Report Review
Report Reason:
15 Reviews


AonDuine
AonDuine rated it
9 Heavenly Thunder Manual
August 26, 2016
Status: --
Don't care about the racism. Is it there? Yeah. Is it bad? Yup. Do I care in regards to the story? Nope. Not off putting for me. It is a fictional story portraying fictional people. Get used to it and don't let it set your mood. That said, the story. Is. Garbage. The characters are dull, the love interests are dull and make no sense. The way the author seems to view women (or men) is frankly irrelevant to how good a story can be. In this case, the characters... more>> are just all bad regardless and the pacing is ill thought out while the world itself felt fake. Long story short don't touch this one. You won't regret it. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
AonDuine
AonDuine rated it
Beast Piercing The Heavens
November 1, 2016
Status: c158
OK. So ill admit, due to the original ridiculous synopsis and the rather blatant copying from other novels, I was very close to dropping this novel around Ch 20. However, nothing I've read on xianxia world has disappointed me yet so I pushed through and man, I am glad I did. While far from perfect, the novel is still good and has progressively improved. The characters (not just MC) are actually somewhat interesting and fun especially for a xianxia. If you want to take a shot at this one, you... more>> gotta push through till after Ch. 44. Things begin to improve fairly quickly. The best way to approach this novel is to avoid the synopsis like the plague. If you read it, laugh at it then ignore it since it is total and utter bull. Basically, go into it expecting a decent xianxia and you wont be disappointed. Go into it being influenced (even a little) by the original synopsis and you'll probably drop it. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
AonDuine
AonDuine rated it
Genjitsushugisha no Oukokukaizouki
September 8, 2016
Status: --
Ok look. This is a GOOD novel. But not a great one. People seem to like it because it deviates from the recent norm; not because of actual good plot/characters/setting. It doesn't deserve a five-star and really never has. The plot is good; not original, but good. There have been many commerce/economy/kingdom building novels and this one is not the best. I'd give it top 30% though. See the thing is, the MC isn't really smart (and that is his only redeeming quality is supposed to be intelligence). He feels... more>> like an average joe who got his hands on the works of some great strategists of both economy and war. He quotes them, and sort of implements them, but in reality?

He is scratching the surface of these works and only accomplishing what any high-school student would be able to provided that everything just falls into place illogically like it does for the MC (because apparently, a freaking kingdom had no one in it capable of common sense that the MC can pull out of his back pocket). The MC himself, without everyone being so vastly inferior to him in intellect, is the dull, wimpy, herbivore MC that people have claimed to be so sick of. He isn't a bad character; just overused and cliche. The same stands for the "harem" as well if it can be called that anyway. Very "look don't touch" which leads to the romance for any of the girls essentially going nowhere at all. Im not saying it is a terrible harem, but I am saying it isn't a good one. The only real redeeming feature of this novel IMO is some of the philosophy conversations that the authors uses to explore ideas. Sometimes they can be pretty interesting; as long as he is trying to form original ideas rather than just shouting out quotes he has heard before to make the MC seem smart.

In short:

Slice of life: 7/10
Characters: 5/10
Story/Plot: 6/10
Harem: 4/10
Romance: 4/10
Economics/Kingdom building: 6/10
MC: 4/10
War strategy and realistic implementation: 4/10 (wars rarely go that easy even with "flawless" strategies)
Comedy: negligible 2/10
TOTAL: 6/10

3/5 stars is even a little generous. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
AonDuine
Meh. Not quite what I was hoping for. Not bad, but not really that different when you get down to it. In this novel, instead of a male power fantasy, it is a female power/romance fantasy. The romance is cute I guess; yet also really annoying at times. The whole misunderstandings cliche is overused and draws away from the novel for example. The things the female MC does simply don't match up with what she should be capable of performing. She definitely shouldn't be better at military stratagem then the... more>> War Lord. Of course, that's how it always goes in these novels. People in power who should totally be better at something then the MC are instead inferior for whatever reason. In all, it isn't bad as stated before. But it is not different, unique, or special. People hype on it because it features a female lead and has some more focused romantic plot points. It really felt like "A Step Into the Past" (which was also ok) but with a female MC.

To be fair, seeing all the staggeringly positive reviews made me put too much faith into the novel before beginning to read which may have altered my enjoyment of the novel. Give it a try, but don't go in thinking that is the best and most unique novel you'll ever read...it isn't. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
AonDuine
AonDuine
The King of the Battlefield
September 15, 2016
Status: --
Excellent. An overpowered MC that has a REASON for being overpowered. Furthermore, he isn't a hero of justice or whatever. He just wants to help humanity avoid extinction. Yet he doesn't mind getting rid of the useless or evil ones. This is a story about the MC's ambition and he acts human. Not overly kind nor overly cruel. It actually feels like he is an assassin trying to right some wrongs but totally unapologetic for any of his actions because he simply follows what he thinks is the correct path...which... more>> isn't always the most "holy" path but is the "correct" path nonetheless. I've read reincarnator. This is better in my opinion due to the pacing and MC, but even for those who disagree, most can't help but admit that this is at least as good as reincarnator. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
AonDuine
AonDuine rated it
Long Live Summons!
April 24, 2017
Status: c203
...kinda rough. I really wanted to like this; so I stuck with it for about 200 chapters, but ultimately came out disappointed.

pros:
-The setting was fairly unique in terms of the power/abilities.
-Humor is frequent and was initially (arguably) solid.
-Action scenes are ok.

cons:
-The author does not take full advantage of the potential of the setting. Instead allowing it to become stale over time.
-The harem doesn't feel like a harem. Not that there aren't enough girls per se; just that they all slowly devolve into one personality:... more>> "All hail the MC". With little deviation in speech or attitude, it feels like one girl competing with herself...not a good harem.
-The comedy turns sour after a while; like a fruit that was good at first but gets over eaten and so abandoned, only to watch it rot over the course of a few days. The comedy was somewhat slapstick and lewd which was fine initially, but eventually grew tiresome as the author was incapable of adding any witty or dry humor to spice things up.
-MC is an asshole. Yes there are plenty of asshole MCs, but at least they are usually only assholes to their enemies or are an endearing asshole. MC is supposed? to be an endearing asshole but just comes across as annoying after a while; especially because he never seems to learn or change.

****PERSONAL PET PEEVE
The wolf. I freaking love wolves. They are some of the most noble creatures on the planet. They are staunchly loyal once earned and return hate for hate and kindness with kindness. Furthermore they are intelligent, powerful creatures that have a better sense of social construction than most humans.

That said, the MC's wolf "pet" is shameless, pitiful, wretched, constantly abused (by the MC. Don't care about the reason. I'm sure their are better ways and the MC just uses the wolf's body adaptability as an excuse to beat on him when he is angry about something), and used as cheap slapstick comedy.

All of the above pisses me off to no end. That is personal, and purely subjective to the enjoyment of the story, but it does affect how I view the work to some extent which, when combined with the previously mentioned cons, results in my low scoring of the work at 2/5. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
AonDuine
It's boring. Its an ok unique slice of life but never really grabbed me. The MC is alright, but not impressive. It isn't that the novel is bad per se; but it feels exceptionally underwhelming especially when paired with its setting. I mean come on: an evolving dragon MC trying to become the strongest sounds bad ass. Unfortunately, it doesn't read that way.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
AonDuine
AonDuine rated it
Tales of Demons and Gods
August 26, 2016
Status: --
I cannot in good conscious recommend this to anyone. It started out excellently with a perfectly paced story and largely interesting cast of characters. Even the romance/harem was well done with none of the characters being stale or 2 dimensional. However, that gradually changed as the story became more convoluted and complex without resolving anything along the way. Plus, it felt as though the author began to be unable to keep up with the characters he kept newly introducing leading to less and less development for the characters you originally... more>> came to love. In addition, the MC's personality, while originally kinda blunt while still interesting, became too similar to a typical xanxia/wuxia novels MC; except that the author didn't even pull off this trope well. Basically, the story STARTS at its most interesting part then gradually become stale. It seemed like the author started getting burnt out on writing and just kept persevering anyway with less and less satisfactory results. So frankly, unless you got nothing else to read, wait on this one.

p.s. This is frankly nothing like ATG and the like until much later in the story; at which point it is just bad sooo....yeah don't believe people that say this is like ATG or the like. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
AonDuine
AonDuine
A Step into the Past
April 25, 2017
Status: --
For me, this novel is a unique experience. I do enjoy it and find the story to be enjoyable. However, I have been unable to finish it despite its relatively short length and multiple attempts. Something just ends up losing me and I end up reading a different novel or watching an anime or something. I've tried to figure it out, but I honestly don't know why. The characters are, for the majority, well shaped and hold engaging personalities. The action is adequate for what the story requires but does... more>> sometimes feel a bit lackluster.

Long story short: Good overall novel; but something is missing. 7/10 <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
AonDuine
AonDuine
Spirit Vessel
October 24, 2016
Status: c54
Started out like it could have been good. The MC quickly devolved into a lecherous child. That might have been ok if it weren't done in such a way that made the MC totally unlikable. This is enforced by the fact that, before reincarnation, he was over a thousand years old (or more) and was one of the most powerful cultivators in addition to being the patriarch of a legendary sect. He certainly doesn't act like it and doesn't seem to know things that, given who he was, he should... more>> really know. Maybe it gets better, but currently, it is lackluster and there are plenty of other novels that easily blow this one out of the genre. Imma re-read those instead. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
AonDuine
AonDuine rated it
Summoned Slaughterer
August 5, 2016
Status: c20
As a great lover of all things psychopathic in nature, I fell in love with the MC within the first chapter. 8 chapters later, I was questioning our relationship. Come ch 20, I was fed up.

Quite simply, the MC is pretty awesome at first but rapidly becomes less awesome due to the fact that he becomes less and less brutal while never really getting anything done. The two female side characters are mindless yes-men (yes-women?), and EVERYONE is idiotic except for the MC. Frankly, what was promised to drive the... more>> novel was a ruthless, psychopathic MC that held all lives in contempt and made rivers run red. What we end up with after the first few chapters is an MC that is lots more tame than the MCs from ATG, MGA, TMW, MW, etc. Sure he kills here and there, but he still has to have some kind of reason/justification to do so. While that could have been interesting to view through his warped psyche; it instead put a limiter on the MC making him just another guy that kills when he is offended by something/someone. Thus quickly losing its originality and becoming stale. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
AonDuine
AonDuine rated it
Stunning Edge
May 21, 2017
Status: c115
I am starting to hate female MC's in wuxia/xainxia. Not because they are female, but because nearly everyone seems to drool over them because they are different than the standard male MC in these stories (only in the way that they aren't male). The problem with that, is that people leave absolutely glowing reviews of the stories that female MC's show up in lauding it as a masterpiece and whatnot. Except, it almost never is. Thus, I end up excited over a novel only to be disappointed when the novel... more>> is sub-par at best. This novel is no exception.

To be fair, my 1 star rating is a little harsh; somewhat influenced by how many glowing 5 star reviews of this novel there are and me trying to balance it out a bit. Realistically, it is more of a 2 star work. While there are certainly a couple more problems than what I am going to list, to keep it relatively short, the two I am going to list are the issues that stood out the most to me.

First, it is an incredibly stereotypical novel where the trash MC comes from another world so as to almost immediately become stupidly powerful. By itself that isn't a huge problem (it's fun after all); but added with defeating opponents scores of times her strength, abilities and treasures (dragon god's mark, my god) that effectively make her invincible, an inane and pointless harem that is ridiculously loyal for no real reason and never develops (often detracting from the story), side characters as a whole that almost never develop (except for the MC kinda), plot armor thicker than fort Knox, and a predictable story-line; you've got an entirely generic novel that easily ranks only in the lower 40% of its genre.

Second, the one thing that stood for the story as decent was that for once the MC, while lauded as a genius, was indeed actually somewhat intelligent. Decent deductions or reasoning were put forth by the MC even attempting to dive into some deeper topics. However, this is also part of this novels downfall. By attempting to approach deeper topics, the author clashed with the generic and fairly easygoing nature of his/her novel.

The semi-intelligent MC was fine and good; but the attempts at deeper discussion didn't fit and honestly were rather lacking. The author didn't seem capable of discussing the deeper topics he/she tried to bring up. Plus, almost as if the author realized that, he/she would touch on a topic, but never attempt to really drive it home or further explore it, thus resulting in a half-finished thought that acted like a stain on the text. It took up space and drew attention, but ultimately served no purpose but to ruin that section of the novel by covering up whatever else was going on at the time.

For example (no spoiler really but just in case): scattered throughout the novel, but more so at a particular point, the author attempts to critique religion. The problem is that 1) He/she can't seem to make up their mind  as to what exactly he/she is trying to critique about it. 2) He/she doesn't really seem to know what they are talking about. Like he/she is trying to sound knowledgeable on the matter without prior research by just working off of an impression of religion. Subsequently, that is what the readers see: an impression of a discussion. We don't really know what the point is or the thought process backing it; we just get the impression that some kind of critique or discussion is trying to be formed, but never quite reaches cohesiveness. This kind of thing happens a few times in the novel.

Overall, swap the genders of the MC and her harem and it would be rated for what it actually is, a 2 or 3 out of five. 2/5 is my vote. The novel is sub-par with absolutely nothing new to add to the table. The novel's generic MC and harem are 2 dimensional and add nothing to the story; while the other secondary characters are flat as cardboard. The attempts at deeper discussion or philosophical musing don't fit the tone of the novel and fall short; never following through. The laughable plot armor isn't played off as humorous, thus despite sometimes being chuckle worthy due to ridiculousness at times, it still is a detraction from the novel.

If you love female MC's in wuxia and don't mind generic wuxia's. Go for it. Otherwise, it probably isn't worth it. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
AonDuine
AonDuine rated it
A Martial Odyssey
April 25, 2017
Status: --
I. Hate. Wimpy MCs. While not the worst, this MC certainly fits the bill. Plus, he is a naive fool. The massive amount of girls involved in the harem could have been fun, if not for the fact that they have little personality beyond how in love they are with the MC.

The action limps lake a lame horse. I'd rather have a starving camel.

For a relatively short wuxia, it drags on for far too long when trying to get through to the end. I finished it because I reached a... more>> point of no return after continuously hoping it would get better only to be disappointed. Essentially, my OCD wouldn't let me stop when the end was in sight.

...Sometimes I hate my OCD. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
AonDuine
AonDuine rated it
Omni Genius
April 25, 2017
Status: c43
Uggh...the MC is such a beta wimp. It is painful frankly. The beginning chapters were strong IMO but were then ruined by instances that make NO sense and attempts to create humor by using the ol' japanese trope of "girl beating/forcing a guy for reasons that are beyond stupid and the guy just takes it". The female lead is a BAD tsundere; the annoying kind rather than endearing.

The MC so far has left me unimpressed. With his lack of a backbone when dealing with girls and seemingly ridiculous use (or... more>> lack thereof) of his "powers", he seems like a boring and cliche Japanese style harem protag.

Maybe it gets better later on, but with what I've read so far and only about 80+ chapters translated (well. not MTL) and the unknown circumstances of if someone will pick it up after it is dropped by the current translator (confirmed), I can't really recommend it. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
AonDuine
AonDuine rated it
Souen no Historia
August 26, 2016
Status: c36
While it has similarities reminiscent of Hayate Combat Butler, it is overall a much better story...but that is not saying much really. It is pretty bland after the first ten or so chapters the MC isn't bad but so far nothing really happens in any major capacity. It is basically a slice of life with an op as hell butler as an mc and an ojosama that feels kind of half assed honestly. My biggest complaint would be that, after ch2 basically every chapter has the original Japanese text immediately... more>> below the corresponding paragraph. That is just pure laziness. So if your up for a light read and can ignore lazy pages then go for it because the novel itself isn't bad...it just isn't really good either. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report