Report Review
Report Reason:
53 Reviews


ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
Stellar Transformation
March 27, 2016
Status: --
No offense, but I’m really sick and tired of all the bad reviews. Compared all those novels with fast starts, huge revenge schemes, and stupid tropes… I like this one way better.

It’s unique and I love the emotional scenes in the beginning (okay, maybe not emotional, but compared to other xianxia it was). Sorry if you don’t like the fact it’s slow, but it’s these types of novels that build up the characters and trudge through mud puddles that I like.

So he makes mistakes, but compared to other xianxia... more>> it makes sense. Other xianxia protags are so stupid you wonder how they made it out of primary school. They are twisted with a one-track mindset. It’s irritating, and that’s why l love this novel.

I have to admit though, binge reading is better for those who think it’s slow. I personally loved the beginning, but for those who think the beginning is a drab…. at least you can binge read all of it (it is on volume sixteen now… so…).

I love how good he is with his family, and how he doesn’t hate his father or siblings, and understood the circumstances. I love watching him grow and how he got to where he is now. I also love how there is no harems, and the female characters aren’t walking boobs.

Also he gets strong at the beginning because wants to show his family that he can help. He wants his father to be proud of him (thus in my opinion is really sweet). This reason changes later on when that part of life ends. And for those of you think his first reason I'd shallow, compared to all out revenge or wanting to step over everyone else this reason is not anywhere close to being shallow.

And another thing. Compared to other xianxia he can be Considered to have at least high school intelligence. Mga's protag is struggling to form a fetus, and wdqk's protag is somewhere in elementary or middle school. The only reason st's protag may seem stupid is because of the slow development.

Anyway this is my personal opinion. Again… sure you think it’s slow or you think the mc is stupid, but think of it like tmw. Slow starts sometimes lead to amazing novels. Fast starts like mga usually lead to repetitive crap.

Hope you read and soldier through. <<less
58 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
The Great Ruler
January 15, 2016
Status: --
EDIT note near the bottom 😃

The story is quite better than a lot of other xianxia and it isn’t stupid (maybe a little boring). There is a lot of mystery around his past and it isn’t just like let’s dump everything on the reader (wdqk). The romance is slow and he only loves one girl who he already had a relationship with before but didn’t meet again til chapter 142.

Mu Chen has an extremely likable character. He is actually smart and knows his limits. Not extremely arrogant (he’s... more>> handsome though *winks) and he isn’t a flat out jerk. It might be a typical xianxia novel to a lot of people, but hey, it is xianxia.

Yes it's slow, but I actually understand the concepts in this novel compared to a lot of fast paced ‘I want to get stronger because of insane luck’ novels.

The sweet thing that’s between Mu Chen and Luo Lu is so cute. It makes my heart flutter because it isn’t all perverted or rated r. Seriously the romance makes sense in this. It wasn’t just put a random pretty girl in it and make a romance based on lust (mga).

I know it might be slow but it pays out because there are less plot holes. And what a lot of people think are plot holes are supposed to be explained as time goes on. The author is not just going to dump everything on you like a lot of other xianxia. This keeps the mystery factor and it keeps the story going. I can’t stand how other xianxia stories go and reveal everything. No great back story. You know everything within a few pages and what you don’t know is a pothole or it isn’t mentioned once in a couple tens or hundred chapters.

Hope you read and don’t mind my extremely long review. (Right as of chapter 164)

EDIT 😑😉😑😉😑😉😑😉

OKAY. I'm starting to understand the irritation with the slowness and lack of development, but I'm gonna stand strong on my views. I like it. And everyone has a right to their own opinion.

(just try not to ruin it for others) <<less
33 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
Shinwa Densetsu no Eiyuu no Isekaitan
April 30, 2016
Status: --
I'm glad there is no harem tag (as of yet), and it seems like a very good story. The beginning shows promise. Looking forward to how this will develop. (Hopefully it doesn't go downhill)
26 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
My Daoist Life
April 30, 2016
Status: --
The premise is great, and I find myself already falling in love with the mc... ^-^
22 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
Assassin Reborn
April 4, 2016
Status: --
All I can say is that I like it... but I've been waiting for an update for almost a year. Hope someone picks it up.... *sighs*
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
Martial God Asura
January 30, 2016
Status: --
As said in some of the other reviews mga got repetitive and the Mc is the definition of a bipolar serial killer. He needs serious help with his temper issues. I despise the fact that the author makes it seem as if Chu Feng is justified in everything he does. It ticks me off to no end.

I stopped reading ages ago. I read up until the early 100s. Recently I was like I should try reading it again. I go back... then after awhile I start skimming... then I... more>> start skipping... then I quit. It made me want to slap the Mc so hard.

I don't believe his needless killing is justified. I can't stand reading xianxia with jerkish main characters and even jerkier side characters. It sucks and I can't connect with those types of moral standards.

The beginning or first seventy chapters were great. An absolute five. But now the most I am willing to give is a two. At Best. A two. I would give it a one but the beginning was amazing. Those days on FlowerBridgeTwo's website were amazing. Which was like.... a year ago. I think.

I discovered it at like ten-twenty chapters. Began to read. Got addicted. Got slapped in the face. Quit. I know xianxia has some pretty twisted morals, but Chu Feng beats them all. I can not relate with such a horrible mc. He's probably worse than his antagonists. Sometimes I feel their actions are more justified. While the mc's actions are based solely on revenge and greed.

I mean he believes that if someone tries to get revenge on him it's not justified, yet when he tries to get revenge on someone else for something he caused it's justified.

This is probably the worst review I will ever give. I normally only give reviews on novels I really like or I feel I need to put some word into. Mga just crushed me. Literally.

EDIT: mga is now one of my bottom standards for xianxia novels. I applaud all of you who throw away their personal prejudice and connect with mga world's logic.

I understand that this is based on the logic of ancient china, but that doesn't mean I have to agree with it. Thank you mga for giving me your wonderful beginning. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
Romance of Dragons and Snakes
April 6, 2016
Status: --
Okay. .. I admit. When I first read the title I thought it was going to be about another cunning and ruthless female lead and a bunch of romance. Then I read the first three chapters and I was like ... wait.

This is not what I was expecting at all. I love it, and I hope the story continues to defy my expectations.

... seriously though. The title is so misleading. I don't feel like going into detail so look at the extremely long review by rdawv somewhere below mine... more>> for details (rdawv's review is extremely accurate) :-) <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
The Amber Sword
February 1, 2016
Status: --
👌
I really like this story because the mc actually struggles and the mixture or gaming and western fantasy is interesting. The female’s in the story have weird personalities and the males aren’t as two-dimensional as you might think at first.

Overall a four but a five because I really like the concept.

l’m going to refute melfar’s words on the fact that there is nothing wrong with mc crying out to mother marsha, it’s part of the story and the author’s religion does not matter. Just reading five chapters... more>> then putting together a review isn’t exactly going to help anybody. The novel only has a few gaming elements as he’s the only one aware, and the author isn’t retarded for giving girl’s guy names and guy’s girl names. It’s his style. (If you feel offended by this sorry. . But I really would prefer you right a review based on the story and not on how stupid you think the author is. He worked hard.

EDIT: I still believe this story is unique, and it pains me to read all those low ratings just because they believe the story is horribly written or they don't like the game system.

I personally don't mind it, but for all of you guys who do, just ignore it and you'll realize how incredibly thought out the storyline is. The game system may be trash to some people, but the story itself is amazing. (v2 ch36) <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
My Death Flags Show No Sign of Ending
April 17, 2016
Status: --
If you want me to say anything, fat chance. Read all the other reviews.

One word? Brilliant.

I've been reading since the story was only translated to three chapters, now it's at twenty-two.

... more>> I'm about to cry. It 100% deserves its high rating, and I shiver for an update. It's well paced and the Mc has a calculative personality.

(I seriously just repeated everyone else's review... -_-) <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
M E M O R I Z E
November 19, 2016
Status: c13
Okay. I really love this novel it reminds me of reincarnator (and I love that series). I love the comrades he's received. I'm glad he isn't a loner. I don't know why, but loner main characters tick me off (Maybe it's because they are all about me me me).

The downside is that it hasn't updated in over a month and I'm about to start crying 😢

Update please. Love you.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
God of Crime
August 22, 2016
Status: c8
I'm really hoping this updates soon. It is an extremely good story and the Mc is very likable. The plot makes sense and it has enough ammunition to keep the story going without going flat.

I hope it updates. TT-TT
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
Card Disciple
June 1, 2016
Status: c12
😘Ratings out of five😘

Concept: 5 (cultivation technique is really unique, if you can call it that)
Main character: 4.5 (I like the mc's attitude, and for now there doesn't seem to be any mental issues)
Side characters: 2.9 (A bit shallow and typical, but their aren't many chapters yet)
Style: 3 (A bit average, but the story makes up for it)
World: 4 (ties in with the concept, a good take on the heiarchy)

Not many chapters yet, but it has potential. (I meant to review this ages ago, but I... more>> kept forgetting...) 😑 <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
9 Heavenly Thunder Manual
March 30, 2016
Status: --
I have to say that the novel has its stereotypical moments, but I don't believe it deserves all the 1/5 ratings. So it is average, but it isn't too bad compared to a lot of trashy xianxia out there. I actually think it's a bit unique because of how the author incorporates it into a modern setting.

Anyway it is your choice whether or not you read, but I do want to say that a 1/5 is a little harsh. A 3/5 would make more sense. And even if the beginning... more>> does seem random, I sort of liked it enough to give it a 4/5 for adrenaline, but a 2/5 for the mash up. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
I really like this currently, but if a few wrong steps are taken it could turn out bad. It’s balancing on a tightrope right now… I’m a bit worried it’ll turn into a zhan long or some really flat repetitive thing… fingers crossed. ^-^
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
Dimensional Sovereign
December 10, 2016
Status: c49
At first, I was really bored. The first chapters aren't exactly suitable hooks, but it gets better. The MC goes from being this poor man to this charismatic... Something. Yeah I'm really bad at this.

Anyway he becomes stronger and the dimensions game is slowly explained. The mysteries come out and it gets really good. Despite the bad reviews of it being boring it can become a decent read if you so will it.

Try it. 😊
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
The Portal of Wonderland
March 31, 2016
Status: --
The plot is interesting, the mc is level-headed, there is romance with no harem tag, the mc is a morally good person, and it's a good read.

I'd say the only problem is its failure at times to get my blood rolling. As a previous review said, it lacks a certain hook. Other than that I love it for AL the reasons pre-mentioned.

The quality has improved, and it isn't hard to read anymore. Wish some people would update their reviews... anyway please read. It may not be mind-bloeing , but it... more>> is refreshing.

EDIT: My opinion still stands, and I hope people continue reading. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
This is absolutely the cutest thing ever. It has fluff! Lots and lots of fluff!!

It's glorious, sweet. And her bubbly personality is so cute!!!

Edit:
All the chapters were deleted. T^T
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
Cult of the Sacred Runes
February 7, 2016
Status: --
I actually really like this. It's really similar to TDG, but I like it better than TDG. The quality of writing may be lower but l love the main character's attitude better. He isn't a perverted basted with no respect towards his family...

Overall people may like TDG better, but I like CSR. It's good in my opinion, despite being slow and not as upbeat. 😊
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe
Cook of the Mercenary Corp
November 25, 2016
Status: --
This novel may seem really generic, but it's --- I'm gonna say it -- enjoyable. I wouldn't read this if you want something exciting and blood-thirsty. It has a very slice of life feeling.

The MC isn't exactly the bomb-diggity. His personality is typical for this genre, but it fits because he isn't supposed to be the main builder of the mercenaries. Despite this, he is an interesting person who continues to amaze people around him.

Read. You may enjoy it. You may not. *Shrugs*🙂
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
Martial God Space
November 25, 2016
Status: c161
Okay, I need to catch up, but all you really need to know is that this is a typical xianxia that I actually find enjoyable. I have never seen the point in giving bad ratings just because a novel is typical xianxia, because hey --- it's xianxia.

Xianxia is going to follow the typical trope. The only problem people may find is that this one is amazingly typical.

Few pros: it's and extremely enjoyable read. I love the power ups and fights. It's probably the only reason I read xianxia nowadays. No... more>> one reads xianxia for the plot except for the ones that actually have some plot (ISSTH, MJTI).

You read xianxia for the action and satisfaction when the stupid bad guy gets beat up. This is one of the xianxia with an MC that I don't want to castrate.

I understand if you are turned off by the typical-ness -- just give it a chance and you'll find that you can actually ignore the plot holes... And if you can't, I do not blame you. *Pat's back* <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3