Report Review
Report Reason:
32 Reviews


jkmessah
jkmessah rated it
World of Cultivation
October 18, 2016
Status: c401
I am tired of most Xianxia. It seems to have lost it's novelty for me. Then I stumbled upon this gem.

I'll have you know, I only binge read 401 chapters in like 2.5 days. I didn't sleep through the night. This is truly an eye opener on what a proper novel, a properly well thought out Xianxia could be. I was disappointed that I did not find this sooner, but I'm glad I could binge almost half the story.

Let's get on with the review.
Freaking amazing, hilarious but not forced.... more>> Unique and 3 dimensional characters that you care about. Common tropes used with shockingly good thought helps you from getting tired or bored. He takes common tropes and flips it like a hawt pancake. The pacing is absolutely wonderful. I enjoy reading the peaceful times and tense when reading the battle scenes. I don't find a single moment boring.

The world building starts out slow. You first know just about as much as the MC. As he grows, his knowledge and environment slowly expands. The details bring it life and the cultivation, the different groups and their interaction with one another is well thought out. If you like large scale wars between two big groups, then this really could be for you!

Zuo Mo is the most interesting character I've read in a while. His love of Jingshi and that hard-working personality is really quite believable. Characters grow, but sometimes some MCs kind of lose their original personality. NOT OURS THOUGH. Such a pragmatist that would survive well anywhere. For a Xianxia novel, he must be a saint compared to other Kill-first-questions-later MCs. But he's not a saint because it's the right thing to do, but because it makes money! How he unknowingly gain respect and friends is amusing to read.

The side characters. Oh my. There are so many you think you'd lose track of who. But you don't. You might need a nudge of reminder, but the side characters each have their story and devotion that you can't forget them unless you tried. They aren't cardboard pieces of each common tropes. People can actually change!!! Notice the excitement in that.

Spoiler

When was the last time some snotty ass conceited side character who disses and bullies the MC ever get a second chance? Luo Li my man, I'm looking at you! You make me proud! You bring hope to snotty brats!

[collapse]

There is an overarching goal I suppose, but it's so grand and far away, it's not the main focus atm. The arcs are all interesting, each with a goal in mind. It's not some random travel and discover, beat new enemies there, level up. The characters grow stronger together, but not at a crazy, ridiculous, are-you-sure-this-makes-sense kind of pace. Man, how I appreciate a weaker MC that grows stronger at his own pace.

Spoiler

As we get to later chapters, I realize that Zuo Mo is good at delegating. Not a perfect leader from the get go, but he is so resilient that he doesn't mind learning from others, namely, his subordinates. He has trust. Especially in the later chapters. MCs tend to be quite literally, gods. They can do anything and everything. Zuo Mo can't. And he knows it, embraces it and uses it to great advantage. Truly refreshing!

[collapse]

ROMANCE! Let me just warn you that if you came to read this because of that tag, be warned that 401 chapters in, there is absolutely no romance. Unless of course you count the MCs immense LOVE of money. Maybe that's why the tag is there...

I can't find enough good things to say, and maybe that's cause I rushed to write this as soon as I caught up. I don't know if anyone would read such a long review, but I feel better now that I've shared my thoughts. I must make a special mention for the translating team who does such a wonderful, wonderful job. I can't believe this is updated daily. The quality of translation is superb, and I love the little TL notes at the end. Truly a 5/5 experience.

I can't wait to finish the story! <<less
26 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
jkmessah
I'll rate when more chapters are out.

The story reminds me of the beginning of Empress with no Virtue, however, the Emperor in this story is much more hateful to the MC. I truly wanted to give that guy a bitch slap and a knuckle sandwich for the shit he's done to the MC for no good reason. I mean, yeah, she came from the enemy kingdom as a peace offering so you might dislike her, but there is absolutely no need to go that far in humiliating her. Kudos... more>> to the MC though, she's one tough cookie and honestly deserves much better. Going by the synopsis, the Emperor is the lead male MC, but I wish someone else could just sweep her off.

So far the story is alright and the translation is fine.

EDIT: Oh man. The emperor... I'll put off reading more till it builds up. I get so annoyed whenever that stupid emperor enters the scene and flails his stupid arms. I just need to see him so henpecked or it seriously won't justify the shit he's done. <<less
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
jkmessah
jkmessah rated it
The Demon God Pesters: The Ninth Lady of the Doctor
November 16, 2016
Status: c20
Another female transmigration story added onto my arsenal once again.

I must say, it is quite typical at the moment. MC dies, transmigrates into another body with the same name that died a pitiful death only to be found by what I believe to be the titular Demon god. Things happen and she's bound to him in a servant contract? Not sure where exactly this story will go, the synopsis is not very clear for me. If anyone could enlighten me as to what 'maldeamores' is then that would be... more>> nice.

Translation quality is... understandable, to a certain extent. There is definitely room for improvement. I personally find it hard to immerse myself in the story due to choice words like "OMG" and "boobs" that give me a more modern feel.

EDIT: I find it difficult to keep track of characters and where the story is going due to overwhelming grammar inconsistencies. It doesn't help that the story itself is rather confusing for me, not sure if its brought upon poor writing or the story was lost in translation, but I don't think it's worth my time. Atm it's dropped. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
jkmessah
Will add rating when a bit more comes out.

Do you want an independent woman who was thrown into an otome game at her destruction flag? Do you want to see how she stands up for herself without needing rescue from the Male Lead? This could be the novel for you. Nothing admittedly groundbreaking for the villainess lady genre but it will give you diabetes. The Male Lead swoops in like an eagle catching an unprepared rabbit, the sheer impact shocks the poor rabbit.

This is my first otome novel where... more>> they talked about a sequel to the game that the MC has no knowledge about and in that case, the story has potential to go through many different routes. If you need a fluffy shoujo otome novel, this is definitely worth a try. Plus, the name of the Male Lead is absolutely nuts!

Please welcome His Royal Highness, Aquasteed Marineforest. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
jkmessah
jkmessah
Both are Foxes
December 27, 2016
Status: c3
I will rate with more chapters out. So far though, it's definitely a above a 3 (not sure what's up with all the 1 star)

Can I just take one moment to appreciate this story that has no reincarnation/second-chance/transmigration? It's simply a woman who is extremely talented and beautiful who accidentally got engaged to the most eligible bachelor in town. Our MC is a very decisive woman who is actually quite the crafty woman seeing as how she can literally stay a shut in for years and her main family can't... more>> do anything to her.

So far as we are introduced to our also immensely talented male MC, he seems to be the calculative one but he isn't a heartless person. They haven't met each other yet as of chapter 3, but I can imagine that he would at least treat her respectfully and not bully her based on rumors. That's usually a good sign that the MC isn't a total butthole.

Will wait and see what direction the story will go. Translation is done well and I look forward to more! <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
jkmessah
jkmessah rated it
The Grandmaster Strategist
December 8, 2016
Status: c30
Oh my. Within the 30 chapters that I read, all I could think of was how well-written and well-paced this novel is. Truly, this is a great novel worth reading for anyone who wants a thoughtful story where characters too have flaws that make them more real, more relatable. The first person POV is also quite interesting and well done!

I absolutely enjoy the characters in this novel. Our MC is not OP in a typical sense, but he is gifted. If you've read Nirvana in Fire (also a wonderful novel... more>> and tv series) then you know what I mean in that the strategist himself is physically weak, but his mind is truly bright. He has doubts, he has strength and he sounds like a very real person going through some very real problems. Each of his actions has a purpose, likewise, each chapter in this story also has a purpose. All characters are given ample time for us to be familiar with them. Honestly, 30 chapter in and I'm quite attached to all the characters!

The pace is great. The chapters are definitely on the longer side, which is refreshing in its own way. You feel like many things are going on quickly, but at the same time looking at the big picture, you are still far. It's very easy to become absorbed into the story. There is this sense of reality in this novel. Training up an army takes years, plans take time to do and in fact time skips happen often. You don't notice it as much, but I think its important. Can you imagine how unlikely it is for someone to find a perfectly able, perfectly loyal aide in less than 3 months? So it doesn't happen with our MC.

Special mention for the translation which is absolutely well done! Translating poems must be a pain in the ass as you don't want to lose the meaning and subtleties that bring this novel to life. For that alone, I believe the translator has worked very hard and is worthy of commendation.

I would recommend this to everyone who wants a smart and thoughtful MC surrounded by people who matters and has a purpose built into their characters. The writing is unique with that biography occasionally giving us a summary of what had happened giving this authentic feel of it truly being part of history. Give it a shot, your brain would thank you for it! <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
jkmessah
jkmessah rated it
Tensei Shitara Slime Datta Ken (WN)
August 13, 2016
Status: c162
I really enjoy this novel. It's not my first Japanese LN, but it's one of the very few that I still read and look forward to. I tried reading those popular ones, like Arifureta or Shield Hero, along with other similar reincarnation/other world types but somehow those seem a lot more... repetitive?

I'm not saying that Slime isn't entirely repetitive, it does have that constant increase in powers, crazily strong allies, enemies dumb enough to provoke him. But I enjoy that it doesn't stay at just that.
... more>>
Spoiler

I like how he literally creates his own country and tries to get it to be as modern as present day Japan. Which is ridiculous in the context of the novel as they were in medieval times.

[collapse]

They don't focus on how he hates the world, or other people, just doing his thing with his own ridiculously OP buddies. I also appreciate the lack of harem (though some will disagree). I think it means that all the other characters get some time to grow a bit.

I'm sure that people drop this for the reasons that I keep reading, but it's down to personal choice and preference anyways. It's 5 stars for me due to my own personal enjoyment of the WN, so I urge people to try it out if you're curious. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
jkmessah
jkmessah rated it
Picking Up a General to Plow the Fields
October 8, 2016
Status: c6
It is quite refreshing to see the MC have siblings who are not total jerks and downright evil. The story is going at a believable rate and she's not OP with her modern knowledge of agriculture. The titular general have yet to appear but seeing how independent our adorable MC is, I'm not too worried of her being a completely dependent maiden in love that loses all her abilities or sense of responsibility. I am looking forward to how the story unfolds and the translator is doing a good job,... more>> though a little bit of grammar is off, nothing that would affect your reading significantly. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
jkmessah
jkmessah rated it
Little Phoenix Is Not An Immortal
August 25, 2016
Status: c21
It's an enjoyable read and the MC is quite interesting. The male MC is really drool-worthy and he has a good chemistry with the female MC imho. Was wondering if this was some type of reverse harem though, since there are so many good looking guys in this story, so I'm looking forward to see how it goes.

EDIT: Still a fun read! I might have to jump ship after the recent chapters though. The interactions in this novel is quite refreshing!
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
jkmessah
Will rate in the near future when more chapters are released!

If you can't get enough of revenge stories with second chance, then this should be added into your arsenal. We have yet to see how she will scheme and the ML has not shown his appearance yet but this is giving me some Wei Yang vibes. Going through life and death for the one she loved only to find that she was the fool and she was just a disposable pawn. So far it is similar to most others in... more>> the similar genre but I find that this is written quite well. I look forward to see how this story will unfold and how deep the schemes would be!

The translator has worked hard and I definitely recommend this if you enjoyed Princess Wei Yang, Chongfei Manual, and Mei Gongqing. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
jkmessah
jkmessah rated it
Beloved Empress
November 8, 2016
Status: c3
Look another transmigration story! We have an empress this time too! I think for now, what sets it apart is how the Imperial Couple are on bad terms (Kind of expected considering the green hat the previous empress gave the emperor...) but the MC is a tad... weird? I wouldn't say dumb as she is clearly smarter than average from the first 3 chapters. But at the same time, her way of thinking is quite unique for the time period.
... more>>
Spoiler

Let some other concubine become favored so that they are public enemy no 1. Never thought about it that way!

[collapse]
The misunderstandings does bring about some levels of cringe, but nothing I can't handle. Worth a shot, let's see what direction the story goes! <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
jkmessah
jkmessah
Possessing Nothing
June 19, 2017
Status: c7
Still at 7 chapters but the premise is quite interesting. Will rate when more are out. Nothing extremely original but the world and characters are well written.

Unlike most second chances or regular Isekai novels, our MC is not overpowered. Weak but determined to survive with what he has; pragmatic and sensible. Usually having past memories is extremely advantageous, but since his past life was relatively unremarkable, the benefits it brings are toned down. Enough to give him an edge, but not a god.

Translation is done well and the world it's... more>> in is rather interesting. The few side characters aren't complete card board cutouts from the little interactions we see. I am looking forward to more chapters! <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
jkmessah
jkmessah rated it
Thunder Martial
December 26, 2016
Status: c46
If it's xianxia you want, then it is xianxia you get. That sums up Thunder Martial for me.

Well, it definitely starts off as a typical backstabbing, miracle revival xianxia for me. Zi Chen's "gift" or "cheat" is quite OP, but at least the uses are strictly defined in the story. While his cheat is very good, it requires the user to be extremely, I mean, extremely diligent with an unwavering Dao heart. (Daym. That sentence though.)

The story itself is relatively simple atm and it is heavily sect based with a... more>> lot of inner chaos between different levels of disciples. Our MC is like a watered down Li Qiye (ED) for me in that I'm amazed at how quickly his arrogance leaves him crowded in enemies. Granted, if left alone, he is quite quiet and yet idiots would always look down on him.

My only critic would be Lin Xue (the female side char). She... is like those hot-headed, short-fused, narrow-minded anime girls. Some might find her endearing, I personally don't like her. I commend her loyalty to our MC but I can't seem to like her character. Her shijie, Su Mengyao is a lot better in my opinion as she is much more mature compared to Lin Xue. She needs to grow up soon!

The xianxia tropes are really heavy in this novel and it's as cliched as it gets without going overboard. If xianxia is what you are looking for with a confident, hard-working MC going against at this point, literally everyone he knows, then this is the novel for you. If you are new to xianxia, this might not be a bad start since it shows you pretty clearly what you can expect from a xianxia while still being an enjoyable read. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
jkmessah
jkmessah rated it
Eight Treasures Trousseau
October 19, 2016
Status: c3
When the wonderful translators at Dreams of Jianghu said TBAVW 2.0, it really got me excited.

The vibes that just the three chapters bring is quite impressive. It is definitely on par with TBAVW for now and the scenes are easily imagined. Once you're familiar with the terms, it's not that hard to get into.

As another reviewer has mentioned, there has yet to be typical tropes common in historical, royalty romance such as scheming relatives, and horrible parents. Quite refreshing for now. I can't say too much within these... more>> 3 chapters but it's looking to be a fantastic read.

Translation is most definitely top notch and won't be a hindrance to reading and understanding the nuances. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
jkmessah
jkmessah
Queen of No.11 Agent 11
September 19, 2016
Status: c6
I've been running out of novels with female protagonists so I decided to give this a try.

Through the first 3 chapters we see how the main female MC in her first life is truly a talented and dedicated agent who died for the greater good. When she finally begins her second life as the 8 year old slave, it was really hard to churn. I mean, waking up as a slave is already some high difficulty setting, but waking up to wolves is another thing. Some names that were mentioned... more>> in the summary made their appearance but it's very difficult to like any of them so far.

It's still at 5 chapters, but the translation is good and the story has a very strong female MC. I'll be waiting patiently for more!

EDIT: This is actually a pretty gruesome and dark story... I wonder if it will continue. But it's great! <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
jkmessah
jkmessah
Poison Genius Consort
December 27, 2016
Status: c27
Will rate in the future after more chapters build up.

This starts off quite well for a transmigration story where we can see a bit into the personality of the MC before she transmigrates. Her actions during her wedding was most interesting and to be honest, the most daring I've seen in a society who holds customs and traditions very highly. She knows her situation and does her best to work with what is given without letting go of her principles. The family she marries into is a typical Duke... more>> family who looks down on her while her husband is rather cold.

Some may dislike the male lead for how he treats our MC; he is cold, and he clearly doesn't care too much about her. However, as I've read numerous other female MC stories, I can safely say that he isn't too bad considering the fact that he isn't actively trying to sabotage her life. +1 for that. From spoilers that I gleaned,
Spoiler

He does eventually warm up to our female lead and becomes rather nice/protective but it does take a while. Like beyond 200 chapters kind of slow. I don't want to spoil for anyone

[collapse]

The technology/cheat that she got is a little OP and I'm not sure what kind of modern world she came from to have medical tech like that but it doesn't distract from the story too much. It just gives her an extra edge for dealing with other things. Granted it's a very convenient little alarm that does way too many things.

Translation was done well and I can see how dedicated they are in bringing this novel for us readers. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
jkmessah
jkmessah rated it
Gate of Revelation
December 16, 2016
Status: c236
Someone kindly recommended this to me and though I don't usually prefer a modern setting, I found myself rather enthralled by this novel and its unique premise. It's not perfect yeah, but I think it's interesting enough to keep me going, and most importantly, speculating.

It starts out kind of slow, admittedly, the first dungeon was a little boring... but that's because we don't really know what exactly is going on. We are kind of like the MC who is confused but trying his best to survive. Once we are... more>> told (through some info dumps, honestly) what on "earth" is going on (get it?!) it makes so much sense and it becomes very interesting. The world building steadily moves forward and opens up many possibilities.

Character wise... it's definitely diverse. I must say that I do not like the two female companions of our MC; the loli is especially creepy with that anti-social, yandere-like personality and her sister seems like a carbon copy of all useless female sidekick. The sister started off a little better but ended up a common trope. I must say however, that all the other male characters are quite well written. Each has a distinct flair and personality appropriate for their character making them seem more relatable. Our MC is the smart, almost a walking library type of guy who isn't afraid to use his fist. He is quite realistic in that while he does want to "free" his world, he is quite the pragmatist.

There are gaming elements, and more modern weapons, down to the sci-fi mechas but it doesn't overshadow the world that he lives in. While others might dislike the author's Gundam or LoL references, I think it instead solidifies the world that our MC lives in which is technically our world. If this was a fantasy series based in Imperial China, then yes, Garen or Jarvan from Demacia jokes would certainly be out of place.

The translation is done well, I have no noticeable complaints and it is consistent enough. The story is fresh and unique in its premise for me personally where the closest novels I could think of that has this admin vs the world or bug fixing would be Kumo Desu Ga and My Disciple Died Yet Again respectively. Worth a shot if you are looking for a good read! <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
jkmessah
Will rate when more chapters are out.

Like a previous reviewer mentioned it does share a similar background setting to Genius Doctor. In fact I'm almost inclined to believe that having a crippled uncle and powerful father/grandfather is a common trope. I mean, Otherworldly Evil Monarch also has that same setting. Both uncles cured and boom, they are imba as heck. The MC can then proceed to leave home knowing that the family will be safe.

Enough about other novels, but this novel here has yet to display its differences... more>> that would let it stand apart from many others (Granted, I'm only 5 chapters in). The MC is quite decisive and dedicated from what we could see but nothing special. Will continue to read to find out more about how the story will unfold. Translation is acceptable, no problems understanding the story. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
jkmessah
jkmessah rated it
Perfect World
October 31, 2016
Status: c201
4.5 rounded to 4 stars. This novel was recommended by NUFers who convinced me to give it a try, Not ground breaking, not the absolute best thing I've read, but it's now part of my guilty pleasure! I've had a thing for pets and this MC can open a legit Pokemon daycare. Wish fulfillment get!

If you like animals, sacred beasts, powerful monsters in abundance, then this novel is for you. If you enjoy a particularly cute miserly MC, then again, this is for you. If you enjoy reading continuous fortuitous... more>> encounters, then once again, this is for you. It isn't a perfect novel and there are some pretty ridiculous power-ups and constant tropes in use but if you can get over it, it's an enjoyable read.

The world building is quite interesting. You start from a small 300 people village and find that there could be cities with 10 million citizens. And there are a few of them.
Spoiler

Then they promptly get wiped out. Whew.

[collapse]
The crazy thing is that the numbers in this novels become increasingly difficult to wrap your head around IMO. 1 li =500m, then they talk about 300,000 li. 1 jin = 500 g, then by the time the MC is like 7, he carries 108,000 jin?! The number increases as the novel goes. I can't even imagine his strength at this point...

The MC starts out as the cutest OP toddler you'll see in a while. For a long time he has that sense of naivety and innocence before he mans up a bit. I would say that this is one of the most dedicated and family oriented MC in a while and its refreshing to see that this isn't some shunned, abandoned, or bullied MC. He has a whole village that loves him and helps him grow. Some say that his personality took a 180 degree shift after he left the village, but I kind of disagree. Maybe that's also because I read up to ch 201.

Spoiler

I think he was being a ruthless miser because he knows that these people would not let him go. He's done too much and he actually has some pretty admirable ambitions which fuels his actions. He's a miser because he comes from a relatively impoverished village. Everything he gets, he has a mind to share everything he gets with his village. Yes, he's a glutton, but that's his drive to become stronger since in this novel literally everything he eats powers him up. He has a good personality in that he is one to repay kindness where its due, ie, Williow Diety, Stone Village, Great Vine Spirit, the elders at Heavenly. So I think his personality is pretty constant.

[collapse]

I enjoy reading all the animals interacting with each other and the MC. It's hilarious how they think the MC is even more alien than the most powerful pure-blooded beasts. There is that hint of reverence, fear and annoyance that most of these animals share. The MC "subdues" them in one sense but it's never a master-slave relationship which could probably be contrasted to MC's rival. (Haven't read far enough to really be sure) Our MC is almost like a Pokemon master!

I think this novel is enjoyable, and there are things that could be improved (the amount of luck our MC has is ridiculous) but it's a pretty solid read. Translation is fine and I'm looking forward to read more! <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
jkmessah
jkmessah rated it
The Evil Prince and his Precious Wife: The Sly Lady
October 14, 2016
Status: c11
This starts off as a stereotypical transmigration into a weak noble lady getting her engagement messed up. In this case, she's demoted from main wife to concubine.

It reminds me of Chu Wang Fei a bit in that Jing Wang is similar to Chen Wang. But that's about it, this guy is so persistent in getting the MC (not in a good way by chapter 11 at least) that you wonder... What the heck kind of eyesight does all the people there have to think he's a good guy! ... more>> He's petty!

Thankfully, our MC acts as decisively as Princess Wei Yang (also a great story) instead of bidding her time, gaining revenge through the 'noble lady' way. Brother is a nice touch, we know she has support from at least one family member. Male MC has made a cameo I think, but since I can't read ahead, I'll assume he's a typical black belly guy based on synopsis.

Translation is ok, but the names get mixed up. Like, a lot. You can still figure out who is who by context but it's quite noticeable for me. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report