but is still mostly d*cking around. However, things are starting to play in the background which should force his hand soon. Hopefully, the story and plot becomes more interesting and raise this LN to an actual 4 than a 3. 5

Still, the first volume is slow world building and MC is quite a sissy.

He gets slightly better with V2 so hopefully by V3 he looks like the hardcore badass on the... more>> cover.

P. S.
Angela best girl!

=========

Just finished volume 1. As of now, it's so-so. I'm being harsh, but the story is carried only by the MC. Nothing else in the story makes it a "must read" as you'll read everything else in anoyher LN.

People are praising it for the MC because he does "reasonable things".

However, the MC, at times, lacks spine. Like he got a surprise quest from God, that would award him Skill Points if he healed people with all his strength? You know what he did? He pressed "NO", declining the quest and then proceeded to heal everyone he could anyway!

Anyway, perhaps later on the MC will grow some balls and actually want to go out hunting bigger monsters. He did help kill a dragon but that was because it was a surprise and he was more if tagalong. After killing the dragon, he resolved not to go on such dangerous quest.

It's reasonable, however, he got invited by a veteran party that has killed multiple dragons already and he just said no.

Fine, don't go look for danger, but at the very least don't do retarded sh*t like refusing skill points for something you're going to do anyway.

As of yet, I haven't seen character growth so that's also a negative since the MCs character is critical to the story.

As it is, I'm FORCING myself to go and read the next chapter but in all honesty, I'd drop this in favor of other LNs with better MCs. But hey! At least this is better than XiangXia MCs screaming uncle and fighting who has the bigger d*ck, so it's got that going for it, which is nice.

<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report