Report Review
Report Reason:
25 Reviews


Jarrow
Jarrow rated it
The Dark King
January 20, 2017
Status: c90
I had initially rated this series fairly highly, as a good post-apoc modern/future dark fantasy, which is a pretty open field without many examples in that genera. Certain plot holes had made me wonder what the author was setting up, which is both good and bad: it could mean that the author is either setting up and planning plot lines well ahead of time, or he's winging it with an asspull. Both seem to be true, for now.

The recent immersion breaking disappointment seems to indicate that the author is... more>> writing a kick-the-dog variant, with the characters doing whatever is maximally Evil or Stupid to set up how awesome the MC must be to conquer everything. Not my cup of tea, anymore. I'll come back to it in a hundred chapters or so and make a final decision.

Spoiler

After spending 3 years in a forced, brutal, sometimes-lethal, survivalist training school where the leadership complains about the cost on every appearance, the MC and Co are sent out on their first mission with nothing but a poor-quality knife, zero intel about what they might be facing, little-to-no information on what they should be scavenging and how, and zero combat training. And it's done under 'instructors' that can't care less if the poor suckers survive - and most of them don't. So much for whining about how expensive they are to train. Later, after all the buildup of how deadly the environment is, the MC does everything he could possibly do wrong in that sort of environment, and has no problems. Granted, he later gets a macguffin that eliminates those threats, but he shouldn't have survived that long in the 1st place. Next it's exposed that they aren't told about the most valuable things they can retrieve, and even if they do, they are short-changed by more then an order of magnitude, if not robbed outright. The entire segment is nothing but an author wank for how stupidly evil the entire leadership is, and how wonderful the MC must be to triumph. Blech.

[collapse]
<<less
35 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jarrow
Jarrow rated it
ReBirth ~ From the Upper World to the Lower World
November 28, 2016
Status: c30
This title puts the helium in 'light novel'. No substance, all fluff; nothing new or different. Plot armor is measured in meters. MC's choices vary from predictable to idiotic. Side characters are made of cardboard. This is truly a thoughtless read.

Some people may like that.

... more>>
Spoiler

Examples: (all from MC's POV since nobody else really exists)
1) "Please incarnate me as a chuuni - no need for a childhood, family, or backstory, ~kthxby~!"
2) Chapter 2: From First Kill to Grill in a single sentence.
3) "I could really use a map" ~Poof~ "Majic plez" ~Poof~ "I can has language?" ~Poof~ . . . .
4) "Hi, you're the 4th person I've talked to, and you are a young, cute, nekomimi slave? Oooh, neeto!"
4.5) "Wow, the slave owner sure died fast, guess you're my property now!"
4.9) "I'll split the money three ways for the three survivors, except I'll release the old, ugly, lizard guy and give him the cash, but the cute young nekomimi with the sad past I'll keep enslaved and keep her money, too!"
5) Levelups for others: +7 in 2 years. With MC's plot armor: +7 in 2 weeks.
6) "Dawww - I'm a nice person, I'm not going to screw you on the first night. Slave. ; ) "
Had enough. Quitting here.

[collapse]

Note that the author deleted the raws once he got published, so translations are from archival sources and include changes the author made mid-story (several of them). Also, the chapters are ~1.5 pages of text apiece - really short chapters. <<less
24 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jarrow
Jarrow rated it
Instant Kill
June 3, 2016
Status: --
NOTE KEEP THIS IN MIND TO MAKE IT MUCH MORE ENJOYABLE:
Fu is 符, translates to 'rune'
Zhou is 咒, translates to 'curse', 'spell', or 'incantation'

From the story:
"Fu Knights mainly produce FuZhou, and Zhou Knights mainly use Fuzhou. There is not a strict difference between the two, some Fu Knights can use FuZhou to attack, and some Zhou Knights can make good FuZhou. However, FuZhou Knights have the most balanced abilities.”

- Fu Warriors are people who can't use or create Fu, but are able to be imprinted with... more>> Fu that strengthen their body to super-human levels. They can also use Fu weapons - tools embedded with Fu that give them magical properties - though these haven't been described very well yet.
- Fu Knights are people who can create Fu and Fu weapons, but don't usually use them. They're the combat artisans and weaponsmiths of this world. Fu Warriors can very rarely be promoted to Fu Knights, as usually kids with potential to become Fu Knights are identified early on and trained for that role specifically. Fu Warriors are generally those 'left over' who don't make the cut as a potential Knight.

- Zhou Knights can use Fu, but generally can't create them. They are the combat masters. They start off as Zhou Warriors and can easily be promoted to Zhou Knights as they gain power and experience. This makes the warrior/knight terminology a pain due to the inconsistency.

- FuZhou Knights can both create and use Fu, but can't use the standard physical power-up body runes, and so are weak to start with, but power up immensely as they gain experience / skills. This is our MC, of course.

Finally, (for terminology) the levels warrior / knight / master are just the beginning three power levels of nine total. Cktalon of Gravity did a personal translation of the levels: Apprentice, Knight, Master, Erratic Master, Sacred Master, Grand Sacred Master, Fake Soul Realm, and Real Sacrificial Alter.

The first translator did not explain the terms at all, and they get used All The Time. Really made it difficult for me to get through the beginning chapters, since I had NO idea what the difference / implications / style were.

The story is slow, but ok - I envision an early Conan-The-Barbarian-style world with item spellcasters and body enchanters. The characterizations fall a little flat - the MC "12th", falls into the 'genius character, normal author' trope - writing for him states he's all that, but can't really show it. Side characters are very much side characters - one dimensional tropes: 'The Girl', 'The Sniper', 'Generic Swordsman' 'Dumb Berserker', 'The Master', etc. Still works well enough, though, for the current length. Time will tell if it gets to be a problem as it builds.

Worldbuilding is overall good, though when it fails, it's horrible (food production and economics, for two of the more painful moments). I do like some of the implications present, though, and hope the author explores them. <<less
20 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jarrow
Jarrow rated it
Tales of the Reincarnated Lord
September 9, 2016
Status: --
This is an Er Gen level work, with excellent translation. Reader be warned: no shallow, meaningless xianxia plots here. Expect actual character interaction and growth - even of side characters. World building is superb, with economics, social class interaction, and fantasy elements handled with skill and aplomb. Perspective weaves a tale between the characters and the world, drawing you in and sharing the story with you. Very pleasant.

This is not a work you can skip into and out of whenever a new chapter gets posted. ... more>> Let chapters build before a binge.

Frankly, this is the sort of writing I expect from professional fantasy authors at Brandon Sanderson's level, and I'm surprised to find it in a translated xianxia novel.
Note many of the complaints are from people expecting a 'light novel'. This is not a light novel - expect real authorship, not daily word-count. Another common complaint are frequent 'infodumps': they are not infodumps. Granted, much plot worthy information is being provided to paint the functioning society that is presented, but it is being done so as interactions between characters an/or their environment, not as in forth-wall breaking author-speeches.

Also - no potholes, which is a pleasant relief from the caricature-inspired idiocies from various Rich Young Silkpants and Malicious Uncle Elders in other works. <<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jarrow
Jarrow rated it
Risou no Himo Seikatsu
March 26, 2016
Status: --
You have a 10' x 5' x 8' volume (magic carpet), and can bring anything that can fit, and you'll spend the next 40 years in a tropical medieval environment. What are your choices? : ) (Does Wikipedia have a print version? Cubic Zirconium costs $10 per carat, any color or none : )

Ignore the 1's from the slaughter-folk, this is an otherworldly slice-of-life story without Extreme Phlebotinum or Teenage Violence Wish Fulfillment. A fairly smart MC sets himself up for a responsible, happy family life... more>> with a new Queen who had been in such a bad situation that asking a stranger to knock her up was her best bet. Meanwhile, the MC has to tiptoe around the local politics to prevent a chauvinism-driven rebellion against his wife if he seems too active or competent to certain ambitious nobles.

Expect a real-ish world bent on politics and development, without Miraculous Science. Magic is impressive, but limited; science is limited to what the salaryman can invent or remember. My choices for the shipping volume would be different, but the MC still needs to answer to the storyline: "look it up on wikipedia" would destroy much of the drama. : )

The Japanese author also writes pretty well about the collision of Japanese Social Customs and the Otherworldly European Equivalent. A fun read. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jarrow
Jarrow rated it
The Mightiest Manager
October 5, 2016
Status: c7
Like it's fellow Korean spiritual cousins, (EER, SSN, and ETotH) The Mightiest Manager is part of the 'soft Apocalypse' genre, where mankind experienced the End Of The World, and made it through mostly ok, dodging much of the tragedy and grimdark that normally accompany such works.

At 7 chapters, the story is just getting started, but the motives and character of the MC are already well defined, with the secondary characters also fleshed out into people with growth potential, vs the usual one-dimensional plot-pushers. The world building - both... more>> present and implied - is well above average for the genre. Translation is detailed and flows well, so the novel is overall quite enjoyable so far. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jarrow
Jarrow rated it
World Defying Dan God
February 4, 2016
Status: --
The storyline seems basic Xianxia, Though things seem to pile up for the MC in a rather short order, as others have mentioned. Villains are so far entirely one-dimensional “heh heh heh – waste, I will destroy you!” [3 min later] “oh god, I so regret…!” Even the MC and Helpers are pretty much just cardboard cutouts, without any real connections. It has potential, though I doubt it will ever be an Er Gen level. Unfortunately, the translation is only 2/5, and seemingly getting more... more>> awkward, not less. That killed a lot of the enjoyment. If the translator got an english editor, it could get a lot better.

EDIT: Sorry – can’t help myself Re: Star_God’s review – His grammar is about the same as the translations. : }

EDIT2: English is the 3rd or lower language of the translator - As a monolingual, I'll shut up on the quality. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jarrow
. . . aaaaand I'm done. I can't read this any more. Not going to rate it, since it's well translated and I'm sure it's fetish aspect will be a welcome attraction to the people that are into it, but that's not me. Spoilering the rest:
... more>>
Spoiler

You just gotta know that he's not going to stop brainwashing girls and sucking their tits for bonus skill points. It was 'acceptable' when he was an infant, but the creepy line is riiight up ahead. Nope nope nope.

Mushoku Tensei did the reincarnation-as-a-baby thing very well - it was one of the best hooks in the storyline (the fact that he seemingly regressed afterwards due to the author's need for him not to become to OP damaged the story for me). This story tries, but doesn't measure up.
Finally, I'm no big fan of brainwashing and mind controlling sex slaves, which is basically the direction this storyline seems to be going; so time for me to bow out.

If brainwashing women to milk their tits is Relevant To Your Interests, then enjoy - the author pays a great deal of attention to the texture, taste, and scent, as well as the humiliation angles - so it'll be popular among that crowd. YMMV.

[collapse]
<<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jarrow
Jarrow rated it
Absolute Choice
January 21, 2017
Status: --
As a short one-shot, this would be good comedy. As a long-running serial, it gets old real fast. The MC is not particularly likeable, and the chuni behavior is eye-rollingly irritating after the first 20 chapters or so. Even the core premise (the choices) gets watered down or ignored if the author chooses.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jarrow
Jarrow rated it
Spirit Vessel
July 8, 2016
Status: c22
I still can't believe people who go through the effort of translating, but can't take the time to edit the result. The translator does not use quotes for dialog, rather begins the line with a dash. Frequent grammar mistakes on top of an average story made this unreadable for me. YMMV.

EDIT:
Ok, on the advice of others I gave this another shot. The 'speaking dash' goes away eventually, and the grammar improved, which made the storyline much more accessible. On the downside, there's a plot whiplash... more>> at around ch20 that broke immersion, and reduced my empathy and tolerance for the author, story, and main characters to below-enjoyable levels. The premise, remember, is a a soul-possession reincarnation of a Betrayed Supreme Being - and I cannot connect the MC with any part of that backstory anymore. The MC completely comes across as a slightly-dumb child bragging he's a genius, supported exclusively by the wishes of the plot (basically a perfect chinese chuuni), which grates on the nerves almost immediately.. The caricature characterizations of the rest of the roles put an bland topping on a no-longer-unappetizing cake.unappetizing cake. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jarrow
Jarrow rated it
The Portal of Wonderland
April 18, 2017
Status: c160
The Good:
World building is done fairly well, if not with the simple elegance of IET's works, it's at least comprehensible. The MC comes across as human, and isn't MGA's psychopath; he does make friends and does not mindlessly slaughter. The arcs are largely enjoyable with decent pacing and well-painted descriptions, which help with the visualization.

The Bad:
Two major complaints jump up in the novel: Each arc is a virtually separate story, and the MC has noticeable personality changes in each segment. For example, the author tweaked... more>> the MC"s character from: a warmly dedicated son, -> a cold, underground fighter, -> a sneaky sect disciple, -> a courageous soldier -> a manipulative spy, etc.

Secondly, the side characters exist only for the use of the plot. This is pretty common in chinese fiction, but it doesn't make it any less annoying. In each arc, the side characters dance to their assigned tone, and are then dismissed; they become utterly forgettable. That means you have difficulty making any real connection to the MC, since his 'family' around him gets continuously recycled, so no real social expectations exist.

The Summary:
An OK read, enjoyable enough that I hope it gets picked up again, but not a F5 sect level. : ) Let the chapters pile into arcs, and binge read that way. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jarrow
Jarrow rated it
Destination of Crybird
January 20, 2017
Status: --
Dark but fun. It is a Japanese reincarnation LN, with the usual tropes, but of a more humanistic, darker nature than most lighthearted reincarnation novels. Worth the read, and I really hope the new translator keeps going - I missed it, it's a compelling story.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jarrow
Jarrow
Lightning Empress Maid
February 19, 2017
Status: --
I couldn't make it past the grammar, and gave up on the 5th chapter. The story is given from a first person, stream-of-conscious point of view, and it's composed of a sentence or two, then an one word statement, then another sentence, etc. What you can choose to call dialog is so woven with thoughts that it's difficult to separate them; a pattern of (someone says something) / (MC thinks to herself) / (MC gives pessimistic answer), repeated over and over and over. Too painful to... more>> read.

The story itself has decent reviews, so if you can tolerate the formatting, it may be rewarding. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jarrow
Jarrow rated it
Stranger’s Handbook
September 10, 2016
Status: --
This would be best summed up as a dark comedy with a bent morality. Part of the the shock value comes from the casual evil of the main characters, yet they are presented humorously and with warmth. That plants this LN firmly in the cognitive dissonance subtrope, with the humor and contempt blending and competing for your attention.

The MC is, unfortunately, in most respects a standard Japanese pervert MC archetype, just a little older than usual. Loli Harem will ensue (ages 16 and 10, as of ch45.... more>> The MC is in his late 30s'). <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jarrow
Jarrow
Ghost Hunt
March 26, 2016
Status: --
This series is a personal favorite - the anime, manga and novels. Each provides a subtly different reflection, based on the medium, but all three are excellent entertainment.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jarrow
Jarrow rated it
Hisshou Dungeon Unei Houhou
February 27, 2017
Status: c10
Couldn't make it any farther than ch10. Japanese 'justice' has the motto "hate the crime, not the criminal", and that's in full force here; with horrific Evil Crimes whitewashed in a single sentence. Ten chapters is too short to comment on character growth (or lack thereof) but the trends shown in non-existent dungeon operations and harem building so far make any expectation for that a laughable concept. Now I'm going to go back and reread The Lazy Dungeon Master and the OEN I Was Reincarnated Into A... more>> Dungeon to get the flavor of this novel out of my mind. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jarrow
Jarrow
Mahou Shoujo Ikusei Keikaku
November 28, 2016
Status: v1
Since nobody else has stepped up for this, I'll toss out my review.

It's not unique to Japan, but a frequent trope of Japanese fiction is to take something lovely, pure, and innocent, and go: "what if we made this really malicious and evil?" (or vice-versa, to be honest). This is how we got Deamons working at Combis and preschoolers performing abortions with scissors. This story follows that later trope.

Since I'm not a fan of this genre, I'll leave out the analysis of the story itself... more>> for those who are, and get to the technical bits.

The Google Docs format is a pain, and don't expect them to be around long, since Yen Press has licensed this already :P , but the translations are well done and well formatted, which is the most important part. If Madoka was inside your strike zone (literaturely-speaking : ) then you'll enjoy this as well. With 7+ books already fully translated, it'll be a wonderful binge. Some characters reappear between books, but the deathcount is high, so don't get too attached to any of them - treat it as a set of related stories.

The end of book 1:
Spoiler

It's not a total downer ending, the big bad of this book does not make it to the end credits, at least, and hope is allowed. No assurances as to whether or not that sticks around the rest of the series, though.

[collapse]
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jarrow
Jarrow rated it
Beast Piercing The Heavens
September 5, 2016
Status: c20
Not worth wasting time over. The MC is the trash people accuse him of being - not because he's incompetent, but because the author simply writes him differently to address every situation, without a consistent character. The rest of the people are one dimensional cliches at best: The Evil Family Head, The Malicious Cousin, The Adopted LittleSister etc. Worldbuilding has been shallow so far (and I'm too irritated with the story to go any farther) with no real descriptive passages for scenery or people - with the... more>> single exception of several paragraphs describing some big tits the MC comes across and promptly tries to seduce. If that's the way the harem is going to form, then it's a Good Thing I dropped this early on. : ) (Not a fan of stupidity harems) <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jarrow
Jarrow rated it
Grimgal of Ashes and Illusion
May 19, 2016
Status: v3c1
hrm. There are many aspects of this novel that I could complain about, and several of the reviews have already touched on them (Ranta, pacing, characterizations, Ranta, plot wandering, Ranta, etc.)

Yet the world building and storytelling in the background is detailed enough to be compelling, yet invites your own creativity in imagining it. I find myself returning to this novel for rereading on an occasional basis, which is usually a mark of a Good Novel, which I don't really think it is. Perplexing, yet enjoyable, would be an adequate... more>> description. Read it; it may be your cup of tea. : ) <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jarrow
Jarrow
Occupation: Adventurer; Race: Various
March 30, 2016
Status: --
Setup isn't bad, concepts are decent, though the tropes are so overused that they've been worn squeaky, the translation is pretty good. I'd normally say this has a decent potential. The bad occurred mostly in the last few chapters (20+) as follows:

... more>>
Spoiler

1) The dad is expressed as a weak willed horndog desperate for tail, despite screwing his beautiful wife nightly.
2) Then they hire a beautiful woman with Dark Secrets for a martial arts instructor - expose the secrets existence, then timeskip 6 years, until her Dark Secrets lead her to EAT the father and delimb/kill the mother. ie: standard japanese plotting - gotta get rid of the family so the Adventure Can Begin. Ignoring the fact that a SINGLE QUESTION: "Why are you titled 'Calamity'" sometime in 6 years would have saved everyone. (no mention if the horndog dad screwed her over the timeskipped 6 years she was living with them, either)
3) Single Page (or less) chapter lengths. Seriously - 28 chapters, maybe 20 pages typed? I the same amount of time waiting for page refreshes as I did reading.
So, CORRECTION: Setup is piss poor. Not reading this further.

[collapse]
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report