Report Review
Report Reason:
14 Reviews


Buffelephant
Buffelephant rated it
God and Devil World
April 14, 2016
Status: --
Read all the translations and thought it was pretty cool. Then I read the rest of the novel in the raw and it just gets worse. It reaches the point it becomes garbage. This isn't a novel showing the darkness of human nature but a novel illustrating the author's perverted view of society.

It might start seeming nationalist and pro-Chinese when the mc interacts with people from other countries. Then the writing becomes lazy and diverges from a pro-Chinese sentiment to a persecution complex. America hates Chinese people so they... more>> didn't share technology. Japanese people think they are so much better than us but they just like raping our women. It turns into every other country hates Chinese people and we Chinese people are the best because we rape people less then other countries, we also don't eat people like other some savage countries, and because us Chinese are stronger than everyone else. That's why everyone hates us.

The monsters and settings aren’t consistent and new threats come out of nowhere before the first problem gets solved. New plot elements are also introduced before it gets explained. The author seems to throw in new concepts and then changes his mind about them the next few chapters later. Let's introduce game cities were they can exchange credits for items. Naw, I didn't like that idea so I'll only introduce it once. Hundred chapters later, let's bring back the city again but this time have ancient bloodlines that you can morph into. I will only introduce it and no person or monster gets effected by this new element because I changed my mind.

Besides settings constantly changing the monsters are always replaced with something new before the first type is killed. The animals effected by the virus and the zombies are the first group. Cities are plagued by these guys but before mankind kills them all... Something else is introduced because zombies became boring. Authors writes in a way that seems like, Since their boring they don’t matter anymore. Even though the world is still a zombie fest lets introduce new monster. New monster is boring, lets ingnore it and introduce some other junk before I finish conflict with new monster. Threats are always added but no conclusion to past problems.

The story repeats itself, and shows some lazy writing. This group rapes more than my group. Let's fix that. Oh look, a new group of people who rape and kill more than me. I think I'll kill them all and take the women. Mc is met constantly with a new group of people (who act the same as the last group) after being transported to a new area. That group is always stronger than he is by at least a factor of a million. He takes over that group but before he can solidify his power he gets transported to a new area. In new area he mets a new group that’s stronger than him by a factor of a million, and repeat.

Lots of Characters who have little meaning. The new areas need new people. They are introduced, given a backstory copied from people in the last arc with a new name plastered on them, but eventually they have no meaning. Here’s Japanese male. He’s evil has evil group, they like to rape. His name is villain b, don't confuse him with villain a, that guy was exactly the same but Chinese. Mc gets teleported somewhere far away and never sees villain a or b again. He does run into villain c though.

The racism and sexism obviously became boring so the author covers it up later in the series through creating conflicts with other species as the primary focus, but he doesn't completely get rid of it either.

I’d rate it as 4 if you read maybe 200 chapters and rate it .01 if you read all of it.

5/5 for the translating staff working on this. <<less
49 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Buffelephant
Buffelephant rated it
Tales of the Reincarnated Lord
September 8, 2016
Status: c104
Liked the world building. The story. The characters. The authors presentation of the story could use some work.

Confusing first few 30 chapters. Lots of jumbled information. For instance, The author tells you things like the mc entered dark stage of his inner strengthen technique. It's to bad he decided to train his meridians and not focus on his beast blood because now he's stuck at iron level. His friend over there is gold level even though he's crippled. So your like, what the heck does that mean. It takes at... more>> least 5 chapters later in a flash back to understand, but at that point the plot just started and the story was going just to be side tracked by a flash back. Then you return to the present, just for a second, because another flash back, before your back into the story. <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Buffelephant
Buffelephant rated it
Summoned Slaughterer
July 1, 2016
Status: --
Kinda lame. Brutal killer mc who repressed his nature in Japan so he wouldn't go to jail. Ends up in a fantasy world and just kills. At first, it seemed he had reason. I killed because you kidnapped and were using me. Later you find out he was a psychopath who likes to kill. How can I trick people into attacking me so I can kill them.

The fantasy world is built on the premis that humans lack the desire to fight each other. Humans mainly fight other races, there... more>> is a minuscule amount of wars between humans, so the mc comes in and brings our worlds knowledge of warfare to this seemingly peaceful world. He becomes untouchable with this knowledge and just kills friends or foe. It doesn't matter as long as he gets to kill. Which means there's no real story needed, no plot, no good character development, or any character smarter than the mc. It just has something for the mc to kill and the over powered method the mc kills it. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Buffelephant
Buffelephant rated it
The Lazy Swordmaster
January 20, 2017
Status: c37
I dislike this author's writing style. Each chapter doesn't really tell you much. There is cliff hanger after hanger and nothing gets really accomplished. A western writer would use one chapter to accomplish the same plot with the same details as 6 chapters this author uses.

For instance chapter A the enemy fought the mc. CH B side character sees them fight. Ch C the other side character sees the fight comining to an end. CH D the fight gets interrupted. CH F the fight starts again but with new enemies.... more>> Ch G the mc runs away and everyone is still alive. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Buffelephant
Buffelephant rated it
Taming Master
November 7, 2016
Status: c21
The guy just likes to game, so much he ignores school. Go to college, get a good job, and make money is what society wants from him. Actually he makes a ton of money in game, so who needs school anyways. Well that's his thoughts, but when threatened by his professor to send a report card to his parents the mc panics a little. Most likely his parents might make him come back home to farm.

That's the general synobsis of what's been translated, minus the cool gaming system and... more>> up the Mcs playing style. The vr world for this web novel is trying to be realistic as possible. So far no development on any character besides the mc and his dog. Npcs don't look like they'll play a big part. The mc tries to analyze every aspect of the game. That's what he enjoys doing. Let's catch, a thousand wolves to see if there are any differences between them. He does this with a class that's losing popularity because leveling is harder than most others. He finds out how to play this new class and breaks the game because of how he analyzes things and exploits advantages. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Buffelephant
Buffelephant rated it
The Ultimate Evolution
September 29, 2016
Status: v6c14
Not as good as terror infinity. The movie characters are treated as normal npcs by the players. They lack life. The mc will treat them as a friend one second then kill them for loot the next. Characters lack depth and are one dimensional. Maybe, later in the story more depth will be given, the plot might become richer, but at the moment the story is rushed with no meaning and random violence.

The thing that really bothers me about this novel is how it takes another work for the plot,... more>> then doesn't follow the lore of that work.

Spoiler

Lord of the rings world, let's add elves that don't exist and say the movie never showed them. Let's ignore the lore of the books and make wizards like Chinese cultivators. Harry Potter world, lets make up some goblin backstory of them being the greatest kingdom. Let's also make a prison for one evil existence that never existed. Also randomly tag gang, drug, and sex problems to hog warts but never ever show any interactions with students. Let's have pirates of the Caribbean and make a super power family that doesn't exist because this happened before the movie.

[collapse]
<<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Buffelephant
Buffelephant rated it
Dungeon Hunter
September 17, 2016
Status: c25
Most of the comments that are negative, seem to have read a different story then the one I read.

I like the original opening story:

First, the mc is a demon competing to be a devil. In the demon world he barely survived until he reached the bottom rank of nobility. He thought he was tough and wanted to challenge the Dukes and Grand Dukes. He lost miserably. He hid and licked his wounds swearing to return when he's stronger.

He came up from the bottom and has no allies. All... more>> other demon nobility fall under a faction of grand duke because the demon world is ruthless and they need to rely on a powerful King like figures or they will be torn to shreds by nobles with more power. The mc just killed a nobility and took his place, so he was an exception to the rule.

Then this game comes into play. A game to be a devil. It happens while the mc is hiding getting stronger for his revenge, and so he joins this game with the other demon nobles. They get their own dungeon on earth and battle it out, the factions in the demon world transfer over to earth. The mc being a loner strives to do everything himself. He Fails miserably, Dies and gets brought back to the past to try again. He knows some rules before an other demon does because of this time travel. He obviously will exploit it, and this is where the story starts.

The character is cool:

He is a demon noble, so he is ruthless. Since losing badly the first time though, he changes. He will try to rely on humans and others this time around. Well, since he is still a demon he sees most humans as points to evolve his dungeon. Similar to how gamers kill some npcs for loot, ignore the random mobs because there is no point in killing them for no exp, and like a very small few who are useful. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Buffelephant
Buffelephant rated it
Legend of the Cultivation God
August 22, 2016
Status: c154
To talk about this novel simply, if you want to read a work of Chinese wuxia or xianxia in a well written literature formate, this is it.

Some say it's boring or takes to long to develop action. It's true. Bodies don't fall starting from the sky. Plot is developed like a book, characters arnt one dimensional, and the mc has a dynamic development that makes sense. Most, if not all, Characters have meaning to them, the setting is explained, and sects conflicting with each other are given reasons.... more>> So it is a slow paced and boring work of fiction, if you don't expect something that's written like a good book.

You won't find simple, I'll kill you because I can. Clans don't think that the light sects should kill all dark sects simply because one type is evil. Even those characters in other Chinese web novels who are prideful and look down on the mc because he is a farmer are explained with reason. Their pride is justified to a point that it's not only tolerable but understandable for that characters backstory. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Buffelephant
Buffelephant rated it
Great Demon King
November 7, 2016
Status: c182
I like this story because the arcs are connected and almost every character matters. No side characters are really dropped and never heard from again. Some wuxia the mc makes a friend with someone and next arc you'll never see them again. Not the case here. Even random servant friends will appear out of nowhere again.

The plot is different than most wuxia too. The mc doesn't just do one task at a time but has multiple objectives. It's more realistic than simply staying in a cave trying to upgrade... more>> a realm for years forgetting about all your friends. He has to help friends from starving, while exploring the unknown, and learn magic. Actually the mc is constantly working on different objectives. For example in the ch 180s:
Spoiler

While he is trying to upgrade his zombies, he has to fight rebels, and then he has investigate some mysterious dark church.

[collapse]
They aren't split into different arcs but happen all together. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Buffelephant
Buffelephant rated it
Emperor of Solo Play
October 13, 2016
Status: 59
It is decent. The translators do a good job at making the English flow well (since I can't read Korean I can't say it's translated correctly though). The premise is cool, being betrayed and seeking revenge by coming to the past and doing group missions solo. Even the action and how he plays the game.

The main problem this story has, at least for me, is how the author describes the game. If the author wouldn't throw random info dumps that makes the game unplayable, the story would be better.

First,... more>> is how the game cost so much money but has 1 million players at the start and in three years it becomes 10 million active players. That sounds small but the game Costs more than $10k per year to play the game, without in game bought items. If you don't buy in game items you'll be a noob. The game unit itself is as expensive as a car, and that's for the lowest tier version. So basically a game for the rich. The game cost so much money each second is important but players can't even stop newb killing or pking to steal items, while the mc levels to like 60 in just a few months and ends up more powerful than those riffraff.

But the game isn't even that good. Well, that's what the author keeps saying. Info dumps like how The battles are so complex and confusing we wonder why we play, so expensive and exhausting but we still play. To craft the shake a box with random monster material, makes people want to rage quit when the put it dragon bones and might get trash back. Even the tutorial is so gruesome it makes newbies decide to quit. The story even mentions that there are other vr games out there that are free with only in game purchases and other RPGs but this warlord vr game is still the most popular.

The author could have never wrote these descriptions that pop up at times and the story would be perfect. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Buffelephant
Buffelephant rated it
Life Mission
August 30, 2016
Status: c28
Apocalyptic and video games mixed into one. If you liked terror infinity, arena, and the evolution theory of the hunter; than life mission will probably be something you will enjoy. The characters have a lot more freedom than the characters in terror infinity.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Buffelephant
Buffelephant rated it
Arena
August 8, 2016
Status: c48
This novel has a certain spark that captivates attention. It has the same premise of Gantze or Terror Infinity except, the protagonist remains connected to society. The story takes the character to a world were death comes at a notice moment. It is still the beginning of the story so the story right now is mainly world building and explanation. Action is present still and we readers can see how easily this story will turn into adrenalin rich text. The story also has a built in respite after such a... more>> rush because the mc is still attached to his family and society. It gives the story premis for which the mc draws his attachment to survival.

The power system hasn't been fully explained. For instance,
Spoiler

why does the mc have a summoning skill option that's special, when others don't?

[collapse]
It does however fit logically within the premis of the story and allows the story to generate a ton of action. The characters get some power, based on karma they improve themselves. Karma is awarded based on how well they survive in this fantasy death world.

The main problem I see with this story is a slight lack of emotional attachment, from us readers and even the mc, to the side characters. The story has its death at any moment environment. We expect some people to die. Actually, we expect lots of people to die. The characters are cool and not necessarily flat. Yet, if one or two disappear they won't be missed.

This could be that the story hasn't progressed too far, so not enough bonds have been made to care about these side characters. It could be a problem all translated works have, that information is always lost in translation. For now, we don't really show much reaction to someone's death. The mc hasn't reacted much to death either. He seems like he could easily turn into a psychopath if he didn't get returned back to society after each round, and he's only been to 3 rounds (basically a noob) so far.

The translator seems to be doing a great job so far at translating this novel. I haven't checked the Korean to English translation to see how well they are doing, but the story flows well in English. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Buffelephant
Decent read. Light hearted virtual reality game exploration. Instead of playing the game by clearing dungeons and leveling, the mc explores the dimensions of the game. What does wind magic do, what can black smithing make, and etc?

Telling the story in this manner is great for world building, but on the down side the story drags on for to long. It really becomes slow and boring at parts. Not a good story for people who binge and read tons of chapters a day but decent for reading a chapter or... more>> two waiting for releases. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Buffelephant
Buffelephant rated it
The Legendary Moonlight Sculptor
June 6, 2016
Status: v40
Loved the story, but the mc slowly becomes too evil and greedy.
... more>>
Spoiler

What really made me disappointed with the mc was the dragon. He was friends with this apocalypse dragon. His quest was to kill it, but he took his own unique route like always. So he could have become a dragon rider, a unique job. Everyone loves him already as king so being a dragon rider may have effected morta but not too much damage to his reputation. But instead he kills the dragon. The dragon while being hacked asks weed why he was attacking him, aren't you my friend, why are you hurting me. And weeds excuse was the profit. This situation made me dislike the mc. This happens in the untranslated portion of the novel

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report