Report Review
Report Reason:
11 Reviews


Rosver
Rosver rated it
Miracle Drawing!
December 15, 2016
Status: c2
I really dislike the protagonist. Whiny, uncreative, unimaginative. He whines and whines and whines… . That was just wow. He is incredibly annoying.

The first chapter have our protagonist in a a museum that he has visited many times, tens of hundreds of times. He only paid a cent and all he did was complain that the artworks are not fresh or new. He have seen all of them before. There are paintings by Goya to Rembrandt, works from various era and culture… 'it was all predictable, boring and not new'... more>> he thought. All I can think was "My God! How despicable you are."

And in there we have this:

"He believed manhwas, animations, game illustrations, and vintage artworks were all pieces of art, but the society around him didn’t think the same." - *Expletives* Did he really ask the society? Did he asks everyone if these are pieces of art and he got no as answers? Or did he expect that he can make a manhwa drawing and sell it for millions of dollars like some Leonardo's masterpiece?

"‘Dammit. What’s so wrong about drawing whatever you want when you want to?’" - Nothing. What is wrong is that you expect everyone to like whatever you draw.

"But even he knew the truth. Drawings drawn like that weren’t worth much. Jinho sighed once again as he counted the dates." - Shit! You where just sketching. Sketches always never worth much. And what had he drawn by the way:

" At first Jinho drew the outline of the statue in front of him, and then drew on top armors and weapons from his mind, creating a peculiar drawing." - What? I try to imagine it and it turns out awful. It is not difficult why other people don't like your work. You just have a bad sense of aesthetics.

Then in chapter 2, he passed out drunk and the painting he was working on magically finished itself. And the description was:

"The brushstrokes were highly precise and clean. If he were to judge it would be one of the highest grade he had ever seen.

It was as if France’s Monet has came back to life to borrow his hand, and coated the hues onto the canvas."

-Are you for real? Monet has brushstrokes that are highly precise and clean? Are you talking about Monet or a robot?

And 'highest grade' nonsense are you talking about? Are you really able to judge the quality of the brushstrokes? If those brushstrokes are the highest grade you have ever seen, then those brushstrokes are even better that Goya's and Rembrandt's? Better than those masterpieces in the museum? - Loads and loads of crap!!!

And in the previous chapter you are complaining that those masterworks are predictable and boring, then now you used those same masterpieces to exalt your own work? Uh! The gall of the writer…

I was expecting a story that would present to us the world of art. Its history, its culture, its diversity. To appreciate Art and its importance to our lives.

Instead, we are told that the masterpieces and art from various cultures are predictable and boring. Such disrespect!

Meanwhile, the protagonist's lame sketches is presented as something that needs more praise and should have been more expensive. How narcissistic!

I have never come upon a story that brings out in me such anger and hatred. This fiction defiles history and prehistory to feed its massive ego, self-importance and narcissism.

There is wish-fulfillment, but this story went far beyond that. This deserves to be erased from existence!

And I hate the translator for making me experience such a vile abomination. I rather watch Food Fight! and Where The Dead Go To Die than read this excrement.

And author you can't write shit. How can you expose the world to such shameful and atrocious writing. You have no shame! <<less
50 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver rated it
I’m Really a Superstar
December 1, 2016
Status: c410
This was fun at the beginning but become rather tedious and nasty as it continues.

The most atrocious element of this story is the protagonist. He is just a really horrible person, but, the story supports him. It is a form of plot armor, so to speak. He constantly attack other people and the story just justifies it. He sexually assaults women (yes he does) and the story makes it out as if it was OK. There is one in the earlier chapters where he is given the power to give... more>> others misfortune and thus they get hurt, embarrassed, electrocuted, injured, etc. and the story says it is all alright. Well, it might be "alright" but it would not make the protagonist likeable.

The other characters are almost just as bad. They are all very flat. The good characters like his relatives are mostly annoying and the bad characters (villains) are morons.

The plot is really very repetitive and somewhat weak. Some moronic character appears and causes conflict in someway (usually by belittling him) then he slap their faces by producing the works from his world and presenting it as his. Then he receives praises and acclaim. This formula is then repeated over and over and over.

The worst part of the plot is, because he is just plagiarizing the works, you can't really contribute the success and praises to him. He doesn't deserve the praises he received. You can only attribute the praises to the work themselves and the original creators, not to the protagonist himself. This is not good considering that our protagonist isn't that likeable in the first place. At least we could like the protagonist for his great talents, but we can't.

Another problematic issue with the plot is the lack of tension. The story is setup so that he can not fail. He can undo time, become invisible, get ridiculous amount of luck, get skills without effort and so on. He can practically do anything.

And of course there is the goal, the reason why our protagonist is doing all of this. He wants to become famous. I don't need to tell you how shallow that is. A goal like that just can't carry a story very far and it shows.

The only element that drives this story is humor and they aren't the high quality kind. There is also a lack of variety to the humor which is mainly of over the top reactions and schadenfreude. Oftentimes the humor can be very dumb. I even believe that the Tom and Jerry cartoons has more variety in its humor than this. Its humor can quickly become tiring after being repeated far too often.

The story also depends on its humor solely for its driving power. I mean, if you read this, you will not be reading it for its characters, or for adventure, or for thought provoking commentary, etc. You will read it for the laughs. But then, the humor is mostly cheap and dumb, which makes the whole story, that only have humor its driving factor, rather cheap and dumb too.

I give a one and a half star mainly because it can still be entertaining in its dumbness and shallowness. Though, it might soon get tiresome as it doesn't really have anything to offer. <<less
39 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver rated it
Everyone Else is a Returnee
December 2, 2016
Status: c65
An inconsistent story that lacks direction, populated with characters that are barely interesting, and filled with forgettable adventures. It just makes lots of noise that just becomes wearisome the further it goes.

An abundance of plot holes and unexplained materials, combined with randomness of events makes for a story that lacks momentum. You can't feel that something big is in the horizon that the story is heading to but instead we got these random unconnected shenanigans that doesn't really pay off. Most just doesn't make sense nor do they provide developments... more>> to the story or character. Things just happen without any reason.

The characters have some interesting qualities, but they also contains qualities that ruins them. The protagonist for example. He is said to be very strong, reads all the books in the world, learns variety of languages, learns a lot of skill and even got help from angels. But he is also very dumb with very shallow aspirations and pretty much only interested on his own well being. The characters just doesn't have much to offer to the story.

And the setting is really inconsistent and underutilized. Adventure is out there, but our protagonist lock himself in his workshop. Really? There are monsters to face, powerful people to meet, crisis to solve but out protagonist is occupied with his hobbies?

And when the protagonist do comes out looking for adventures, random stuff would appear. So random in fact that the angels, that must be totally bored being stuck with him, has to constantly explain whatever the heck they are encountering now. Every time our protagonist walks out, the angels will spout exposition for anything to make any form of sense. Without the exposition, the setting is more illogical and random than Wonderland from Alice in Wonderland.

This is just some incoherent random piece of work. The author might literally just be writing what comes to mind to come up with something as garbled as this. <<less
27 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver rated it
Monster Factory
December 1, 2016
Status: c19
(Why does other reviewers who give this story five stars keep criticizing us who give it one star. Is our view less credible than yours? Is your views the only worthy views? Why don't you like take a look at the rating your give. Five stars... for this? Laughable!)

It started rather well by setting up a relate-able main character and presenting a very compelling problem for the main character. Then gives an interesting setup with this [Monster Factory] application that the main character is going to use to make his... more>> life better.

That is until the setup ends and the story starts. It was awful. Boring after boring chapters follows. It is already 19 chapters long and he still doesn't make a single complete transaction. Why does it takes that long just to sell an obviously superior product! Is the author unable to follow it up that this single transaction is stretched to such excessive length? Finish it be done already!

(Edit: And look another reviewer is complaining about my review. So Chinese are flowery and very verbose and stretch things very long. That just vindicate my reason. It is long, it is boring, it is so tedious. "Culture" is not excuse for bad writing or reason that make the practice good. It should serve a purpose. If it is flowery for no reason and just make the work boring, it is a flaw. The five star you give is the one that don't make sense.)

While the plot is being stretched to the breaking point, the author meanwhile decides to make the main character unlikable. The MC doesn't even complete one transaction yet and he suddenly act like douchebag. He doesn't have one transaction to his name and is almost broke yet he suddenly behave like some big shot, like that doesn't make him unlikable at all!

The other characters aren't any better. All of them aren't developed or likeable. There is no need to even name them. The monsters working for our MC literally doesn't have names. The author clearly doesn't care about them, so why do we?

And the prose. It isn't one the worst but there isn't really anything for it. This might be the translator's fault but the prose is so impersonal, you can almost feel that a robot wrote it. It is so choppy and crude that it resembles some caveman writing than modern prose. It is barely bearable to read once and you will have no interest to read it again.

This story after a rather adequate start but just doesn't deliver. It waste your time with its plot that is stretched thin, unlikable characters and poor writing. It is not worth reading.

Edit: And finally. This reviewer says: "It's like all the gripe are about stuff that's commonly found amongst Chinese culture and nothing to do with the story." Nothing to do with the story? Being boring, tedious pacing, flat and unlikable characters, bland writing... is nothing to do with the story? And you said you don't understand my reasoning? Yours is worse. It's idiotic. <<less
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver rated it
Tales of the Reincarnated Lord
December 1, 2016
Status: c91
There are the words "Tale" and "Reincarnated" and "Lord" in the tittle. You would expect that this story would give your a great fast paced adventure of a character that would utilize his memories from previous life to shake the new world. Sorry, but no. This story is far from that.

Fast paced adventure is far from the writers mind. For dozens of chapters, this story starts with what could essentially be called as backstories. It even has backstory of a backstory. In those dozens of chapters there is no identifiable... more>> story arc, story goals, story question or direction. It is just tell about our main characters experience when he still teaches at the academy. In the middle of it, the author somehow inserts our MC's hammy love story that has really nothing to do with anything whatsoever. That corny love story ends and it is never brought up again or have any significant affect to the story. Talk about waste of your time.

Now, since this story put so much effort in the backstory and the fact that he is a reincarnated modern day man, you would hope that the protagonist would be an interesting character. The answer is: No. He is rather bland actually.

My biggest issue with the protagonist is that he doesn't really feel like a modern man. He doesn't think, act, or have values of a modern man. He actually fits very well with all these natives. That makes him just blends in with the other characters and makes me unable to relate with him as a "modern man" we are told he is. His most "unique" aspect doesn't really stand out.

If you take off that "reincarnated man" aspect of the character, would the character hold? Uhh… somewhat. The protagonist isn't terrible, but he doesn't really have what it got as a protagonist of the story. He is very much unremarkable and generic. Nothing about him really sticks in your memories.

Also, by undermining the "modern man" nature of our protagonist, the story also undermines what the tittle and the summary advertise. That he is supposed to be a "Reincarnated" man. He doesn't really make good use of his previous knowledge and apply it to this new world. Some of his knowledge cripples him instead. One thing for sure, you won't read this story for the "Reincarnated" aspect.

This story just doesn't do its premise justice. Its "Tales" are slow, often dull, and sometimes, just wasteful. Its "Reincarnated" aspect is underutilized. And the "Lord" is bland and uninteresting. It does work fine as something to pass time but don't go in with high or even moderate expectations. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver rated it
The Dark King
February 12, 2017
Status: c292
The author's poor craft finally catch up.

The story becomes so fragmented and poorly structured! It is just a mess. The later chapter especially First the MC is doing this then suddenly something happens and the focus would latch onto that, then another thing happens and the focus would shift again. Random things just keeps happening! Instead of following up the events established, it instead constantly breaks the tension and suspense that is building up. It reach to a point that the fragmentation and randomness makes the story feel boring and... more>> tiresome. The story just doesn't make you feel immersed because of its unsteady structure

The characters are just flat and undeveloped, and, in later chapters, just becomes more and more idiotic. They constantly do a lot of questionable things, that is seemingly forced by the author to further the plot. At worst, it feels that the characters are plot devices that is just put there to make the story move, than be, you know, an actual character. Supporting this is the fact that numerous characters doesn't appear anymore, as if they never existed. Their purpose is done, and now they are gone.

I once give this a four stars since, while not perfect, it is entertaining enough and coupled with fast translation. Now, the story is just messy and boring and the translation, speedy as it is, just can't catch the slack. So I take one star out. The story has its run, and now it is losing steam. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver rated it
Coder Lee Yongho
December 6, 2016
Status: c103
I started okay, then just become so boring.

I've studied Computer Science and has experience, so that cheat debugger is very interesting for me. And it was very great at first as he explores the power of the debugger.

Then he decided to stop using it because it is stunting his development as a programmer. I go… WHAT?

It's a debugger! How is something like that be stunting you! Are you really going to find all those bugs from a program with millions of lines by yourself?… Why are these supposedly "smart" protagonist... more>> so prone to making extremely stupid decisions.

And now you are getting bored to death as the impossibility of the task of debugging the software manually become apparent. We are given details of Lee working out his problems without the help of his cheat. Then what the heck is the cheat for? The author might just as well write about a normal person if the cheat isn't going to be utilized anyway.

Then we are bombarded with technical details of computer programming.… If you are not versed with computer programming and computer science, you'll be bored by the details. If you do know these things, you'll be bored because the story is just wasting your time.

And the characters are so damned boring. Lee Yongho, you are the most boring protagonist I've ever meet. The other characters are boring as well. And the worst part? The story decides to focus on them. For character development or some shit. That would have been great, if the characters aren't hellishly boring!

This is an epitome of boring novels. It just becomes more and more dreary as it goes on. My head has gone numb from reading all of it. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver rated it
Gourmet Food Supplier
March 4, 2017
Status: --
A very fun story to read. However the MC somewhat makes it a bit less interesting. The MC is just not the right kind of character to carry the premise. He has very little interest in cooking, he barely interacts with the costumers, he doesn't care much about his business and he doesn't do much anything interesting. This becomes very detrimental in chapters that focus on the MC. Those chapters are palatable at best, completely flavorless and bland at worst. He often comes off as an annoyance.

The most fun... more>> you get here comes from the costumers. They are varied, colorful and interesting characters that just brings in the fun. The chapters that centers on those various costumers is where the story the shines the most. However, even then, there is this unfortunate fly on this heavenly fried egg rice, the MC often disrupts the experience with his nasty appeal. I virtually erase his interruptions in my mind.

The concept is really good and you can see it, especially when the story focus on the costumers and their various reactions, but the MC somewhat tarnishes the overall experience. I suggest that you skip the chapters where the MC is the focus for a more wholesome experience. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver rated it
Skeleton Knight, in Another World
December 4, 2016
Status: v4c4
Good enough read but doesn't seem to know what it wants to do.

The story's best aspect would have to be the storytelling. The writer is really good in immersing you in the story's world, character and events. The elements are well balanced to give you that immersive experience.

The setting is another of the story's strong point. There are magic, magical creatures, various settlements, etc.. There are a lot of fantastical elements and the story is quite successful in letting you experience it. We travel from place to place and get... more>> close to with the fantastical world.

Still it has major flaws that really dims your enjoyment. One thing that you would notice after reading further in is that it has a serious case of sagging-middle syndrome. Sagging middle is the condition where the middle part of the story lost its way and doesn't carry the momentum of the beginning part. A common symptom is when the story wanders around and doesn't seem to know where it would go. Events happens with little relationship from each other. At worst, the story becomes episodic. The only thing that connects the events together are the characters.

Another issue I have is the story often inserts humor to the detriment of the story. A huge part of a chapter or a whole chapter would be devoted to slapstick and comedic situations. That is alright I guess, but I'm not really into that kind of humor. I don't really find them that funny.

There is also the rather lackluster characters. They are not that flat or boring. It just that, there could have been more. They could have been more complex, more varied, more substantial. So far they are okay. Not great, not good; just okay.

It could have been done better. It is entertaining as it is, but you can't help but wish for it to have something more. Some more character depth, more action scenes, more coherence, etc.. Still, it is enjoyable enough if there is nothing else to read. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver
Stunning Edge
February 7, 2017
Status: --
Enjoyable, if unsubstantial.

The plot isn't very complex and lacks surprises or creativity. Reading, you pretty much know what you are going to get. Pretty much pop flick style, enjoyable, but nothing else.

The characters also lacks complexity and nuances, especially the secondary ones. A word or two can adequately describe them. They aren't detestable or infuriating, but there is just nothing more.

... more>> The description is rather minimal and generic.

And it doesn't go deeply into the themes it touches, like religion. It uses them more as motivations for the events that is happening.

Overall, a rather average work. It is something enjoyable enough but offers nothing more than that. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver rated it
God of Cooking
February 2, 2017
Status: --
It is a good read overall but I do have some complaints with it.

One thing I had a problem with is the lack of dimension. Yes, it is about cooking, but limiting it in setting (it focuses too much on characters) and culture (many cultures are not represented) really waste a lot of potential.

My second complaint are the characters. They are rather flat. I don't hate them, but they aren't really very interesting, and the story focuses a lot on them.

And there is also the pacing. Sometimes, it would just... more>> becomes so very slow. A whole series of chapter would just have them just talking about nothing. It will just become so damn boring. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report