Report Review
Report Reason:
10 Reviews


Ananya
Ananya rated it
Tales of the Reincarnated Lord
August 10, 2016
Status: c21
Fantastic novel. Has
1. Excellent world building.
2. Good characterisation of not only the MC but other characters too.
3. Good narration.
4. Well its too early to talk about fights and power system but from what i have gathered so far, that is also unique and detailed.
5. Has political maneuvering, kind of like fenglin tianxia's novel in fantasy medieval europe setting.

Although the novel has great potential, at this point it's pretty slow but I feel that this novel will be rewarding in the long run. I read... more>> this novel after I finished reading translations of AGM and MGS, so it was refreshing for me. Hope you will enjoy it as much as I did. <<less
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ananya
Ananya rated it
Masked Knight
March 13, 2017
Status: c19
First impression of Masked Knight:

Plot:
It's Western fantasy, it's engaging, not much info dump to setup the world, so its easier to read. The world is similar to the world in 'Law of the devil'(Author's earlier work). MC has a huge birth mark on his face due to which he looks weird and doesn't get girls. Story line is interesting, it makes you binge read.

... more>>
Spoiler

MC reluctantly agrees to participate in a robbery staged by his friend to pay his tuition fees, the robbery goes wrong n his friend is captured by the intended victim who is from a declining noble family, MC invades her home to rescue his friend but ends up being an involuntary accomplice to the noble lady's brother who has shirked away his responsibility as the sole heir to the family to run away in pursuit of his dreams, the noble lady holds the MC responsible n changes the MC's face using an elven Mask so that it looks like her brother's n makes the MC temporarily stand in for her brother

[collapse]

Characters:
MC is timid and immature but he shows great responsibility and courage when his near and dear ones are in danger and doesn't hesitate to rescue them at the cost of his own life. He is not OP or anything but he has great potential to be a swordsman. The noble lady's character is also well written, she is a sorceress n comes off as cold but that is due to her circumstances. Other characters didn't feature too prominently at this point.

The OP treasure:
The first treasure that the MC gets is an elven mask, it was made by a great sage, and it can allow the MC to have any face the master of the mask imagines. But it's implied that the mask's abilities may not be so simple because the MC and the noble lady who puts the mask on his face haven't decoded the instruction manual left by the sage.

Cons:
MC's immaturity is used for plot progression, this is not exactly a con but nevertheless when you read the novel it gets on your nerves n u feel like slapping the MC.

Verdict:
It's worth reading despite it's flaws and my expectations from this novel is high since it's written by the author who wrote 'Conquest' and 'Law of the Devil'. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ananya
Ananya rated it
King of Myriad Domain
November 4, 2016
Status: c189
I have caught upto the translations. There is a positive improvement in terms of characterisation compared to the author's earlier works like GOS or GDK especially the personality of lead character. There doesn't seem to be nothing wrong with the MC's head, atleast so far.

There is a lot of depth in the story which many other novels lack, lot of importance is placed on characters surrounding MC which is a very good thing. The best part is characters seem to give thought to what they do, including MC, its especially... more>> refreshing because most of the MCs act rash.

Despite this, it has all the ingredients that make a great xianxia such as nail-biting fights, mysterious lineage, clever MC, unique power system, revenge, tragedy, etc

Although 98 chapters maybe too early for a review, the story shows lots of potential. Hence I'm going with 5 stars.

I feel maybe the novel hasn't garnered enough traction because of slow updates, but this is not a novel one should miss, especially if you are a fan of GOS, GDK, and SR because this novel contains all the elements contained in the author's previous works while also having some additional elements. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ananya
Ananya rated it
Thunder Martial
November 13, 2016
Status: c47
I know this is an early review but I'm writing this because somehow I feel this novel has a lot of potential and brings some new variations to the genre.

Sure its a regular xianxia containing all the elements of xianxia genre but the way it starts off feels like a western movie, cautious MC and his best friend are in search of a treasure, only MC knows the location, unbeknownst to MC his best friend has his own agendas, as soon as the treasure is found, MC is betrayed by... more>> his best friend (sneak attack), crippled and left to die( villains thougt they killed him). It was a very solid prologue.

Within 30 chapters it explores themes like brotherhood, betrayal, cynicism, vengeance, double standards of human nature, ambition, bullying, insecurity and many other themes.

Despite the MC getting a super inheritance, he struggles to get enough resources to fully make use of his inheritance.

The novel also raises questions like "Is talent alone enough?", "Is backing more important than talent?", etc

Give it a go, I'm sure its not bad at all. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ananya
Ananya rated it
Warlock of the Magus World
July 30, 2016
Status: c55
This novel has a great cheat ability in the form of an 'A.I' chip which transmigrated along with the MC to the present from his previous life in which he was a 'scientist'.

The MC is just as described in the above description. The world is a medieval western setting. The fights are good and they are pretty thrilling.

The main problem with this novel is the MC, its just that he may be a MC but he's not a 'Hero', so basically I didn't find any good reason to root for... more>> his character.

The world in this novel is just as cold blooded as the MC if not more, so while I may pity some side characters but then again I didn't feel good about them.

The main problem with this novel for me is the MC. There is no justifiable motivation for the MC to seek power and rise to the top, only probable motivation is 'survival'. He does not care much about other characters, since he always keeps them at an arm's distance. So the stakes in this novel is pretty much low.

In a nutshell, in other novels if the villain kidnaps someone closer to the MC, then MC will risk his life to rescue that person but if it was this MC in same situation, then he will probably think what is the point of rescuing that person, and if he has any use to him, only then will he consider rescuing them otherwise.....he will simply discard that person.

I mean I can't speak for all, but for me the 'MC' in this novel is very cold and there is no real reason to root for him, so I'm not gonna read this..........but it may not be the same for some of you.........so please give it a try and decide for yourselves. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ananya
Ananya rated it
Demon’s Diary
February 17, 2017
Status: c211
This novel is not getting the traction it deserves. This is dope, make no mistake!

Badass MC who is born and bred in an isolated prison, cautious to a fault, decisive, good guy, thinks on his feet , doesn't usually start fights but finishes it nevertheless, in short he is pretty cool.

Along with a cool MC the novel also has a good plot filled with regular xianxia elements along with other elements like mystery, intrigue, and suspense. Also the novel is not repetitive like its not always tournament followed by a... more>> bigger tournament, and it's not always cultivation in the sect. It mixes things up very well so that we don't get bored.

One of the best parts about this novel is the nail-biting fights, they are very minimalist, in the sense that mountains don't get destroyed, rivers don't change directions, etc as collateral damage in the fight between cultivators instead they happen very fast, since MC is usually fighting opponents at his level or stronger, he always tries and outwits his opponents by efficiently utilizing all the resources at his disposal. Kudos to GGP, he effectively brings out the tense atmosphere during the fights.

There is no cycle of offending bullies n killing them n their backers.

Characters have importance they are not introduced just for the sake of it, female characters are great, character development? It's only been 211 chapters, there is still not much change in MC's character. He still didn't get BFFs, lovers, etc. So maybe that will bring about a change in him in later chapters.

Awesome read! <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ananya
Ananya rated it
Revolution of the 8th Class Mage
February 27, 2017
Status: c45
Similar to 'I am the Monarch', differences being the MC also has an inherent talent and doesn't rely only on past life experiences. Also MC is pretty cold blooded as in he views people as tools, resources, etc well except his mother.

MC was a pinnacle existence in his previous life but was betrayed by his BFF due to his BFF's own insecurity, so MC is out for blood in the redo version of his past life, also he sets out to make better decisions in this life.

It's an entertaining... more>> read, but you can't help being reminded of 'I am the Monarch'. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ananya
Ananya rated it
Painting of the Nine Immortals
April 16, 2017
Status: c10
First impression of painting of the nine immortals

The below review is of a Xianxia story, so I'm not going to complain about the MC being crippled initially, him getting a super OP treasure, beauties popping about every now and then, etc because these elements are intrinsic to the Xianxia genre.

Plot:
... more>>
Spoiler

Our MC who can't cultivate works as an alchemist's assistant among many other odd jobs he does to earn his livelihood and desperately tries to find ways to enable himself to cultivate, although he is brilliant he is not valued in his clan due to him being cultivation-disabled. When he tries to buy an elixir which could awaken his 'inner eye' (something like sharingan, byakugan and rinnegan, but this novel contains 104 types with the 104th type being the weakest!) as a last ditch effort with the help of the alchemist who he works for, he finds a resonance with one of the awakened souls residing inside a painting in the pavillion which sells elixirs. He discovers that the awakened soul is of a person who is described as the 'Legendary Alchemist' without whom the alchemy wouldn't be as advanced as it was today, from the awakened soul he learns that there are still another 8 souls in the painting which are in deep slumber!. The soul also makes a shocking revelation to the MC about his condition and agrees to help him provided he becomes it's apprentice and the MC agrees.....which is the start of a great adventure....

[collapse]
The plot unfolds at a breakneck speed, so you don't really pay much attention to the mistakes. I think this novel maybe similar to 'The nine Godheads' and 'Sevens', although I haven't read either of those novels. Also I feel this novel contains taoistic philosophies and it maybe explored more deeply in the future arcs.

MC/ Characters:
Wow! the MC is crippled here because of some powerful ppl's schemes, some really powerful ppl have sealed MC's heaven defying talent......the reason being.....huh...well...apparently because the MC has heaven defying talent(I'm guessing MC has different origins and his parents who are dead may not be his real parents). The MC is Loyal but not kind hearted although he doesn't seem to be a bad guy either
Spoiler

infact when the first beauty showed up and was being pursued by two rapists, he didn't involve himself in the incident due to his lack of strength until he was dragged into the problem by the beauty

[collapse]
MC seems like a cautious guy who keeps a low profile but he has heaven defying luck which rivals his heaven defying talent!. Apart from MC, other characters who showed up haven't got a lot of importance as of yet. Well the first beauty seemed like a good although mischievous person and the second beauty seemed naive and innocent.

The OP treasure, Cultivation system, and powerups:
Well the main OP artifact/treasure MC has is the '9 immortals painting' and he got a part of another treasure called 'six samsara' or something which can set a rule or something when all parts are assembled. Cultivation realms seem similar to other novels but in alchemist levelling system in this novel, the realms go in descending order.
Powerups in this novel are slightly different to other novels I guess, well there is the 'inner eye' that I mentioned before, and there is something called Dan essences in this novel which I have not come across in other novels before, these essences help the alchemist in becoming OP and different essences have different powers
Spoiler

The MC gets the 4th ranked 'execution eye' as soon as his first seal is released by his master it temporarily increases his cultivation, summons a sword ,etc has more powers which are to be explored but it also causes a backlash on the MC after certain duration and his master gifts him a dan essence which is so OP that it can detect the ingredients used in a pill and it can also warn the MC when he is making a mistake in pill cooking

[collapse]

Cons:
The novel seems to contain boring one dimensional villains who seem to think it's alright to bully people who are weaker than them.

Verdict:
I didn't feel bored during the first 10 chapters, so I'm going to go out on a limb and recommend this novel. Hopefully this novel's quality doesn't deteriorate much. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ananya
Ananya rated it
Otherworldly Evil Monarch
July 30, 2016
Status: c132
This is a seriously well written novel. The characterisations are fantastic, the supporting characters are given a lot of importance.

This is one of those rare CN where a 'psychological' tag should be placed. There is also an intricate plot filled with intrigue, politics, clandestine movements, etc

The first arc that I have which usually involves the MC stabilizing/strengthening/saving his clan/family is very well written, filled with lots of characters with different agendas (sort of like game of thrones).

There was only around 3 fights till chapters 133, mostly MC Killing... more>> villains who are stronger than them.

Also there is some rip roaring comedy in this novel....well its mostly 'Black comedy' though.

Lastly the MC of the this novel is really awesome, he's very different from the MCs You see in standard CN novel like ATG, MGA, etc

He is an assassin, so according to the situation he transforms himself, for eg He acts like the 'spoiled Young master' of a clan in one instance which you see in many xianxia(the one who is very weak but arrogant and misbehaves with women all along hiding under the strength of his clan)............this novel is pretty awesome <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ananya
Ananya rated it
Primordial Blood Throne
May 23, 2017
Status: v1c6
Fantastic start to the novel, it has nicely etched out characters, drama, intrigue, foreshadowing and a likeable MC who employs deductive reasoning.

It is an interesting idea that the author has tried with this genre, earlier we only saw deductive reasoning being employed by Fenglin Tianxia but in his novels the MC gets lucky too but in this novel they have not made the MC lucky.

And in novels belonging to this genre the MC gets superlucky with fortuitous encounters usually and transforms from a trash to a stud, the author has... more>> completely reversed this trope in this novel.

Try this, it will hook you in from the start! <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report